2000 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2000 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

A good looking money trap!

Faults:

The rotors warped and had to be replaced a little after 13,000miles.

Wind shield wipers are not reliable when raining. They quit working after about 10 minutes, in wet weather. The delay on them has never worked right from the beginning.

The cruise control is not reliable. It just goes off on its own.

The truck had to be repainted after 4 months. Big patches of paint were coming off the sides of the bed.

The Dakota is very high for up keep.

General Comments:

The truck looks great since being repainted.

The truck used to not lack in power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

14th Jun 2004, 22:12

Dakotas, and some other trucks/sport-utes by Dodge & Jeep, are known for problems with warping brake rotors. I definitely recommend getting aftermarket upgrades - the stock replacement rotors are of very low quality.

3rd Jun 2010, 10:40

Unfortunately I bought one of these trucks used and it has been a total turd, no power, keeps burning oxygen sensors, even after completely replacing the exhaust, I am lucky to get 13mpg.

2000 Dodge Dakota R/T 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance80325 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The O2 sensor went out at 40,000 miles. The thermostat seized at 60,500 miles and was replaced. The heads were replaced due to warping from truck overheating. Replaced the transmission at 70,000.

General Comments:

Other than the problems stated above this truck was excellent. I loved driving it back and forth from work and home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

28th Mar 2004, 21:08

Uh, reliability of 10/10??? It doesn't look to be that reliable of a truck to me from your description.

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Not as durable as I'd hoped

Faults:

3 of 4 power locks have failed.

Ball joints just went out. I understand this is fairly common with the Dakota and Durango.

General Comments:

I like the truck quite a bit. Gas mileage is getting worse and starting to have some minor problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2003

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

A fast truck, great off road and a step up from a small truck

Faults:

The Cruise control didn't function when I left the dealer. I had to have it fixed three times before they got it right. The Front brake piece jammed up, and was replaced by dealer. The tires that came with the truck worn down quickly just purchased 4 more recently, what an improvement.

General Comments:

A nice truck, quick and reliable so far for me. The V8 engine was a good option and the skid plates and posi rear end help off road. A stiff ride like an off road only truck on any of the cities' street pot holes. I would not purchase any thing, but the V8 version of this truck. Check the options of the truck you purchase and make sure they match your driving needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

2000 Dodge Dakota 4.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

An aggravation

Faults:

Brake booster won't hold vacuum (Took five trips to the dealership to have them fix it)

Pulls to right (They finally checked the alignment at my insistence)

Noisy suspension (Bad springs)

Rotors warped at 12,000 and again at 20,000 miles.

Radiator leaked at 30,000 miles, again at 35,000 and again at 37,000. Dealer lied about replacing radiator at 30,000 (probably just used "stop leak", then at 37,000, Dodge refused to honor parts warranty.

Thermostat failed, 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice riding truck, bought it because of satisfaction with '96 Dakota.

Dodge has some serious problems with the dealers and their service. It seems that they refuse to address them.

In the first year, I had to take it in for service 12 times, rarely did they fix the problems on the first try.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

7th Feb 2005, 19:31

Indeed. The 2005 models fair no better in the area of taking them to the shop for repairs, over and over and...

2000 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance30650 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Summary:

This is a little truck that's tough enough to play with the big boys

Faults:

Suspension is noisy. I think some thing is wrong. I am going to have the dealership inspect it.

Driver seat is comfortable, but gives me back pains on long rides.

I fixed the problem with the seat by removing the lower back adjustment.

Dealer installed a speed limiter @ 95mph.

General Comments:

With the V8 models you can smoke most stock sports cars.

Lots of cargo space with a camper shell.

Good head room in cab.

However the club cab does not fit adults in the back seat comfortably.

All around a very awesome truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 43 reviews