1999 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 18 of 34

1999 Dodge Durango SLT + 5.2L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Be very careful, not a car for longevity

Faults:

Various things went wrong under warranty, i.e. fuel pump, upholstery issues. Dealer said fuel pump was from bad gas or it needed a $400.00 cleaning. After the warranty was up at 75,000 a slew of things went wrong. Belt spring tensioner, throttle position sensor replaced, spark plug wires replaced (normal), water pump, fuel sensor. The 4x4 indicator lights are completely out, but the truck will still go into four wheel high. When I try to put it into four wheel low it grinds and rejects the shift. It knocks something fierce, there are transmission bumps, it idles rough, the heater and air conditioner are very weak.

General Comments:

Buy a Toyota and forget your Buy American stuff, I tried it and have lost miserably. This truck gets about 13.5 MPG at best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2004

27th Jul 2004, 14:27

I bought a 1999 Dodge Durango SLT +. This is the worst car I have ever owned! I bought it used 2 1/2 years ago. I was told at the dealership it wasn't under warranty (veh has less than 70,000 miles). Two months after purchase the oil pump went out. Two months after that another oil pump and rear axes problems. Two months later the vehicle the speedometer and idle problems. Then the serpentine belt, transmission, and now the water pump. I can't wait until I get rid of this junk. No more Daimler Chrysler products for me. Its back to my good old brand GMC/Pontiac.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A good all around family hauler

Faults:

The front brake rotors and pads had to be replaced at 40000 miles.

A very slow coolant leak at the intake manifold.

An intermittent squeak from one of the pulleys.

General Comments:

Overall, my family and I love the big 'ol beast. You can put a ton of stuff in it, it pulls like a freight train and it's relatively comfortable.

The fuel mileage is horrible (13 MPG) but what should one expect from a vehicle this large. The infinity sound system is probably one of the best I've heard. The four wheel drive is great in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

8th Jul 2004, 03:04

Are you complaining about brake rotors and pads a 40k miles? I've never had a vehicle that the brakes lasted that long. Letting the pads go that long probably ruined the rotors.

23rd Aug 2009, 01:26

All my cars brake pads and rotors have lasted more than 70,000 miles! I'm a mechanic and I inspect them myself. If your pads are going before 40,000 miles, you drive too hard!

1999 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 5.9L. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56074 miles
Most recent distance67760 miles
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

A beauty except for the engine

Faults:

At 65000 miles transmission speed sensor and ABS sensor go bad. Got it fixed at dealership cost me $211.

At 67000 intake manifold is leaking. Intake plenum gasket blown and oil is being sucked through exhaust pipe. spark plugs are in bad shape. The master cylinder and combustion valve both are leaking brake fluid. brakes are shot. I took it to the dealership, and they said it would cost ME $1,036.64. I haven't gotten it fixed yet because I was going to do the brakes and spark plugs myself.

General Comments:

I love this SUV. It has the best look of any SUV out there. The interior is sweet. Very comfortable. Would love to keep it, but all the little things that keep going wrong are starting to change my mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Appears I have purchased a vehicle with many problems

Faults:

Had to get front end alignment.

Replaced lower ball joint.

Check Engine light is on.

Transmission does not shift into overdrive.

Engine idles rough.

Light on dashboard does not come on when shifted into four wheel drive.

I just purchased this vehicle last week.

General Comments:

Asking other people with similar problems for advise on what they did to solve the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

6th May 2004, 14:38

There is nothing you can do to solve these problems except get rid of the vehicle. But then again, you keep pumping money into it, calling it a good investment, but it's not. 1998 Durango we own has had $13000 in repairs in last 3 years. Basically, it's a Lemon.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 123 reviews