1995 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1995 Dodge Dakota SLT 5.2 V8 Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired121200 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carDodge Aspen

Summary:

Buy a Chevy instead

Faults:

The Power Control Module went at 121,500 miles.

Seat are ripped.

The O2 sensor went at 121,300.

I had to replace half the lights 1 week after I bought it.

General Comments:

It is the worst investment I ever made.

I've had it for about two and a half months, and only got to drive it for a week and a half.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

3rd Mar 2004, 13:18

The 1995 dodge dakota sport is one of the best trucks my family ownes.

6th Jul 2004, 13:27

You're complaining because a PCM and O2 went out at 120,000+ miles? That is outstanding compared to the vast majority of the competition! You seriously need to be realistic! You are one of those people who will never be satisfied no matter how well something performs. Ever machine will eventually break down, please!

23rd May 2005, 09:35

I have owned a 1995 Dakota sport with 318, 5 speed manual for the past 5 years. I have beaten this truck up for over 130,000 miles. Other than normal breakages, i.e. water pump, 02 sensor, and a MAP sensor this truck has been great. I have driven it through water, sand, mud, rocks, taken to speeds over 130mph, drag raced it, jumped it over railroad tracks, you name it me and my Dakota did it. Greatst truck ever.

8th Jun 2007, 20:01

If you want to wast your money you can by a chevy buy a FORD!!

26th Aug 2007, 11:26

That's a joke man, all of those things are something to be expected at 120,000 miles. Go ahead and buy an S10 or Ranger, sounds like you want something that looks like a truck, but performs like a small car.

1995 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41200 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Powerful, but not reliable

Faults:

Air Conditioning went out at 45,000 miles. Dealer fixed for $350.00, went out again 4 months later. Dealer ran pressure test, found no leaks, wanted to re charge system for $190.00. Just rolled windows down in warm weather.

Water pump went at 53,00/ twice dealer gave me wrong pump, went to NAPA got right part for $90. Dealer wanted $190.

Radiator went at 57,000/ $160 to replace.

The catalytic converter ceramic fell apart at 69,000, dealer said out of warranty, went to a muffler shop, they said could not touch it because CA. smog restrictions cover converters till 90000 miles. Dealer still would not fix it. I went to a junk yard and got a used one and installed myself. Cost $25.00.

The transmission lines went at 69,000 also. Cost to replace was $95.00. Dealer wanted $200.00.

Driver door hinges broke at 72,000 miles. Dealer said it is common on Jeep Cherokees, but not Dakotas. Cost to repair hinges, $350.00 at local body shop.

General Comments:

The power of the vehicle was great, but reliability of the truck was sub-par. My prior car was much more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

7th May 2003, 11:09

The best part of owning this vehicle was when another motorist ran an intersection and smashed into the front end driver side at 50+ mph. The frame was severely damaged, yet the airbags did not go off. Dodge told me that the damage was not hard enough. Not sure how much it takes, but the vehicle was a total loss and the front bumper was partially off after the accident.

19th Apr 2013, 23:30

Of course everything at the dealer costs a hell of a lot more than if you do it yourself. And what did you do to your poor truck? I have 170,000 on mine, and 15 years later it still runs like a top.

1995 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9 Magnum V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9 Magnum V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Proven Performer, everyone should have one

Faults:

Radiator warped and failed 110,000.

Water pump leaked and failed 105,000.

Air conditioner failed- $800 repair estimate- I never fixed this.

Gas gauge faulty, idiot light works - Use trip odometer 300 miles to empty.

Replaced engine - Probably my fault $2800 January 1999 at 120,000 miles.

Replaced Exhaust from manifold back due to converter failure 185,000.

EGR Amp failed: probably related to Exhaust 185,000.

Factory CD failed: Clarion 6 disc changer, no idea why it failed. 95,000.

Factory sunroof leaking: inevitable, but a real pain 100,000 miles.

Seats wearing badly: poor materials.

Headliner falling: poor fit and finish of factory installed sunroof 140,000.

Cracked Rim of Wheel: shoddy materials or construction (Whole wheel replaced)

120,000 miles.

Lots of front windshield replacements

.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been driven hard and was not well maintained early on. I rushed the break in period and it may not have sealed itself well. It started as a lease so I figured it would be somebody else's problem, but the miles racked up and I purchased it.

In spite of the abuse it has been a good performer with both mid-range and top end power. Cruises at 75 mph at 2500 rpm in overdrive (both easy on the engine and gas mileage) Could pass on straight over 100 mph, but I wouldn't try that now.

After 100,000 miles the problems listed above began. I hit 100,000 miles in early 1998 so that was about 45,000 miles a year of Highway driving, It really was flawless before then.

Most of the problems may be due to regular wear and tear the Engine failure is probably due to my abuse/negligence.

I think I can drive it another 50,000 but the maintenance is getting high.

The miles have dropped because I have other transpo now- Motorcycles, Metro rail, convertible, bike.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 25 reviews