1999 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1999 Dodge Dakota from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Surface rust started in the corners of the windows, transmission needed to be repaired, the inside trim is falling apart, the motor has a slight knocking, it burns a lot of gas. but most of all, when it is cold weather the truck starts, but when I put it into gear the motor dies out. The starter has been replaced already.

General Comments:

I see this as a high dollar repair truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

28th May 2005, 15:29

What have you done about your engine knocking?

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29500 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

Brakes at 55000 miles (had original). Replaced pads with higher quality, dust free expensive kind. About $500 in all.

Fan clutch at 40,000 miles. Quick fix about $50.

Exhaust rattle fixed for free by a mechanic. Just had to move around a plate.

Usual oil changes, belts., filters.

Hum in front - cause, didn't rotate the tires enough.

General Comments:

It was hard to get accustomed to the feel of a truck from a Maxima. I'm a large framed guy and tall. Fits like a glove. Very comfortable especially on roadtrips.

Reliable, fast, powerful. Love it! Great sound system. Not great on wet roads. Should have bought the 4x4 option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport 5.2 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance84249 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Very comfortable truck, and roomy, gas hog

Faults:

My 1999 Dodge Dakota has to be the gas guzzler of the year. This vehicle is very comfortable, but we cannot keep an automatic transmissions in it.

General Comments:

This a very comfortable truck, but it loves gas.

This truck is very bad on transmissions.

In the past month, we have put three transmissions in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

10th Aug 2004, 21:49

My 1999 v6 3.9l gets terrible mileage. I think on the showroom sticker (I'm original owner), it said 19 City, 21 Highway mpg. No matter where or how I drive, I get between 13.5 AND 14.5 mpg. When I inquired at the dealer shortly after I bought it, they checked it out and told me "everything is normal". If you have heard of any possible solution to this problem, please email me, Randy.Bergen@comcast.net.

9th Mar 2006, 22:00

Well, I own the same make and model as yours, but I have checked and it gets around 26 on the highway cruising at 75, but in the city it gets 14.

16th Apr 2006, 20:14

I just got the truck about 2 years ago, and I have never had any problems on it besides the bad gas mileage. Great truck for outdoor activities, and to just have a little fun in mud with. Best truck I have had in my entire life. And I have had 3 Chevy's 2 Fords, and 3 tToyota's. Best truck ever a must have.

1999 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Sport V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Solid, reliable, comfortable. A keeper

Faults:

Cruise control doesn't work correctly below 65 mph except on very flat roads. Below that speed (e.g., 55 mph) it will downshift all the way to second gear when a hill is encountered resulting in 4000+ rpm. Very bad on an engine. Chrysler knows about it and there is no fix. My answer: buy the V8.

Detonation. Took until sometime in 2001, but Chrysler finally came out with a new ignition mapping that pretty much fixed the problem (every new car I've driven pings some).

Plastic hub centers on the wheels pop off and get lost, and are $15/each to replace.

The V6 is kinda gutless. They didn't have a 4x4 V6 when I bought mine, so I didn't realize it, or that the estimated mileage for the V6 and V8 is almost identical with 4WD. Buy the V8.

General Comments:

I kind of surprised by the number of negative comments I see about the Dakota. Mine is still on the original brake pads and shoes, and original tires at 64K miles. Other than the items listed above, this car has never been back to the dealer. And I'm pretty picky about vehicles, having grown up in the auto industry. Guess I've just been lucky. My one regret is having opted for the V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

8th Jun 2006, 23:05

I have a 1999 Dakota Sport 4x4 with 3.9L Reg. Cab. Short Bed. With 5-speed. I have 130,000 miles on the truck. The only thing I have replaced is the starter. This truck as been great in the woods. The only thing that I do not agree with is that you cannot grease the hubs up front. I am going to replace them soon. This truck as been all over the USA and a lot of the miles have been off roading. It helps to add air intake, exhaust. Truck shifts great! Still on same clutch. Overall this truck is a keeper.

19th Aug 2006, 17:09

OK, now I'm confused. I want an older used dakota and I was looking at the 99's. I am confused about the reviewer saying that his 99 dakota with the v-6 didn't have 4 wheel drive, yet the 8th Jun 2006 commenter said his has 4 wheel drive...

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews