8th Nov 2009, 03:33

Perfect example of how to maintain your car & specially Daewoo vehicles, which people kept on saying that they are not reliable, cheap quality, they are lemons. See the above guy maintained his car at proper intervals & driving sensibility & the rest is in front of you. Daewoo vehicles are not lemons or poor quality, it's just that every vehicle requires some sort of maintenance after specific period. Good work dude, do keep on commenting about your car.

21st Nov 2009, 20:16

I just purchased a 2000 Lanos. Cute little car. Less than one hundred miles later my check engine light came on. I had already noticed that the engine temp gauge would not move very much. So I had the engine scanned FREE and was told I had 2 codes a misfire and a low temp code stored. So I replaced the t-stat housing W/T-stat built in. Don't forget to order the o-ring. After installing the new t-stat, it leaks. Brand new. I can actually see the housing bowed not sealing to the head. It's just plastic, am I missing a part, the o-ring groove was clean.

Is there a replacement housing made of metal or is there a fix for this problem?

Update:New problem this darn thing now overheats after getting the coolant stay in it. The coolant stays green no exhaust gas present in the coolant. You can see the coolant run into the resevoir in bursts then slow then burst again. I'm thinking either my new t-stat is already bad, or my water pump is not operating properly.

I fixed my coolant leak. I found that the new t-stat with housing would not fit tight to the head with the o-ring on it. Also when I dry fit the t-stat to the head it would not fit flat to the head I trimmed some of the plastic off to fit it to the head. Then I found that a GM 350 distributor clamp ground out to fit the t-stat housing (one for each bolt)plus 1/2" longer 8M x 1.25 bolt x2. This clamps the housing down, compresses the o-ring, and also does not let the plastic bow. After being a technician all of my life, I truly believe this is a permanent fix for the t-stat coolant leak. Plugs are next, and then clear the code again.

16th Dec 2009, 14:41

Yes, there is a thermostat housing made of metal. I brought a 2000 Lanos at a car auction for $450. It had 89k miles on it. The plastic thermostat housing had blown-up (literally)

I got a metal one at a parts store here in Vegas that specializes in foreign jobs. Long story short, changed the part and she’s running like a top!

I love my little car!

8th Mar 2010, 21:32

I picked up a 2000 Lanos from a lady for free, just to get it out of her yard. It has 76,000 miles with a new timing belt and water pump. It did not run right after that for the next couple of weeks, then it stalled out one day. After 2 yrs of sitting in her drive way, she offered it to me if I thought I could fix it. After pulling the timing cover off, I found that the timing belt was one tooth off. It now runs like a new car.

It does have an electrical issue though. Check engine and air bag light are on along with no blower fan, no reverse lights or brake lights. I am going to use the suggestions for the dash lights, but was wondering if anyone knows where the location of the wiring issue with the floor seam is that causes the car to stall.

I'm not complaining about the car at all, since it was free and I only have $36.00 into it for new belts.

8th Mar 2010, 21:35

I wanted to add that the Daewoo Lanos was replaced by the Chevy Aveo, and if you have the 1.6 liter engine, you can buy parts for it at your local GM dealer.

25th Apr 2010, 18:37

I have a 1999 Daewoo Lanos, and the PCM needs to be replaced; because of that it won't pass smog, and the engine light won't come on. They are telling me that part is a lot to replace; does anyone know what price range I'm looking at??

4th Jun 2010, 18:39

I have had a 2002 Daewoo Lanos S for 5 years and I haven't had any trouble with it; everything is perfect and it's still looking good. I just bought 17" rims with 205/40/R17 tires and I'm 18th years old. I drive it very fast and still has not given me any trouble... I have it in California San Bernardino, California.

10th Jun 2010, 10:15

I have a 2001 Daewoo Lanos S Sedan. 39328 miles on it when my mom gave it to me in October. As of yesterday it has 40170 miles on it.

The check engine light has been coming on and going off on its own since the beginning of May.

The airbag light is also on all the time, but that is due to me pulling the fuse for those deadly airbags, which cause more personal injury than if you didn't have them at all.

By reading these reviews, looking at daewoous.com, checking recalls, I realized the cam sensor was one of the recalls with the status still as "opened". Here's the list of my specific Lanos recalls:

Recall Number: RSB-001-04

Description: Camshaft Sensor-Insp / Replacement

Date: 8/2/2004

Status: Open

Recall Number: 02V-131

Description: Lanos Passenger Air Bag Modification

Date: 5/15/2002

Status: Open

Recall Number: 01V-020

Description: Wire Harness Repositioning

Date: 1/25/2001

Status: Completed.

So my question is, can I have those two recalls still completed 6 and 8 years later?

23rd Sep 2010, 16:24

I have a Daewoo Lanos 1.8 year 2000. Has been nothing but TROUBLE. It jumps all over the place. Replaced petrol pump, idle sensor, air valve control, plugs, leads, air filter, petrol filter, I've HAD THE COMPUTER READ ON IT, throttle switch (had that replaced, didn't make any difference).

It's driving me mad. Some days it runs fine, then it starts again. Seems only to do it in lower gears, but changes gear fine. Been told to try coil pack, but if I do, then that's my last hope. I got totally ripped of when I brought this car. Spent over 400 trying to get this sorted. Got nowhere. Anyone have any ideas?

From a fedup woman driver.

17th May 2011, 03:32

I would like to know if my 1998 Daewoo Lanos is Korean made or other. Also, are they good cars?

Mine is a 1.5 manual with the SOHC ETec engine.

What is ECM? and mando.

I will check it, but I don't know what that means.

Thank you.

3rd Jun 2011, 15:27

I own a 1998 Daewoo Lanos 1.5 3 door.

I don't understand why some people say they are good, and other people seem to have problems with them.

As for me, I haven't had it long enough to know, but I do know I like the way it drives and looks.

But when you hear all the bad reports, I am thinking should I keep it or not.

The car seems good, and my mechanic says it is, but also says that they are not reliable. Things can go wrong at any time.

Even though I read all these owners reviews, I'm still not sure about it.

It's not a good feeling when you own a certain make, but are worried all the time about it. But, as I said, I really like it and enjoy driving it. Just hope I don't get all these problems.

Has anyone got any further advice?

Thank you.

4th Jun 2011, 09:32

Every manufacturer makes its share of great cars... lemons and average cars... and everything in between... Some manufacturers have more and some less... you are not always sure what you have till you had the car for a while.

My advice to anyone who is unsure of what they have, is to do preventive maintenance... Don't assume other owners have done this... unless you have the proof.

In the small manuals the dealer provides with every new car... there is a maintenance schedule... you must follow this schedule... which means if prior owners have not provided you with proof they did it... you end up doing it... It can be expensive... but gives you piece of mind... every car out there should get a chance to prove what type of car it is going to be... but to drive a car without any maintenance done to it... is just asking for trouble...

15th Oct 2015, 22:48

Can I get a step by step guide for dummies on how to remove the thermostat housing? As I need a quick solution to stop the overheating with my 2000 model Daewoo Lanos.

24th Feb 2016, 15:08

"It was made by GM."

Wrong. Daewoo was independent of GM after 1992, but was later bought out by GM after filing bankruptcy.

8th Aug 2016, 07:14

The check engine light will come on in a Daewoo Lanos if the brake lights (or one of them) do not work. It will also come on if you do not close the fuel cap until it clicks.

23rd Sep 2016, 12:12

Sir, please advise why my Matiz car 2001 model is getting a starting problem after a speed of 70 kph, & again it's starts normally after being left overnight.