1993 Citroen ZX Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1993 Citroen ZX Volcane 2.0 petrol from Israel

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A great combination of performance and sense

Faults:

The electric Bosch engine unit.

Petrol rubber pipe leaked.

General Comments:

A fun to drive car with exceptional steering capabilities. The car literally irons curves with comfort and assurance.

The engine although economic and powerful, is not sports like. It lives too well in the low revs and doesn't provide enough power at higher revs. The car definitely could use a more powerful engine (maybe the 16v does the job).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

1993 Citroen ZX 16v 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A real driver's car

Faults:

The clutch cable had stretched over time and ended up popping out of the plastic retainer body on the pedal when the floor mat interfered with it. Lucky I had tools to fix it in the car, but another example of floor mats causing a potentially dangerous problem. The replacement part was only £17 from a Citroen dealer so no complaints, but I have heard it is a much more difficult and expensive job for Xantias (dashboard removal).

The car really does not like 95RON unleaded, it runs much better with Super where I can find it, so when I can't I use Millers Octane Plus-c which for £3.50 a bottle boosts the octane up to acceptable levels, Japanese turbo owners might find this useful too.

General Comments:

Still handles superbly, I've added a strut brace, Yokohama rubber and Powerflex PU suspension bushes, and I only realise how good it is when I drive other cars.

The 306 looks nicer, but even the GTi6 doesn't feel as quick. Maybe if I try one that's done 50,000 miles it might be loosened up, or opt for a Rallye and throw out the back seats (the Citroen weighs less). The S16 is now becoming sensible money to buy, but just as hard to find.

For £3000 what else goes as well, handles and stops like the ZX. The only thing I would change is to add a turbo version, like the old 405.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

18th Dec 2001, 12:12

Hi, does anyone know where to find any bodykits for the 16v (which I hope to get soon) and a good insurance company (I'm gonna need it, I'm only 19).

What are they like on petrol?

All help appreciated.

19th Dec 2001, 14:14

Hi, is the engine is the ZX 16V, the engine which was put in the PUG 405 MI16?

What is the ZX 16v like at the lower rev range (1000- 4000)? do they still pull well at the revs.

1993 Citroen ZX Volcane 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Rear wiper seized up causing the motor to burn out. New exhaust lasted only 2 years. Tyre wear very heavy. Cassette tape player works intermittently. External guttering system blocked by a couple of fallen leaves meant leaking into passenger footwells. Leaking radiator hose (car in the garage right now!)

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car to drive that is fabulous on twisty roads, excellent mid range power. Lots of niggly faults and expensive spare parts though. Not as much fun as my AX GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2000

1993 Citroen ZX 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

One coil developed an intermittent fault at high temp. The engine has a coil for each spark plug so the dealer part was only 38.00 GBP. Compare that with a blown coil on an Astra SRi I owned, 160.00. Front discs worn, 52.00 for PSA part, but ATE power discs (grooved) are only 2.00 more and do not require insurance notification according to the manufacturer (my insurer agrees), so that's what I'm fitting.

General Comments:

Oustanding handling, good acceleration, sharp steering, great engine, it doesn't look as good as its Peugeot cousin, but that means it's cheaper to buy second hand. However it is quicker (I've driven 306 S16 and GTi) and only the new 306 with its six speed box really has it beat. I actually look forward to long drives where I can use it, especially off the motorways where you can use the chassis for what it was designed, cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 1999

19th Aug 2001, 10:57

Hi, I am thinking about get a zx 16v could you please tell me what the 0-60mph is and the top speed... thank you.

6th Sep 2001, 07:38

The 0-60 is 8sec and the top speed is 137 miles/ h.

22nd Sep 2001, 15:14

A nice rare car. How many do you see? Mine is 1993 and has 38000 miles. Can be expensive if taken to a franchise, but gives me pleasure every time I drive it. Great performance and handling. Mind the front wheel drive torque in the wet (even in the dry if you boot it). Anyone know if you can turbo it, or find a nice exhaust?

Chris.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 34 reviews