1999 Daewoo Leganza Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1999 Daewoo Leganza SX 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9327 miles
Most recent distance10272 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Decent car so far, really bad deal!

Faults:

As you can see I haven't had the car for long only a few months. So far the only major thing I have had to have replaced is the brakes and rotors.

But now I'm getting a funky smell from the vents when the air is on.

And my head gasket is leaking oil.

Although, I blame the head gasket on the dealership, as you can see where they patched it.

General Comments:

My biggest problem with the car is that the dealership did not inform me of Daewoo going bankrupt.

Now I can only find one insurance agent in the State of Indiana that will insure this car.

The agent wants $200.00 a month because "the car is a high risk"

I am now trying to fight the dealer and need to know the date Daewoo released it had closed it's doors. And any good advice anyone can give!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 12:18

Burn it now and collect what pennies you can. I have a Leganza and have paid over USD7,000 to keep it running. I still owe the bank 7 months on it. Worst thing that ever happened to me.

20th Feb 2005, 21:45

I absolutely love my 1999 Daewoo Leganza SX! These cars are very nice and come with a relatively low price tag. I would like to see anyone find a car made in America for as good of a deal. By the way to all those critics... almost every single part of a Daewoo comes from GM. Most people now days want a car that they can drive and not have to worry about for 100,000 at which time they would maybe like to change the oil. Guess what? Cars don't work like this. You have to put a little bit of time and MONEY into anything you buy. The only difference I am aware of is that Daewoo recommends changing the timing belt... not a bad idea for any car. I highly recommend anyone buying themself one!!

6th Dec 2005, 20:41

The cars are hard to insure because parts are scarce. The engine is easy to repair. Head gasket was a Saturday job. Air bags did not deploy in both front and rear collisions. Most parts are only available at GM dealers. That includes air filter and brakes. Don't finance one of these. If you can pay cash for one and wait a week for internet parts, buy one. If not, stay away. They are a good little car, not a great car. Oh, fourth gear in the auto trans model is not overdrive. That's why mine struggles to get 30mpg. My new Maxima gets 28mpg at the same speed and range.

31st May 2006, 19:08

> Most people now days want a car that they can drive

> and not have to worry about for 100,000.

They have the unfortunate expectation that new cars be as reliable as a twenty year-old ones.

10th Dec 2006, 21:59

I love my Lasagna. It is the best car I've ever owned. It comes with so many standard features like windows and carpeting. The only thing I wish I had gotten as extra was the electronic smog control because when I run the heat carbon monoxide fills the cabin, but that's nothing putting a window down can't handle. As for handling, it handles very well, its not too big and not too small. I would compare it to a bull in a china shop. It really just goes crazy. Sadly it died on my a few months after ownership due to termite damage in the drivetrain. I should really get the metal camshaft on my next one. I can't wait to order it!

1999 Daewoo Leganza 2.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance46000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Absolute garbage

Faults:

The car refused to start several times.

The brake pads were destroyed and replaced twice, once at 30,000km, and again at 41,000.

Frequent oil leaks have occurred.

The speakers have started to crackle and fizz, and one is blown.

The CD player doesn't work half the time.

The windscreen wiper mechanism has worked incorrectly several times.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute piece of junk.

It has been in for several "services" but the dealership never fixed the problem.

It is shockingly slow and unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

9th Oct 2003, 12:15

I have a 2001 Daewoo Leganza. I bought it at 36,000 miles and have had it for a while. This is a very dependable little car and I would recommend to anyone to buy a car. Maybe people should look at all the reviews before buying a car so they are not dissatisfied!

12th Jun 2007, 07:28

I just sold my DAEWOO 1998 Leganza, I couldn't be more happier. Buying a Korean car again? NEVEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRR.!!!

11th Dec 2012, 05:07

Hi, I am considering buying a used Leganza 2001 today. I have been told the seal is gone on the sunroof. Does anyone know if this is hard to do, and cheap or expensive? And any points I should look for, as I have never had a Daewoo before.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews