Dacia SuperNova Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Dacia SuperNova Rapsodie 1.4 petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 kilometres
Most recent distance2520 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Acceptable for the price of e4200. I would not buy the A/C model

Faults:

Steering wheel noises and clearance problems...

Not had radiator problems (yet) but a few friends had with the same car.

Cooling system is of poor quality.

Rear shock absorbers had to be replaced.

It's an adventure to close the trunk.

Craftsmanship really leaves A lot to be desired.

General Comments:

Engine runs smoothly and is quite responsive.

It's a '96 designed engine that really makes a difference - for the price.

It's a good thing for people doing no more than 1000Km/month.

It doesn't stand a chance if compared to a 1996 Opel Astra... especially if the Astra is diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

2001 Dacia SuperNova Rapsodie 1.4 petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Dangerously fast for its stability, otherwise a good bargain

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Renault gearbox is outstanding.

Excellent performance given by the Clio 1.4l engine. It accelerates from 0 to 100km/h in 11 seconds, and reaches a top speed of 180km/h. The fuel consumption is quite satisfying: 7.5l/100km - urban areas, 6l/100km outside.

The interior looks quite good, it has a decent design, and it is much better than that of the previous model.

The chassis lacks in rigidity, resulting in a slightly noisy interior over bumpy roads.

The most annoying thing about this car is a very dangerous instability under braking. I would really like to know if it is just my car or it is a general problem of the model.

The car has the tendency to understeer, the main problem being that it doesn't give any warning before loosing the grip. A normal driver might not notice that, but I have quite a sporty driving style, so it is really bothering for me.

All in all, it is a very good car for what you pay: 4500 euro. I wouldn't advise anybody to pay the extra 1000 euro for the air conditioning system. It is taking away around 5bhp from the engine, it is increasing the fuel consumption, and it is one more thing that might break on the car. It would just spoil the good aspects of the car. No thanks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

26th Sep 2002, 12:18

You say you have a sporty driving. Well Dacia just isn't the car for sporty driving. The only reason for the power and speed of this car is that it has to do well on highways.

15th Feb 2003, 15:20

Your driving style is the answer to the understeering and the braking problem. This car is made to take you to your job, market, and back home. Be careful when driving it at high speeds.

2000 Dacia SuperNova 1.4 unleaded from Romania

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 unleaded Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120 kilometres
Most recent distance500 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Best car you can buy with this money

Faults:

It was a little noisy at the beginning.

I had to change the brake pads in 1000 km.

General Comments:

You pay for this car 5000 dollars! What do you want?!

A very good car: a good manuerability, a powerful engine (the weight is little) and then a fast car.

No problem with the engine, no problem with the transmission, but some little problems with the little things.

The car has some real problems on wet curves.

Maximum speed I had was 170 and I think it can do more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

2001 Dacia SuperNova 1.4 gasoline from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance322 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

A pretty good car

Faults:

When acquired, the siren of the alarm was faulty. It still has to be changed (the warranty covers the change, but it seems it takes a while).

General Comments:

It is a good car for driving on Romanian roads, since Dacia is the most common and easy to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

2001 Dacia SuperNova Clima 1.4 from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Best car for this price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Gives good performance in the city and on the highway.

Fuel efficient and fast.

Handling is good, but in curves the car is soft and on road it is stiff.

The brakes are sharp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2001

7th Nov 2002, 13:13

You my friend, you said you had an Opel Astra, and now you are satisfied with that Super Nova. I don’t want to make a commercial to The Opel brand, but I also have one from’92 and I’d never give my Astra on a brand new Super Nova. Why? My car had 124.000 km, now it has 150.000 and except fuel and gas I did not invest anything. Top speed experienced by me 170km/h (pretty dangerous),but in takes 5.5 l/100 outside of the town and max 8l in the town. It has a 1.6 injection engine and I think it has 75 horse power. The seat belts are adjustable, adjustable chair (higher or lower), I have ABS, air conditioned, sun roof, central looking and the most important :servo direction, options that don’t come with a Super Nova. And by the way : it never rained in it, the doors close very well, etc. I paid for it 1200 $ in Germany last year (2001).I cost me with the taxes about 3.000 $, so … next time think a little before selling your Opel to buy a Super Nova.

Best regards! Bobby.

2001 Dacia SuperNova 1.4 from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

It's not a car. It is a bad joke

Faults:

It is raining inside. The radiator is leaking.

General Comments:

Very badly manufactured. When it rains, a lot of water goes in my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

26th Nov 2001, 16:05

It is indeed not such a good car, but considering the price and the maintenance costs are low... Anyway, it is progress compared to the other Dacia models.

18th Dec 2001, 07:07

The Dacia Supernova is a good deal... for other workers... they work and take our money... this is economy, Romanian quality... who cares about the brakes... who is interested for security... the price is DECISIVE!!! My piece of advice: buy a safe car not a deadly joke!!! May be your LAST!!! Don't deserve it!!! And I'm Romanian, but I'm a man!

2001 Dacia SuperNova GTi 1.4i unleaded gasoline from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4i unleaded gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23400 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

A good deal

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The best new car you can buy for $5000. It has an air conditioner that works pretty good.

The engine is Renault, from their Clio model.

It's a very stable car and easy to steer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews