2007 Dodge Caliber Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Excellent Winter car

Faults:

Dealer corrected previous issues:

- wind noise attributed to vent visor.

- Disfomed cushion -driver seat.

(Dealership is outstanding -Davidson)

General Comments:

Car is an excellent winter car. We had a snow storm in Toronto, Ontario recently. The car plowed through the snow with ease and comfort. The car does not fish tail too much and feels safe in icy conditions. Caliber is an entry level car, but seems to hold its own in adverse conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

31st Aug 2007, 07:28

Hey, I live in Toronto to!

My dads planning on trading in his 04 Chevrolet impala for a caliber. and from your comments I can see very positive things, especially with here in Toronto being a very cold place with long winters.

31st Jul 2010, 21:30

Kingston ON. Caliber is a good car, especially for the small amount of money. I don't know how they made it so solid on the highway. Have not driven in snow yet, but it is just great in the rain.

Looking forward too many long years of service. Used to swear by Honda for 25 years, but this car is too much of a bargain to pass up. And, Honda is a trifle too much.

29th Dec 2010, 14:53

The Caliber is plagued with far too many problems. I've done research on this car, and found that it's overwhelmingly hated by most people. I live in Edmonton, Alberta. It gets bitterly cold here, and we get lots of snow here, too. I couldn't get my Toyota Echo off of our street for six days after a recent heavy snowfall.

I don't see how the Caliber could be better in extreme winter conditions, unless it has all wheel drive. That option was dropped over a year ago. Practically all cars got stuck. The only vehicles that plowed through were large pickups. I'm sure they had four wheel drive.

2007 Dodge Caliber SXT CVT 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17950 miles
Most recent distance20002 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great little car, good MPG

General Comments:

I just rented one from Budget, and drove 2000 miles in 3 days, from Omaha to San Antonio and back. I was planning on buying one in a few months, and this way I had a chance to drive it longer than a test drive. The pick up was just fine, at all speeds. It would pass cars and then settle right back in to a very quiet engine at 70-75mph. I did get 2-3 mpg better with regular gas and not with the ethanol blend. I averaged 28-30 with ethanol and 30-32 with regular gas. It's a great car and will buy one after my lease is up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2007

17th Feb 2007, 17:46

Unlike what a lot of people think, regular (what some call low grade) gas has as much energy in it as so called high test gas. As you found out, the Caliber gives its best performance on regular gas. The Caliber manual says only regular gas (including the winter blends) should be used in the Caliber.

15th Jul 2007, 09:26

My wife and I purchased a dodge caliber one year ago. We really liked the exterior and interior. What we are unhappy with is the gas mileage and the way the engine performs. The best mileage with out air was 27 mpg with air 24 mpg. When ever you go to give it gas to pass or speed up, the motor rev's up, but you speed up slowly... We have taken the vehicle back to the dealer, they tell us this is normal and the posted mileage on the sales sticker of 32 hyway mpg is under ideal conditions not general. My wife is a school teacher that drives 80 miles a day we are VERY disappointed.. WE DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU BUY THIS CAR...

15th Jul 2007, 13:04

I do not think the interior quality is really up to snuff. Maybe for an American car... but what does that accomplish?

24th Jul 2007, 14:34

To 09:26...The Caliber CVT is NOT like other automatic transmissions. Approach the CVT Caliber as if it were a propellor driven airplane. Set your transmission in Drive. Set your rpms with the gas pedal & away you go. Like a propellor plane, the acceleration is continuously smooth. Also like a plane, the speed is independent of the rpms of the Caliber engine. If the Caliber is driven hard the CVT internal hydraulic pressures approach 1000 pounds per square inch. This pressure is provided by the engine & drives MPG way down. If you carefully feather foot the gas pedal tho, the CVT pressures are lower, & you can get fair to good MPG.

30th Jul 2008, 16:51

Curious how one person gets 32 mpg and the other gets only 24-27 mpg. Either the latter is an AWD or SRT-4, or somebody has a lead foot.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews