2000 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4 Door 4X4 5.9 Magnum V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 Magnum V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Excellent all around vehicle

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Very happy all around with the truck, my family love it and the 4 door is convenient. Our other vehicle is Lexus and we tend to take the truck more often!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance29120 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Good combo of power, size, ride, comfort, usability, and reliability

Faults:

Had a scratch on the rear bumper when bought. Dealer said he could do nothing about it (Hayward Dodge, CA).

Driver's side window was off track when bought. The dealer fixed it.

Had to replace front brakes at 20,000 miles due to warping. My own fault really for driving too fast while towing. I was, however, told by a mechanic that the hubs should be beefier though (obviously not a dealer).

I noticed recently that I can see through the top coat of paint when the sun is at a certain angle to the right quarter panel.

Vehicle was pulling to the right on purchase.

General Comments:

There was a world of difference between the V6 (3.9L Magnum) and the V8 (4.7L Magnum) when I test drove them. The V6 seemed to be incredibly under-powered. The V8 had acceptable power however. I hear if you want to spend the money the V6's can be souped up nicely. There is also a 5.9L and 5.2L available if you feel like spending money for no reason. Even the 5.9L only adds 10 horsepower yet is a thousand more dollars, much heavier, and will get about 9 mpg.

I recommend adding at least a drop-in K&N filter charger and mild muffler to the 4.7L, something like Flowmaster or Hooker. The V8 breathes a lot better with these relatively cheap additions (roughly $40.00 & $200 respectively). I get about 16 MPG in my 4.7L V8 with all-wheel drive.

I am looking into getting a lift and have come to find there only exists one lift for the 2000 Dakota 4x4 Club Cab. Its a 3" body lift sold by Performance Accessories for a modest $190.00 (compared to $1,500 to $2,500 for a suspension lift offered on older models!). Although installation can take up to 8 hours.

I have also learned that 32 inch tires, nothing larger, will fit on the stock 7 inch wheels of the 4x4 models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2001

25th Jul 2002, 20:50

I purchased a 4.7 V8 4x4 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport plus and the truck as treated me very nicely. I also had to have my front rotors turned at about 20,000 miles due to vibration during braking. I purchased the 3" body lift from performance accessories and did the installation with the help of a good buddy in about 6 hours. Tell the guys at performance accessories that you saw the lift somewhere else for a little cheaper and like myself you can get the lift for about $170. My dodge came stock with 8x10" rims and a set of 33/12.50" swampers now fit just fine in the fender wells. I do agree with the addition of a flowmaster exhaust. It sounds awesome on my 4.7. Hope this helped someone.

2000 Dodge Dakota Club Cab SLT 3.9 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.9 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Other than that I can't complain it is a great truck!

Faults:

There has only been a rattling noise in the front passenger tire and the driver's seat is falling apart a little.

General Comments:

The dealership that I took it to fix the rattling and the seat was not that pleasing. They didn't fix either of the problems. All they did was put a nice size dent in the rear panel by the tire well. I suspect it was from a arm of a car lift, but by the time I realized it was to late.

Also the truck seems to be a brick in the wind because of its poor gas mileage which is very costly with the gas prices these days!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4 door 4x4 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired167 kilometres
Most recent distance1800 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dakota Sport 4x2

Summary:

Excellent SUV type vehicle, excellent in the snow

Faults:

The paint job sucks, it is so bad I have asked for a new truck, not sure if I will get one or not but I'm hopeful. There is thin paint all over the place, tail gate, all the door jambs, on the driver's door, and along the bottom of the whole truck in almost every body line that is inboard.

I do have a noise in the tranny or rear end, not sure, haven't had it checked yet, been spending too much time in the body shop for paint problems.

Update 15/12/00:

Update to my previous whining. Dealer fixed 98 percent of the paint problems, I obtained a lifetime warranty on paint and paint issues. Very happy there were 2 recalls, one fixed the noise that I had in the rear end - turns out it was in the front wheel bearing whatever....

Truck is great in the snow being a 4x4, and all it should be.

Gas mileage is well mediocre, but what the hell.

General Comments:

If Chrysler does not come through with a new truck or fix it with some type of compensation for me, maybe a free extended warranty and some cash back or something, it will be the last vehicle I buy from Chrysler even though I work there.

Update 15/12/00:

Go buy one if you're looking for a 4x4, my kids love the 4 doors..... and I do too. Comfortable, powerful, just check the paint before you buy it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 43 reviews