1999 Daewoo Leganza Reviews

1999 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36256 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The car is junk and dangerous!!!

Faults:

Well, where should I get started?

I got the car for 3500 dollars. First the heat went out, then the keyless entry.

The stereo went twice. Then the starter, and I had to get a new timing belt when that happened, and I need to get the heads fixed too.

This car is junk junk junk!!!

Then after I fixed all of that, the head then cracked; the mechanic stated the car over heated. How? There was coolant in the car and oil, none of it was low. And the car tachometer did not even show hot, and there was no smoke.

I got the car at 36256 and the car died at 49563. I am so glad I kept and still have my Geo Prizm, which is a 1990 model. That car has 293123 miles on it, and the air still works and it has the original engine and transmission. Now that is a nice car; it just looks ugly.

General Comments:

These cars should be taken off the market completely; they're dangerous and expensive to fix.

When it did run, it did drive of course.

If you have a sunroom option, do not open it, the sunroof was also junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2010

17th Jan 2010, 22:52

News flash, they stopped selling Daewoos, as Daewoos, here after 2002.

Although there are still a lot of Chevy Aveos/Pontiac G3, and various Suzukis, that are really Daewoos, so beware...

1999 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.0L from France

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance302000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Safrane

Summary:

Cool!

Faults:

Cylinder head changed at 260000 km.

General Comments:

Very good car. Mine has 300000 km and is always OK!!! (in France it is equipped with LPG).

Suspensions are flabby, but it's not really a problem.

I like this car..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

1999 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2L I4 DOHC 16v FI from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L I4 DOHC 16v FI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Good cheap car that got hung out to dry

Faults:

Windshield developed crack.

Rod bearing failure.

General Comments:

Handles surprisingly well -- can sustain quite high lateral (turning) G-forces.

Performance perfectly fine -- I never lacked for acceleration nor top speed nor braking.

Has lots of bells and whistles and creature comforts for a rather low price.

Comfortable and spacious (though the leather seats do get quite cold/hot, but that's a problem with leather seats in general).

I think it looks quite attractive.

I'd probably still have the car today, except that the rod bearing failed and it would cost more than the car is worth to replace the engine. That, and the parts are difficult to get and will only get more so, since they stopped making them. It's a shame, really...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2007

1999 Daewoo Leganza CDX AUT 2.0 16v from Netherlands

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent!!

Faults:

Nothing goes wrong with the car. It's only a little expensive to drive.

General Comments:

It's the best luxury car ever.

Fully automatic, excellent climate-control.

Leather seats are very good!

Drive easily, very smooth car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

4th Aug 2008, 09:12

Haha yes yes..

This car is very well if it's the CDX, you have no idea how much better it is.

1999 Daewoo Leganza from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Overpriced unreliability

Faults:

I borrowed this car for one weekend and it died on the side of a major highway. Check engine light was on; however the dealership said that it was not an issue. That was a lie.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car unless you enjoy bad service, bad quality, and ugly styling. The only thing that is positive about this car is the leather interior, moon roof, climate control, and CD player. The transmission is twitchy. The steering is loose and unresponsive, furthermore it take 3 full turns of the steering wheel to use the maximum radius, a real pain for parallel parking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

17th Jan 2005, 07:07

You drove the car for a weekend and now feel qualified to rate it, eh?

And since you paid nothing for it, how would you know whether it is "overpriced"?

15th Feb 2005, 08:43

I agree, you can't judge a car by just driving it for a weekend. Who knows in what condition that particular car has been driven!!!

Let me tell you my experience with the Leganza. I bought a brand new CDX in my home town Bogota, in Colombia. It was wonderful, excellent shape, engine never failed, excellent brakes, steering, electrics, etc. The interior is really nice despite the lower standards of this model compared to the one that used to be exported to the US. Sometimes the back of the car was confused with a Mercedes. I treated this car same as I use to treat cars... with care. After three years and 20.000 Km I sold it due to a transfer overseas. I own a BMW 5 series here n Scotland (wonderful) but still miss the good times with my silver shiny Leganza.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews