1996 Citroen Xantia Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1996 Citroen Xantia LX Estate 1.9 turno diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turno diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic Aerodeck

Summary:

Steer clear of floods!

Faults:

Don't take a Xantia anywhere near a flood, I had to drive through about 1.5ft of water during the floods in October 2000, I raised the suspension to it's max, but because the air intake is so low it sucked water into the air filter which then bent a con-rod causing the engine to seize. Cost nearly £3000 to replace! Other cars were going through fine.

Not very economical, about 44mpg and I don't drive hard.

Loads of space and excellent ride quality.

Radio reception is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

30th Jun 2002, 10:44

I would just like to warn people with the New Citroen C5 that this is also a problem with the C5. The cost of the repair though, will be substantially higher. I went through about 4" of water at a slow speed and My car sucked up water when every other car on the road went through just fine.

11th Oct 2010, 14:41

I drove my Xantia LX 1.8 through a river in Wales in high suspension. The Mercedes in front of me gave up with a stuttering engine, and I carried on as if there was no water at all.

1996 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

Comfortable ride, poor mechanical build

Faults:

The problem with the Xantia Estate is that the door hinge welds break away and the doors drop, making it almost impossible to use. Citroen know of this, but won't admit it.

The clip joining the clutch pedal to the cable is plastic, it breaks often, and is almost impossible to fit.

Electrics are erratic.

Water gets in the back door, leading to pools of water under the seats.

General Comments:

The door hinge problem appears to be more prevalent with the estate. I now know of 4 of my friends with this problem.

It is a comfortable ride, and the engine is OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 16:20

I've looked at your site. Joking apart, If reliability is what your after look no further than a Nissan. Okay, they may not be the most forward thinking of companies in terms of flair and design but believe they don't half make decent cars. We have 2 Bluebirds in our household, one F reg, the other D reg. The D reg one has been with us for 12 years and the only thing needed was a power-steering rack, nowt else (apart from wear and tear brakes, exhaust, battery). I was actually looking into owning a Xantia 1.9VSX Diesel because I do a fair amount of mileage but your site and other reader comments are putting me off! Is there anyone out here with a good thing to say about the Xantia? I know someone he does have one and he is very pleased with it and its done over 120,000 miles!

1996 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Great when it works, if it works...

Faults:

Ride-height adjusters stuck on several occasions.

Plastic linkage broke on the clutch lever (£6 part, but 8 hours labour).

Clutch nearly out at 82k.

Gearbox on its way out at 82k.

General Comments:

When this car goes, it goes well. But when this car breaks down, it does it in style.

I've just dumped the car, not because I didn't like driving it - it's a really good cruiser (No good for parking or round town, however - no turning circle). I dumped the car because every little thing that was going wrong turned into a major drama. Even common failures, such as the PLASTIC linkage between the clutch cable and pedal. "Common failure" said the dealer, "but we'll have to take the dash out to replace it".

Every little thing that goes wrong requires the removal of either the engine or dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

6th Dec 2000, 16:49

Citroen designers regrettably forget to keep things simple. That's why I like the AX so much. Mine (with electric windows and central locking) has everything you need, but nothing you don't need.

For the Xantia type of car, managers must not allow crazy designers to get out of control.

5th May 2003, 10:20

Unfortunately these problems are more a result of appalling Citroen main dealers in the UK, than a design fault of the car.

The height correctors need a small amount of grease on them about once a year to stop them seizing, about a 5-minute job.

The clutch pedal clip DOES NOT need the dash to be removed to replace it - despite what Citroen dealers may tell you! An independent Citroen specialist will change it in a little over an hour without removing the dash, and charge about a tenth of the price of a dealer.

17th Jan 2004, 09:25

The plastic linkage is prone to failure, especially if the clutch operation is heavy, due to wear of either the clutch or the cable. I have had three fail in under two and a half years!!! This does reduce one's confidence in an otherwise solid and comfortable car. Apparently there is a company based in Gloucester who manufacture a metal replacement which should hopefully be more robust in service. They can be contacted at: CGS Autosystems, 01452 311 110. I'm phoning them on Monday as the damned clip has just snapped on my driveway!

Bruno.

19th Mar 2007, 03:39

CGS Autosystems used to sell a metal clutch linkage, but no longer provide one as it was snapping clutch cables.

20th Mar 2007, 16:13

20th March 2007.

I have had two plastic clutch pedal clip breakages. The first was replaced by a contortionist, the second by an engineer who cut through the bolt with a power saw. If Citroen had fitted the bolt the other way round, nut on the outside, it would be no problem to change.

Water collecting in the rear seat wells is due a leaking plastic membrane in the rear door, allowing the water to run through the lock and under the boot mat.

1996 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

I only purchased recently and so far nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, plenty of leg room even in the rear, my only gripe would be that the pedals are too close together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2000

1996 Citroen Xantia LX 1.8i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.8i 16v
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Alarm, water pump, aircon.

General Comments:

Car has been a pleasure to drive and mechanically reliable. Aircon has never worked since new. Dealer has been unable to fix the problem and Citroen UK are not interested. Hence, I will not buy another Citroen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 1999

1996 Citroen Xantia d 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Grinding brake disks (some sort of paste problem I'm told) now sorted.

Remote on radio eratic, volume control can change station etc.

General Comments:

Very solid car, the 1.9td gives good performance and economy.

Stylish looks and good level of comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 1998

8th Jul 2001, 10:34

Not sure about Citroen but on fiats depending on the wheel position the radio control buttons can do the wrong thing.

1996 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Remote locking battery lasted only 6 weeks ( Unit now been replaced & ok). Nothing else to report.

General Comments:

Superb car. Suspension brilliant but not if you suffer travel sickness. Immobiliser key-pad is a pain. Overall though the best car, of many, that I have owned. Brilliant on motorways when Turbo diesel comes into its own..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 1997

18th Dec 2001, 06:09

What sort of mpg do you get? I've got a 97 P 1.9 TD LX Estate with 100k on the clock, which returns 30 MPG at best.

Also, the infra-red sensor control unit has packed up & the ride over bumps is not so good, I think the spheres need recharging??

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 44 reviews