1999 Dodge Dakota V8 from North America

Summary:

A real pile of junk

Faults:

My catalytic converter went out at 78,000 miles.

My head gasket went out shortly after that.

Has front end problems before reaching 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

I had a 1998 regular cab Dakota, and I absolutely loved it. Then I upgraded to a 1999 extended cab Dakota, and have had nothing, but problems. Had it only for a few months then everything started to go wrong. The only thing I've liked about it is the size, it's perfect, but not worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

28th May 2004, 04:19

Just to let you know dodge gives a 8 year 80k mile warranty on all cats and labor thanks hope it helps someone else.

10th Mar 2005, 09:26

I own a 1999 dodge dakota club cab and its the best truck I ever owned. So you must have got a bad truck is all.

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 from North America

Summary:

Fun, reliable truck

Faults:

Each power lock module failed, about 2 months apart.

Headlamps occasionally cut out, very briefly.

Engine computer failed.

General Comments:

The engine computer was replaced under warranty and I believe its failure may have been caused by an accessory I was using at the time (a power converter).

This is my third Dakota and I have had the highest faith in all of them.

It's quick, comfortable, attractive, and ready to work. It also does well off-road.

The engine and transmission are buttery smooth. The V8 is thirsty, but that is to be expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport V8 Magnum from North America

Summary:

Absolutely a beautiful truck inside and out

Faults:

I have had virtually no major problems with it. Mechanically nothing to speak of except oil changes and tire rotation. I had to have a minor spot re-done on the body because it got hit when I was not around.

General Comments:

-Very reliable and dependable.

-Amazing 4-wheel drive capabilities.

-Beautiful exterior and interior.

-"Mean" truck look for being mid-sized.

-Fun to drive and be in.

-Awesome factory Infinity sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

20th Feb 2011, 00:22

I love mine.

10th Apr 2011, 23:21

Just bought one. We are Dodge fans 100%. Own 2 more, only big size pickups! The greatest on the road! Our daughter owns a Dodge Dakota Reg King 4x4 Sharp too!

Everyone should own a Dodge! LOL.

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport V8 from North America

Summary:

A good deal for the price

Faults:

Water pump went out less than 25,000 miles.

General Comments:

I've been pretty happy with it. The only thing I've had to replace is the battery. Lots of power, but a gas guzzler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1999 Dodge Dakota R/T 5.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

Best bang for the buck truck out there

Faults:

Had to replace that Catalytic Converter.

General Comments:

This truck is a very strong running truck. It is fast and has been very reliable to me. It also handles better that most cars. The interior is very comfortable. It is also a very good looking truck. I also have a few modifications done to it. I love this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

1999 Dodge Dakota R/T 5.9L from North America

Summary:

I will buy another Dakota R/T extended cab if they're ever available again

Faults:

At 35,964 miles I had to have the transmission replaced.

I had to have the ball joints replaced at approximatly 37,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck accelerates very well.

Handles corners more like a Camaro than a truck.

Long distance travel has been comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

27th Feb 2007, 11:19

I was a bit perplexed to read that the transmission and ball joints were replaced before the 40K mile mark. One would expect to see this sort of thing in the "Don't Buy a '99 Dakota" category.

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport 4x4 Extended Cab 5.2 liter V8 from North America

Summary:

At $23,000 out the door, I can't complain

Faults:

Headlight/foglight switch failed after two years, replacement was covered under warranty.

Heavy duty battery died at 63,000 miles, but that is about the life span.

One front shock started leaking fluid after warranty expired, replaced all units with Edelbrocks.

General Comments:

The Dakota has been problem free with regular maintenance, most of which I can perform myself.

The sport suspension handles great, especially after installing Edelbrock shock absorbers. I bought this truck to tame my aggressive driving habits, but it didn't work!

The heavy duty service equipped 5.2 liter V-8 performance is beyond what I expected. The gas mileage is terrible, 10 mpg city and no better then 17 highway, but that's what I expected when I bought it. Fuel at the time in 1999 was $1.05. It failed one state emissions test, but new plugs and a full cleaning of the throttle-body passed it. Spark plug gap increases steadily so they get changed every 15,000 or so miles.

It's a V-8 4x4 that sees hard service in suburban N.Y.C. and mountain roads all over New England.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004