1999 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 15 of 34

1999 Dodge Durango 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance76567 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Wife loves her SUV

Faults:

The speed sensor went out, after the warranty was over. An easy fix, did it my self.

The driver side window went out, replaced it myself at a cost of $126.00.

The brake caliper bolt holes stripped out on front brakes. Dodge sells a fix kit to fix this, but doesn't admit there is a problem.

General Comments:

It drives great, handles and corners like a car more than an SUV.

The engine has performed like a sports car, passing ever thing in its way. Never giving a bit of trouble.

Lots of room inside, but not great comfort in seating.

All and all gas mileage not too bad for what you get from the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2004

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great looking poor service

Faults:

I had to replace my transmission once already, and it still does not feel like it should (rebuilt due to being on back order).

My oil pressure drops to 0 PSI frequently, and I also lose oil within 30 days, and mechanics don't have any idea what is wrong, or where it is going.

I have an oil change done every 3 to 4 thousand miles, and I have a tapping noise when I give the vehicle gas to speed up.

I have filed a complaint with www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/dodge_dur_oil.html and I am not alone in the problems I am having. I pay 525.00 a month for my problems with no support on what to do. If you share similar problems, please contact me at david.weimert@us.army.mil and file a complaint at the above link.

General Comments:

This vehicle looks great and is very comfortable, but is highly lacking in performance. Many people have problems with the engine and oil pressure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

7th Apr 2004, 18:28

My truck ticks when I give it gas as well. I saw on napaonline.com that it may be a lifter, fuel filter, and some other things. I give it the required 87 octane gas (Chevron fuel) and the tick is still there. I have Splitfire spark plugs, and I wonder if that might be the problem??

If you find out the problem, please let me/all of us know with a response.

Thanks.

Steve.

20th May 2004, 09:41

I get the same tick unless I use 93 octane. Premium fuel seems to take care of the problem. I also make sure I run an injector cleaner once a month.

6th Oct 2004, 08:10

Hey I had the same problem with pinging and bad gas mileage, we found out the plenum gasket was blown, causing oil to be sucked up into motor. I would recommend fixing this asap, could cause engine to blow. But replace with new gasket that is metal not the old paper one. Good luck mine has a new problem weekly.

27th Oct 2004, 22:34

Very common problem with this motor. I have had it happen with 2 different ones. Changed it out and the problem was fixed. If you look down the intake (open the throttle when it is off) if it is wet that is the problem.

29th Aug 2008, 13:44

27 October entry is correct. Right now, you have a $36 problem that will require a Saturday morning to repair. Ignore it and you will have a $3600 problem.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A very expensive money machine

Faults:

We purchased the Durango used. I had the vehicle for 2 days and the anti-lock brake motor went, replaced it. Luckily the used dealership replaced it free of charge.

Then after a month of owning the vehicle, l noticed a grinding sound every time l turned a right corner. It ended up being my front left wheel bearing, which cost $700.00 for the part and the labor.

A month later my brake lights went, the connection had fried itself. Which cost me $60.00 to fix and then labor.

Then yesterday as l was turning a corner, half way up a hill my engine blew. Luckily my warranty covers the cost of the engine, but not the cost of all the fluids.

General Comments:

I enjoy the inside of the vehicle, which is all leather and my family finds it very comfortable.

I find it to be terrible on gas. My gas bill can be anywhere from $50.00 to $90.00 a week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 123 reviews