1992 Citroen ZX Reviews

1992 Citroen ZX Avantage 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

The every-day Citroen

Faults:

Main beam headlight bulbs have a bad connection, so work when they want to.

Central locking works only for the drivers door, because the rest jam due to the catches - they can be opened from the inside. Not a big problem, but it can be annoying.

Linking to the above, drivers side rear door now will not unlock because the catch came out, this seems easy enough to fix.

Wiring for the back wiper has frayed, and the rear wash leaks where the tube has split. Easily solved.

Rear brakes failed at about 94-95,000 miles. The handbrake cable also had to be changed.

General Comments:

I bought this car about 6 months ago and so far nothing major has gone wrong with it. This is down to the fact that the previous owner took good care of it - she serviced it regularly, and the cambelt was changed early on, so that's not something I need to worry about at this mileage. I wish I could say I've taken such good care of this car, because it deserves it, but I haven't being an inexperienced driver.

The n/a diesel engine has some punch considering it doesn't have a turbo - something that's essential with newer diesels. The ZX has a different gear box from the Peugeot 306, making it faster and pull better. Since I owned a 306 before this car, I've noticed that it's a huge improvement. Peugeot: why didn't you use the ZX gear box?

I've heard reports that power steering can be heavy on this car. This is not true! Steering feels good, at all speeds.

The seats are very comfortable although they offer next to no support around bends. Combined with the French suspension (unfortunately it's not hydraulic) this makes for a very smooth, "floaty" ride.

Replacement parts and panels are cheap as this is a French car and there are loads of them being broken or scrapped.

The brakes aren't particularly good, my car doesn't have ABS. Despite this the ZX is a good little car that's comfortable, economical (if you drive it right) and good value for money. Compared with the Peugeot 306 this is the better car.

My only complaint is that the heater is rubbish. On cold mornings, expect to be cold until the engine is warmed up, because the heat comes from the radiator so I've heard.

The Citroen ZX is a solid buy, and if you get a diesel it won't let you down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2009

7th Jan 2009, 11:17

Made a mistake with the running costs. This car is cheap to run, and to insure, although tax is now through the roof thanks to this retarded new scheme! Expect to pay £185 for a years tax.

7th Jan 2009, 11:47

I agree with this entirely, in fact it was me that called the ride "floaty". I think it might be something to do with the suspension, but it's good for when you're tired! Nice and comfortable.

7th Jan 2009, 15:29

It's a good everyday car, nice to sit in, comfortable, just not my cup of tea. I (d reccomend it for someone who wants a good honest car to be honest.

8th Jan 2009, 11:21

I've had two ZX TDs, loved them both, they were a great mixture of performace, economy and handling. Each had their problems, but niggles mainly. I'd have another any day! They are so hard to find now in half decent condition!

9th Mar 2009, 16:57

Update: one of the rear windows has somehow become detached from the wind, meaning it slides down over bumps. Not good in cold weather but easy enough to fix. Apart from this, nothing has gone wrong with the car - it's solid.

1992 Citroen ZX Reflex 1.4 Single Carburetor from Bulgaria

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Single Carburetor Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance168000 kilometres

Summary:

Simplicity, reliability, comfort

Faults:

Minor malfunctions: Both rear door locks broke @ about 13K km, Sunroof was not opening at the time I got the vehicle, plastic elements are wearing out relatively easy.

Major malfunctions: though you're not expected to have any serious trouble with the engine if you service the vehicle regularly, and use it in the way it's meant to be (running it smooth and peaceful). Pushing the car to its limits can prove to be devastating to the gasoline powered engine - I had my block punctured after I drove for half hour at about 190 km/h (about 115 mph). But hey it was my fault, no one said this car was a racer.

General Comments:

Pros: good economy, very smooth ride (and I mean it), relatively cheap service, front sway bar, passive rear wheel steering, extremely durable corrosion free bodywork that could only be compared to recent BMW makes' or Golf II's. It's a french make.

Cons: BAD ROLL (lack of rear sway bar, soft suspension... hey please don't try to race it OK?) - car tends to lean in corners, which combined with the heavy front makes the car not just unreliable, but somewhat unpredictable when racing through tight corners.

It's a brake eater - my grandfather used to have a russian LADA, even she wasn't wearing out its brakes as easily as this baby does hers... while brake cylinders are generally meant to last a bit longer than usual, pads are literally melting away when performing emergency stops, and especially when overheating them (e.g. driving down a steep incline). Front tires wear off too, so be sure to have your front axle aligned regularly (or as needed)

Although it has no power steering, driving this baby is a real pleasure. Steering isn't heavy, it's just good enough to make your hour long ride pleasant.

This car will not prove good for you if you want to go for a sporty feel and take your ride to extremes.

But if you're a prudent and modest driver, almost always obeying traffic rules, then the odds are that you'll be enjoying this baby for many years (and mileage) to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2007

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 27 reviews