1994 Citroen Xantia X 1.9 diesel from Netherlands

Summary:

Lots of space and comfort at a good price

Faults:

Cooling fluid leakage at 196000 kilometres due to oil loss. Repaired under warranty.

Oil leakage at 196500 kilometres. This one should have been discovered by my dealer during the pervious repair. Repaired under warranty.

The central locking system starts to show signs of old age.

General Comments:

It's a great car for long distance driving. You can hardly get a more comfortable ride than this one.

I get a mileage of around 17 kilometres per liter.

The car's interior and exterior still look very good.

Unfortunately the 1.9 diesel version is about as fast as a snail when it comes to accelerating. This is something that takes a lot to get used on. Especially if you're used to driving a Peugeot 106 xsi, like I was. So if you get the chance, go for the turbo diesel or HDI instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

1994 Citroen Xantia Dimension 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A bargain for under 3,000ukp

Faults:

Remote central locking no longer works.

Clutch replaced at 57,000 miles.

New brake discs at 59,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is a bargain second hand and is well designed inside and out.

The cabin is comfortable and is better than the cabin of my Nissan Micra.

The car has high miles per gallon and is as good on fuel consumption as my Nissan Micra.

However the electrics can be erratic at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1st Mar 2002, 16:37

Since Writing this the car has done 63,000 miles. It has needed new brake discs and a new exhaust as well as a full service.

1994 Citroen Xantia VSX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A comfortable car let down by appalling reliability problems

Faults:

Gear lever failed at 800 miles.

Electric window jammed at 1600 miles.

Power steering hydraulics failed at 2000 miles.

Ignition keypad fault at 3000 miles.

Numerous rattles after 3000 miles.

Headlamp condensation at 7000 miles.

Clutch creep after 7000 miles.

Central locking intermittent fault after 11000 miles.

Sunroof leak at 16000 miles.

Sunroof motor failed at 19000 miles.

Numerous electrical faults.

General Comments:

Pleasant styling, excellent comfort and the promise of reasonable running costs suggested that this car should be a good choice.

Sadly, a string of fault, some quite serious, and many of which left me stranded, added up to a nightmare of a car!

The local Citroen dealer, whilst well meaning, was unable to fix many of the faults without several visits, and often was unable to supply a courtesy car.

This really was not what anyone would expect from owning a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

6th Feb 2002, 06:33

I find this account very difficult to believe.

1994 Citroen Xantia VSX TD 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A fantastic all rounder

Faults:

Had to replace the front spheres, quite common at 100,000. Since then the ride and handling has been faultless. Cost £120 from a local specialist, main dealer wanted triple this without even looking at the car!

General Comments:

For a Turbo Diesel the car is very quiet on the move and also fun to drive with the suspension set to sport mode. Seats are supportive yet comfortable.

Fuel economy is excellent and performance is pleasing, especially when the turbo kicks in. Overall an excellent car. I would but another one but I would get the 2.1 as they fly!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

1994 Citroen Xantia SX turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unbeatable family motoring

Faults:

ABS sensor failed, £50 to fix (part), at 150k.

Handbrake cable snapped, £20 to fix (part), at 130k.

Fuel pipe cracked next to the turbo (both cars same week!), £25 to fix.

General Comments:

Nothing comes close for any serious long distance work. The only nicer diesel I've driven is a BMW 330D at £30k.

My cars (I have two Xantias) have covered 300k miles between them, I service them myself and they both do 55+ mpg.

The more miles that are piled on the better they seem to run, more power, better economy - figure that one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1994 Citroen Xantia SX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Public perception means a great car at a bargain price for me

Faults:

Faulty ABS ECU.

Broken handbrake cable.

Spheres needed replacing at 80K miles.

General Comments:

The ABS unit was faulty when I bought the car and it's price reflected this. It's a very expensive unit on pre '95 cars. Fortunately I know a good supplier of used parts. Fitting was so easy I got it done for free.

The handbrake cable and spheres were easy DIY jobs.

I have owned a number of different makes of car. I do not find Citroens any more expensive to run or more unreliable. It is just a matter of finding your local specialist(s).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2001