1999 Daewoo Matiz Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A great buy - a design icon

Faults:

The clock (we spilt a cup of tea over it!).

Doors are difficult to unlock from the inside (fiddly).

General Comments:

Fun and cheap to drive, appears well made and durable. Fast for 800cc and so lovable.

Has been reliable despite being driven through floods where other cars have failed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE+ AC 0.8 EFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 EFi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTi Convertible

Summary:

Excellent workhorse and commuter, very economical

Faults:

3 times side repeaters condensation, changed by the dealer.

Gear change very notchy, modified and oil type changed.

General Comments:

At 20,000 mile service tires changed. Originals were Hankook which gave rail like handling. Now have two Kumhos on rear and Hankooks on front. This gives an odd handling feel. The opposite combination gives chronic handling, wandering etc and I am awaiting Daewoo input on this matter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE Plus 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles

Summary:

Great first car, cheap to run

Faults:

Nothing so far, but it's due for a service soon.

Have trouble with the clutch control, seems to slip back really low and needs adjusting often to get good biting point.

General Comments:

Great first car; cheap and loads of stuff comes with it eg; central locking, electric windows.

OK, so the engine is small but it can still do 90mph on the motorway.

Looks lovely and has a nice driving position.

Wouldn't like to be in it in a crash though, but it fairs better than the Nissan Micra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE+ 0.8 MPI M-TEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 MPI M-TEC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Not good - it's a crapheap...

Faults:

Loads!!

Condensation in headlights, side lights, brake lights etc.

Alloy's corroded.

CD Player broke - overheating.

Brake problems - this car has had a nightmare problem with the brakes, they are forever squeaking and rattling. The car sounds like a tin of nails when you go over a bump, the dealer (Seafield, Edinburgh) says that this is normal!

Driver's seat material has worn away in 9000 miles, drivers mats have broken - lasted about 10 miles and the clips snapped off.

The rear anti roll bar fell off when the car was towed! - "not the dealers problem, not interested whatsoever".

The stereo is good (when it works) but the speakers are very poor and I would prefer to rip some speakers out a set of walkie talkies and stick them to the dashboard.

Oil leaks etc...

General Comments:

This car is a nightmare, I loved the car at first, but now that the dealer is acting like a prat I would never buy from the poor name of Daewoo. It may be cheap but is it worth all that hassle? e.g. 9 weeks for a headlight unit?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

28th Dec 2000, 18:19

I think your experience with the car is very isolated as I own a Matiz and I have not had a single problem. My dealer was also helpful when needed.

6th Feb 2001, 16:37

I can't understand how you give 9/10 to reliability and 5/10 for performance? This little car (800cc) can reach 100mph!

A Matiz owner.

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance19800 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin 825Si

Summary:

One way to get attention!

Faults:

Dealer-fitted weathershield blew off 2 hours after delivery when met by a truck and a headwind.

A/C leaked chilled water into the passenger footwell 5 days after delivery.

Rattling tailgate.

All fixed quickly. Since then, a trouble-free run.

A tendency to grate in 2nd gear when cold.

General Comments:

A great car - 3 of my friends have bought one since driving mine.

Great space and versatility.

Tends to drink when pushed harder.

Comfortable enough on the highway, suspension perhaps a little under-damped.

Non-standard size stereo and small speaker size means I can't install my high-end Sony head unit and JBL split speakers (any suggestions anyone?).

Tons of interest in the car (I have some extra bits on it) especially at petrol stations - some want to know if engine is in the back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE from Belgium

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

This car really gives me sleepless nights

Faults:

Problem with the ignition which turned out to be a faulty cable to one of the sparkplugs (warranty).

Leak near the fuel pump (warranty).

Slipping gear which had something to do with a pressure or so. My dealer REFUSED to fix this under warranty and I had to write 2 letters to the import company and threaten them with legal action before it was going to be made under warranty. Now my car is after 4 weeks still in the garage and still waiting to be repaired.

This car really gives me sleepless nights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews