2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9 V6 Magnum from North America

Summary:

Very reliable, great running truck!

Faults:

Alternator went out at 139000.

Drivers side seat is flattening.

A/C relay went out at 144000.

A/C pump replaced at 141000.

General Comments:

It is a really a great reliable, running truck. Mine is 2WD, so just put some diggers on the piece and she will run like a champ in the snow.

Never had much problems with her. She always started right up. At almost 150000 still has no rust building on her. Good body! And it can hang with the others.

One time I backed into a car, it pulled up and parked behind me, didn't see it. So I reversed it pretty fast and it hit the car on the door. Expenses to that car were high. Just knocked the dust off the Dodge. So overall, GREAT TRUCK!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2009

2000 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 V8 from North America

Summary:

Good truck

Faults:

Not much at the moment. Just got it a bit ago.

The guy who had it before kept it in decent shape. It needs some paint work. He told me tie rods and ball bearing joints had to be replaced, but otherwise it looks good.

General Comments:

So far so good. It seems like a solid truck with that much kms.

It has so much kick, likes it's an engine with only 125 kms on it. It feels powerful, good speed, pretty good on bumps and what not.

The cabin is good. I wish the seats would recline back a bit more. It's a extended cab, not the quad cab, but it has good seats, and the center console is there for storage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2009

2000 Dodge Dakota LST 5.9L V8 Magnum from North America

Summary:

Great other than the paint!

Faults:

Last year I noticed that my paint was fading away on the top of the cab as of yesterday I have noticed it happening all around the whole truck, has anyone else had this issue? The truck is a great truck besides this, it rarely goes into the shop, but other than that it is great! Also we have to put mid grade gas in or the engine will not run as great so it does get very spendy to drive!

General Comments:

This truck has great power, love it for running around time when you need some get up and go but also great in the mountains, can go anywhere I need it to!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2008

23rd Jun 2008, 13:21

Hey, it's a Chrysler product, peeling paint is standard equipment.

6th Nov 2009, 16:06

Have 2000 4x4 Dakota Club Cab and my paint on the roof is also having clearcoat failure. The rest of the paint on the truck looks brand new. I wonder why it is just the roof?

10th Feb 2010, 21:47

Bought Dakota new in 2000, 25000 dollars.

New trans in 2005, 3000 dollars.

Rebuilt rear end 2009, 1000 dollars.

Paint peeling, priceless, oh wait, maybe 4000 grand if I can find a sucker...

2000 Dodge Dakota 3.9 V6 Mag from North America

Summary:

Needs a different motor

Faults:

The only major mechanical problems we have had have been with the transfer case. In started acting up at about 80,000 miles. I blame the previous owners, I believe they drove on the highway in four by four too often. I would like to hear about others experience.

General Comments:

The main problem I had with this truck was its lack of power for its size. The 3.9 is not a bad motor at all, but it is not big enough for that large of a 4x4 truck. The lack of power carries over to the fuel mileage in town and on the highway. I only get between 12-16mpg. This truck with a larger motor like the dodge 318, or even the 4.6 would be a great truck. It is comfortable and rides like a truck should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.9L V6 Magnum from North America

Summary:

A good sized truck for anyone

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong on this car. I've had the same battery for seven years, just recently replaced the filter with a K & N high performance filter, and just recently changed the spark plugs as well, all routine maintenance. The brakes on this truck are the only thing that piss me off, I've had them re-done completely at the dealership twice, and they still squeak and scream every so often. The interior has been kept pretty well, but I replaced the stock floormats with Dodge Racing All Season floor mats just because they look much better and are good for us New Englanders. The Four Wheel Drive has stayed good to me, and the stock tires/wheels have stayed good for these forty thousand miles/seven years as well. The 3.9L engine sounds great to me, and has been able to handle all the jobs I need it to, i.e. towing my tractor, towing small loads, etc. This is a good size truck, because its not to wimpy/small and its not to big or bulky. The gas mileage on this thing does suck though. I'm averaging about sixteen miles to the gallon in this tank, and I keep my filter clean, my oil good, my car well kept up, and my tires full. The freaking 4.7L V8 gets better gas mileage...What the Hell! Anyways, this truck is all in all a good investment and I love driving it.

General Comments:

Truck handles well, and steering is on point.

The engine roars when you fire it up, and sounds very good.

Interior, if kept up well, looks nice even after seven years.

Good performing truck for all of you who are not sure what to buy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2007

30th Apr 2011, 04:56

Only 2 problems with this truck.. after owning mine for almost 11 years... rust around rear wheel wells, and replacing original parts after 7-8 years... 300k. Now good for another 200k if the body will stand up.

I'm a big fan of the 3.9L; fast, has lots of power, will smoke a lot of so called fast cars at the start.