1999 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 21 of 34

1999 Dodge Durango from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Looks good, No brains

Faults:

I would agree that the Durango has a great look, but has major engine and internal problems.

I have replaced the intake manifold gasket twice, both times having to pay for it. To the tune of around 700.00 each time.

I have had 4 sensors go out, including the transmission sensor to tell when to change gears.

I also have a window motor that is bad and the window will not move.

I was also losing antifreeze, this was also fixed at my expense by fixing a small pin hole in the radiator and the gasket also had a very small leak.

I have also had transmission problems that were fixed at my expense.

I have also replace tie rods and bearings at my expense.

I have also noticed that the air conditioner does not work very well and the car does not run very well with the air conditioner on.

General Comments:

Like most others all the things that have gone wrong with my Dodge Durango they have not had complaints on, therefore are not covered and the customer most pay for them. I would agree with most Durango owners that I will never buy another Dodge product for as long as I drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

1999 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The perfect sized SUV, but not for penny pinchers at the gas pump

Faults:

At 50k miles the oil in my Durango started disappearing. I check my oil regularly and I noticed right away. Also, at about the same time, what I thought was the valves, would make a loud ticking noise when I accelerated. When I reached the 60k mark the oil burning was getting pretty bad, 1 quart every 300-500 miles. I never noticed any smoke, just that the oil was missing. Thanks to this site I discovered the problem with the intake manifold gasket on V8 engines. I even found a technical service bulletin from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration on it. Dodge refused to cover the repairs ($550) because I was out of warranty. I found out from the parts guy that they have made new metal gaskets and a thicker plenum pan that bolts on the bottom of the intake to solve this problem.

Long story short: It cost me $100 in dealer parts and 10 hours on a Saturday, but the oil problem and spark knock are fixed.

General Comments:

All that aside, I love driving my Durango and I hope that I won't have any issues with it for many miles to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

28th Dec 2003, 14:20

I had the same oil burning problem with my 99 Durango SLT. 5.9 Liter. The dealer had done all of the oil changes every 3000-3500 miles and no issues. Actually had shavings in the oil when I took it in to have it checked due to loud knocking at 37,000 miles. Service department went to bat and got Dodge to replace the whole motor. It's important to stay on this so it doesn't get to where mine was if you're out of warranty.

17th Jul 2004, 10:51

We have had a clicking noise coming from the dash and couldn't find the problem. The dealer said it was a dirty fuel rail that was causing the problem. It was cleaned and we were told to run 94 octane gas. It still clicks on a load situation a little, but it was improved. Now I know about the manifold problem I will get it replaced.

Thanks for all the comments. I have also put in some Marvel Mystery Oil in the 5.2 engine and it seems to help. The truck is a 1998 Durango 4x4.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Remember - Used means USED!

Faults:

The automatic transmission slips out of overdrive. Many internal parts and sensors were replaced under warranty (65K).

Rear window doesn't operate properly, now is permanently in the up position until the dealer services it.

Transfer case leaked. Fixed under warranty (62K).

General Comments:

I have owned this SUV for about 6 months. I was very happy when I got it, but I am changing my mind since the transmission problem. Previously, I owned a 1996 Neon. I had to have the transmission re-built in that ($1400). I wasn't looking forward to another transmission problem with the Durango. I'm wondering why Dodge can't build a strong transmission. I think this is something Dodge needs to look into!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

21st Jun 2003, 06:43

Dodge and Chrysler used to build the best automatic transmission in the world in the 1960's and 1970's - the

A-727 Torqueflite. That unit was indestructible, but had no place in the modern world of front wheel drive and SUV's.

7th Aug 2003, 16:51

I respect that, but unless you drive a classic car, that doesn't help.

6th Feb 2004, 09:31

I agree with the first comment. Having owned several large Chryslers with the 727 transmission caused me to believe in them. They would be an excellent unit for the 2WD Durango's.

9th Aug 2005, 09:26

I beg to differ. I own a 1986 dodge ram with the 727 trans in it. In five years and 10000 miles I have had it rebuilt 7 times the longest lasting 1 year and the shortest lasting 1 week.

28th Aug 2008, 09:53

The 727 (as you say, virtually indestructible) is a viable unit for the Durango.

A friend who lives in a state that does not require vehicle emissions testing bought a '99 Durango from a neighbor who was thoroughly disgusted after her third engine failure. Body and interior were excellent -- a steal at $500.

A retired stock car racer who was a MOPAR nut gave him a 1970 440 engine with a 727 transmission that had about 25K miles that had come from a wrecked car. Lots of work and a large trash can full of computer junk. His son removed the instrument insert, cut a piece of black anodized plate to fit and installed a mechanical speedometer, temperature and oil pressure gauges, and a real ammeter. Lots of wiring simplification was required to get lights and other goodies working again.

No computer shift -- a steel linkage rod ensures operation. No plastic speed sensors that stop the speedometer, change shift points, cause over revving, etc. The drive shaft required some modification.

The retired racer let them use his exhaust tubing fab equipment and dual exhausts were installed.

Mileage -- pretty poor when taking out Mustangs at red lights! On the interstate, just under 20 MPG cruising at 65.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 123 reviews