1999 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1999 Dodge Dakota Extended Cab SLT from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance36425 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Not worth one cent! Would not purchase another Dodge/Chrysler vehicle

Faults:

Air conditioner problems.

Excessive engine knock, clicking.

Surges in speed at or above 70 miles per hour.

Almost red-lines before shifting while accelerating.

Gasket replaced.

Dealership fried battery at 32000 miles.

Dealership fried wiring at 32000 miles.

Tires had to be replaced at 15,000 miles neither Dodge dealer nor Goodyear would prorate them.

General Comments:

Dakota has been in for same repairs since Fall of 1999. Engine sounds like it has loose parts, excessive clicking noises. Surges then loss of power while driving. Dealership most of the time says it cannot duplicate, funny it happens on my way to the dealer and on the way back, but not while it is in their shop. Had to keep the truck for several days, I was told they had to wait for Corporate to contact them with computer updates. Had problems just before warranty expired. Took truck in. Dealer replaced gasket parts as well as wiring and battery that they fried while doing repairs. 3 months later at 35000 miles I returned to the dealership with same problems, they could not duplicate. 36425 miles and the Dakota stalled at a red light. When started back up the Check engine light came on. Had to have it towed to service shop.

I cannot give any pluses about this vehicle. It has not been reliable and the dealership and Dodge headquarters have not helped to solve my problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

1999 Dodge Dakota R/T 5.9 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles

Summary:

A street light brawler!

Faults:

Fuel pump broke.

Recall for rear brake lines, dealer replaced.

Tires wear, quickly replaced at 24,000 miles.

General Comments:

The regular cab R/T handles very well and accelerates even better, very fun to drive.

Gas mileage is a problem at 12mpg around town, but the extra money spent on gas is well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

2nd Jun 2001, 00:29

About the tire tread life, I have a similar truck and have found that more expensive "performance" tires actually last nearly twice as long.

6th Mar 2006, 04:53

Bought mine with 16k miles on it. The Michelin Pilots were new then and I replaced them at 58k. You get what you pay for.

10th Mar 2006, 13:40

I will be getting an R/T Club Cab from my grandmother. What do I need to look out for? Is there any major problems with these trucks at 50,000 miles or do I need to worry? Please let me know at eveilkidkiller@yahoo.com.

3rd Dec 2012, 08:48

If you want to fix your tires problem, then have an alignment. I got mine done for a good price, and I haven't had to change the tires yet. The tires have been on there for 5 months, and they still have great tread! Good luck!

1999 Dodge Dakota Ext Cab 4 X 4 Sport 5.2 L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.2 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

The truck overall is great and I love it, Manassas Dodge suck

Faults:

First, there was a short in the Fog lights (Dodge fixed).

Had a noise in the dashboard, I took it to Dodge and they could not find the noise. I took the dashboard apart and fixed it myself - NOT DODGE.

Had problems with the steering, Dodge found a bad tie rod. But after replacing the tie rod they messed up my wheel alignment. So I had to send the truck back to get the steering properly aligned.

Lastly, but I sure it is not going to be the last, is a noise in the transmission. It sounds like something is grinding. Dodge said that the noise was some type of purging noise. I told them that they were complete morons. So this is were I am now. I am on my way to argue with the idiot at MANASSA Dodge, VA. DO NOT TAKE YOUR VEHICLE THERE.

General Comments:

The 5 star service is a crock of crap.

I am going to another Dodge garage from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 18:08

I had a similar problem with tranny noise and it turned out to be the spines on the tail of the tranny wearing out. In order to get this corrected I had to take it somewhere else to be diagnosed before dodge would do anything.

1999 Dodge Dakota Sport 5.2 l V-8 (318) from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 5.2 l V-8 (318)
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Emergency brake light kept flashing on and off. Found it to be a sensor in the dash. Fixed in matter of 10 min. A/C funny musty moldy smell. New A/C compressor.

General Comments:

Very nice to drive. Handles very well. Make sure you get the Tire & Handling Package.

The V-8 is very nice and powerful and offers good performance with the automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 1999

1999 Dodge Dakota SLT 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 5.2
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10

Faults:

From the day I got the truck , it has run poorly! It has been to the service dept. where purchased. Found "no codes". Must not be anything wrong. WRONG! The service director rode in it both times and felt the rough engine. Said "Pretty disturbing"! It must be the frame doing it!? Well , it could be the tires. WHAT? Well , it is a problem in the Dakotas & 1500's. It cannot be fixed. We (Dodge), find the problem with YOUR 26,000.00 truck! You should take it somewhere else .

General Comments:

NONE GOOD SO FAR !!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 1999

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews