1996 Citroen Xantia Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1996 Citroen Xantia LX Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Comfy, fuel conscious but a money-pit

Faults:

Leaky rear Boot 50000 miles. Dealer "repair" (£170) didn't work. Home repair (£0) did!

Rear Height adjuster 80000 miles (£184)

Front Spheres 81000 miles (£180)

Stupid plastic clutch clip 82000 miles (£196)

Plastic roll bar clip at back 70000 miles (£70)

Major service (£450)

General Comments:

A comfy car, great engine.

Too costly to service and repair.

Every fault is a mortgage cost.

Won't buy another Citroen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

26th Jul 2001, 07:35

How did you fix the leak? Mine's the same.

10th Jul 2003, 12:48

Can you let me know how you managed to stop the tailgate from leaking...I'm curious..

25th Sep 2003, 14:58

Citroen dealers in Britain are well known for the extortionate prices they charge- try going to a Citroen specialist (I had one and got all 4 spheres done for £175).

5th Dec 2005, 05:03

I'm 20 and am running a 1996 Xantia SX, and I find it quite cheap to maintain just like the ZX, piece of advice "know your car", as the other poster reveals, going to dealers is your funeral, they charge a fortune and don't have a clue, not the cars fault I may add.

If your going to buy a hydrualic car then I suggest you read up about it. I have learned how to repair Citroens by doing it myself instead of being ripped off by dealers.

1996 Citroen Xantia TD SX 2.1 litre turbo diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.1 litre turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

This really is the magic carpet

Faults:

Replaced one cooling fan motor at 180.000.

Quality of the small chrome strips along the body leaves a lot to be desired.

General Comments:

After driving it for 200.000 kilometers in 3 years I had to sell it because I was getting a company car, otherwise I would have run it for at least another 300.000 if not more.

Road holding is fine, however some understeer becomes present in fast sharp bends. In that respect the BX was better.

This car really is wonderful. I was very, very sad to let it go.

The engine is very quiet (especially compared to the 1.9 diesel and turbo diesel models). You only have to watch the rev-counter carefully because below 2500 revs the turbo does not give assistance and almost nothing happens in terms of acceleration. Above 2500 revs it goes like a rocket.

You also have to watch the speedometer carefully otherwise you will end up with lots and lots of speeding tickets (don't ask me how I know...).

The comfort in general is outstanding. Only on short bumps the suspension gives the impression of being somewhat "surprised".

The outside mirrors are a bit too small for my taste.

Backward visibility is limited. This is especially a problem in Holland when negotiating a right turn and the bike path belonging to the road one is leaving is almost completely in your blind spot.

The car was maintained from new by Hecle of Voorburg, a Citroen specialist and not an official dealership. They are responsible for the fact that, apart from the cooling fan motor, nothing went wrong with my Xantia.

I am truly sad that the beautiful Xantia with lots and lots of character has been replaced by the C5, which just looks like any other car on the road nowadays.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

1996 Citroen Xantia SX 1.8 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance163000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Comfortable and affordable, yet classy

Faults:

No problems at all.

General Comments:

View to the back is limited.

Rear view mirrors are too small.

Interior is a bit dark. No lights on some controls.

Superior magic carpet ride.

Feels like you are driving a luxurious car.

Excellent build quality, climate control works great. Lot's of room in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

1996 Citroen Xantia VSX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Very comfortable earlier on, but going down hill rapidly

Faults:

Electric mirror thermometer.

Rear boot lock (multiple times).

Radiator corroded through.

Internal matrix currently weeping.

Front VSX suspension solenoid failed (nice hard ride when this happened)

The most hungry car for tyres I've owned.

Sun roof letting in water as Citroen in their wisdom assumed that cars are never parked pointing up hill (the drain for the sun roof is only at the front!)

Rear suspension cylinder leak requiring a replacement.

Central locking mechanism in the driver's door replaced.

General Comments:

Hissing of the steering when turning the corner was initially annoying.

Again, parking the car with it's nose uphill results in the tailgate storing up any recent rain and then carefully channeling this into the hatchback boot space when opened.

The rear seatbelt disappeared into the seat when trying to fasten them.. and is the main reason the wife won't let me buy another one!

Some days I feel like I'm driving a bouncy.

Thankfully I took out a warranty that paid for most of the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

3rd Sep 2006, 17:23

Having owned 37 cars over the past twenty odd years I place my 1995 Xantia Diesel as the joint second best car I have owned, the best being a Volvo 440 (owned for two years). I have owned the Xantia for almost five years and apart from the usual electrical bits and pieces failing I cannot not really fault it, at present it is on 199,000 miles and still completes the daily commute of 60 miles. Yes it is an acquired taste, but a nice taste I feel let down by rather uncomfortable front seats. Still no sign of rust after 10 years of living outside thanks to the galvanised body and no rips in the driver's seat either. Economy is good too around 52 mpg with a mixture of motorway and town use. Overall I cannot complain about the service this car has given, along with cheap insurance costs compared to British cars, I hope to buy one the last HDI models when this one expires, and that may even knock the Volvo off the top spot.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 44 reviews