1994 Citroen Xantia Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1994 Citroen Xantia SX 2.0i from Czech Republic

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Best car for that money I could have!

Faults:

Exchanged thermostat.

Cleaned front hydro-active pump switch.

General Comments:

Lazy engine.

Very comfortable.

I have almost no problems with this car. I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

23rd May 2001, 19:58

I have got a Xantia 2.0i and is a very good car. Anyways, I would like to know where on the web can I find some accesories for this car?

1994 Citroen Xantia VSX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Brilliant long distance cruiser if a little dull

Faults:

The car would bounce about quite alarmingly if I hit a bump in the road at speed, this was cured by fitting new spheres & new suspension fluid.

General Comments:

Not the most eye catching of cars, but must be one of the most comfortable.

Excellent handling.

Loads of goodies to play with & they all work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

1994 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles

Summary:

Avoid the Xantia like the plague, be warned

Faults:

Leaking heater matrix.

5 suspension accumulators required.

Burnt-out heater fan control.

Starter motor changed.

Wiper linkage fell apart.

Front discs worn out (second time).

Clutch assembly changed (expensive).

Diesel flow and return pipes leaking.

Cam cover gasket leak (twice).

Gear-box oil leak.

Worn bearing in gear-box.

General Comments:

Plus points:- good overall fuel consumption and a gutsy engine.

Minus points:- every thing else, the dealer costs are a nightmare and the ride makes the passengers travel sick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

8th Jan 2003, 08:13

I have a 1994 Xantia automatic which refuses to change gear for the 1st half mile unless it is rev-ed to 6000 revs, but thereafter is perfect. It also takes at least 1 minute for the suspension to rise otherwise it is a dream car with exceptional comfort and luxury of drive.

Any ideas as my Citroen dealer does not have any.

Neville.

28th Aug 2009, 11:50

My 1997 Xantia 1.9 TD has 56000 on the clock and has the ABS light on. I have been told it will cost 368.00 to repair 2 sensors and 335.00 to replace the o/s/f bottom wishbone. Is there anyone out there who can do anything or do I have to scrap it? The vehicle value is only around £600, it is a beautiful condition car, but seems to me it may be fit for scrap due to the garage bills. Neil.

1994 Citroen Xantia VSX 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41775 miles
Most recent distance45440 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Comfortable car, if you find a good one, get it!

Faults:

Central locking seems to have phases when it works properly and times when it doesn't.

Gear box is extremely notchy.

Rear wash wipe doesn't work.

Gears are too short for the engine.

Drivers seat height adjuster broke almost immediately.

Hints of the engine shutting down when leaving my foot off the accelerator.

Warning light (STOP) comes on for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

Comfortable long distance cruiser which is good on the motorway, only it seems that the gears are a bit short for the engine, but even so, the noise is unobtrusive.

Decent handling for the size of the car.

A bit disappointed by the performance from the 155 HP engine.

Excellent brakes and suspension reassure.

There seem to be a couple of gremlins which I hope do not get worse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 13:32

STOP light - maybe because of low hydraulic fluid... Check it, look in the manual for how to do it.

24th Apr 2001, 12:05

I have now covered 52900 miles and since I wrote that I have had to get the exhaust replaced, completely gone. This has highlighted a possible ECU problem which I am looking into. Also suspension seems to be deteriorating so the accumulator sphere and other bits may need doing.

3rd Jun 2001, 14:54

It wasn't an ECU problem, it was the exhaust/manifold gasket that is leaking. Have had much trouble with getting the right one (no thanks to Citroen!) and even with the right one it is very awkward to fit and is still causing a lot of trouble. No one seems able to fit it properly!. As for the suspension, I will have to look into that after I sort out what should have been a very minor problem, but has turned into a nightmare!

31st Jan 2002, 11:38

I too have had problems with my remote central locking on a 1.8 Xantia.

6th Dec 2002, 16:58

The interior heating blower & the rear windscreen demister have failed on my N reg VSX. Initially this could be overcome by switching the engine off whilst in motion, and then 'bump starting' the car, it seems to fail during engagement of the starter motor circuit. Six weeks later and it has failed totally.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews