1999 Daewoo Matiz Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE from India

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Maruti

Summary:

A good car from a bad company

Faults:

The body of the car gets rusted in less than an year. This complaint is reported by a large number of customers. The rusting starts from the door and spreads across. The metal parts are eaten away and affect the looks of the car, and of course the performance and safety.

General Comments:

The general performance of the car is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

3rd Feb 2005, 20:37

I also have the same problem with the rust. It starts from the edge of windows of the 4 doors and than cross all around the doors. But very strangely, the steel of roof never rust. It never rust from the edge of the sunroof or other part of the roof.

I think the steel material and quality are different from the 4 doors and the roof. I wonder that the steel of the 4 doors are "RECYCLED STEELS FROM ABOLISHED SHIPS".

As you may know, the biggest "Dismantle Ship Industry" is in Korea. It is to dismantle the steels of the old ships and recycle the steels. So, where the recycled steel is? Matiz's doors!!!

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from Estonia

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired315 kilometres
Most recent distance44500 kilometres
Previous carZaporozhets ZAZ 698M

Summary:

A small big car for small money

Faults:

The central locking system suddenly "disappeared" at 30 000 km.

The 3rd gear sometimes makes a violent noise when switching.

General Comments:

A nice, funny and friendly-looking small car. Very useful in the city, especially when looking for a parking spot.

Fuel consumption is very low - I have managed with 5-6 litres per 100 km.

On the highway it's noisy inside, so the radio volume has to be turned quite high.

Transporting larger objects is pretty complicated, for example already a kids bicycle created some problems because it tended to scratch my back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD+ 0.8 from India

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance12487 kilometres

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Hardness in shifting gear from 1st to 2nd, since I bought it. Daewoo India or the local dealer did not reply till date. Has any Matiz owner come across this problem in the UK, or other than India?

All Matiz owners are experiencing this problem in India.

General Comments:

My first car. Excellent in it's calls in India. Great small car.

Virsingh

virlogin@Yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

3rd Sep 2004, 14:45

Hi.

In general a problem like this can be fixed easily by tightening the clutch. You need to wind back up the clutch wire, not sure what its called, but it's a problem a lot of cars have, just ask someone who knows about cars, its fixed in two minutes, really!

Yvette, Eire.

22nd Apr 2008, 05:55

I am writing to you from Nepal. I had similar problems with my Matiz ever since I changed my clutch wire on advice of my mechanic. Each time after the complaint, my mechanic adjusted the clutch wire or tightened it but I broke two clutch wires in three months. Then, my mechanic sought for genuine Daewoo clutch wire instead of using the one made by another Indian company for Matiz. I haven't have had the problem since then.

However, currently my Matiz is starting to make some cranky noise while turning my car even on moderate speed. My mechanic has advised me to change the front axle. I bought a Matiz 2007 model axle but didn't fit in the Matiz I purchased in 2001. Can anyone suggest?

Satish

sjshahi@gmail.com.

4th Aug 2012, 05:26

I have had no problem with shifting from first to second gear, but saying that, I am used to driving a 70s Ford Falcon ute. I think it is a very easy car to drive.

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE+ 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Cheap - cheerful - fun - great value

Faults:

Drivers side rubbing strip fell off, Daewoo replaced free of charge.

HT lead came loose, Daewoo fitting new ones free of charge.

Seats do wear a little too much.

General Comments:

Loads of space inside for such a small car, interior is put together quite well, very few squeaks and rattles.

Performance isn't bad, engine growls away quite merrily, economy is very good, as is the insurance grouping (2).

All together, great value for money and a bit of fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews