1999 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 16 of 34

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

Junk Motor

Faults:

Extreme motor problems required complete motor replacement.

General Comments:

Dealer did not stand behind the product and sold my truck that lasted less than 4000 miles before the motor blew up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

14th Aug 2004, 18:10

No really sure of which engine you speak, but the Dodge 318 has been around for years and I consider it to be one of the more well built engines around.

7th Dec 2004, 11:33

I have a 1999 Dodge Durango with the V8 and the problems began at 60,000 miles. Motor is terrible. Engine light will not go out. Tac jumps to zero constantly with no pressure, and I'm burning three quarts of oil every two weeks. This despite frequent oil changes. This motor is junk! Avoid at all costs!!!

3rd Mar 2005, 00:16

I just bought a 98 Durango. It was pinging/ticking during acceleration and consuming massive amounts of oil! The plenum gasket was blown, causing oil to be sucked up into the motor. If you haven't fixed this, do it soon!!

It could cause your engine to blow. The old gaskets were made of paper/cardboard and easily blew out. The new gaskets are made of plastic/rubber. My Durango was burning a gallon of oil/month! Thank God for my check gauge light or I'd be stuck with a $6000 problem right now! My oil pressure would go down to 0 when I turned the vehicle, setting off the check gauge light. Check your oil and check it often!! Also, check out this web address for the Technical Service Bulletin about this problem: http://dodgeram.info/tsb/2000/09-05-00.htm.

Jag :)

12th Sep 2007, 12:07

I had just got a 99 SLT 4x2 that I got off of work, and had to get jump started, drove to Tracy and stopped to get gas. I went to start my car again and my car did nothing; it made a clicking noise when I tried to jump it. Guessing it was the starter, I tried it again; turned the key and all the car did was make a clicking noise from the dash; no lights, nothing. I hate this car and the dealer won't help me in any way.

13th Sep 2007, 08:43

Sounds more like a dead battery. It's probably the original one, and has gone dead after 8 years. Maybe used cars are not your cup of tea if a dead battery makes you hate the whole vehicle.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance73687 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Fun to drive, yet expensive to operate

Faults:

Light switch for parking lights didn't work.

Air conditioner "locks up" almost like a vacuum after 2-3 hours of driving.

Ball joints replaced 2 times, (under warranty)

Blew 2 cylinder heads, had to have replaced.

Blew head gasket.

2 windows wouldn't work.

Water pump blew.

General Comments:

Love this vehicle, but would really hesitate to buy another Dodge. Got a great deal from a friend at the dealership. Dealership has been great to work with. The list above is only the partial list of what the Durango has been in the shop for. The only good thing is we always got a loaner to use, not a SUV, though.

I wish we would have known about the faults before we "fell in love" with the looks and drive of the Durango. We were told by the maintenance manager at the service department, that the 1998-2000 were finding "engine problems". Hind sight we wouldn't have purchased the vehicle. But did purchase the extended warranty, Thank Goodness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carDodge S-10 Blazer

Summary:

A high powered, good looking, used-SUV bargain

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong!

Maybe it's because I purchased the truck used, and the previous owner fixed everything?

Or, the dealer I purchased it from repaired and replaced all of the weak points such as steering box, ball joints, and engine sludge?

I did my homework before making the purchase and found that maintenance is very important to this vehicle. I have changed the oil regularly, and I burn regular grade fuel. I use regular 10-30 Castrol oil.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is exactly what I expected. It averages 13 mpg city, and 16 highway.

The interior of the Durango SLT with leather is very comfortable. It's a nice place to be in a raging snowstorm at 1:30a.m. on the way to the ski slopes.

I purchased this Durango with 62,000 miles on it and the steering is smooth and tight. It is a pleasure to drive on twisty mountain roads. The combination of engine power and nice suspension handling make it fun to drive this heavy truck.

Perhaps due to the problems some people are experiencing, and the looming possible recall for balljoint problems, the resale value of the Durango is among the lowest in it's class.

This makes the vehicle a bargain if it's purchased as a "certified" used vehicle, with an extended warranty. I suspect that either the previous owner might have experienced all the problems and repaired them, or the dealer that sold me the vehicle performed a lot of preventive maintenance. Whatever the case, I have driven 30,000+ miles with nothing other than regular oil changes.

My Durango is warranted through 2007 or 162,000 miles. I probably won't keep it that long, but I have had a really carefree ownership period!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

3rd Mar 2004, 18:13

I own a 1999 SLT with 140000 miles. I rebuilt the Transmission at 125K miles, but the truck has run flawless. It has consistently kept 17mpg highway and 13 city. It pulls my 7000lb trailer wonderful. Consumer reports rated this vehicle very good for 1999 and 2000. I have the 5.9L V8 and wouldn't have another engine. It is VERY comfortable and has been across the country 4 times. I would recommend it too anyone.

10th Apr 2004, 13:17

I bought my 1999 Durango SLT+ 4x4 5.9 last year (Jul'03) from eBay - I love it!!

Only problem I've had was the driver's window quit working after I tried to maneuver it with thick ice and snow on it.

I've had it 9 months now and at 68,000 miles it's a great/fun vehicle. Loved driving/playing in the MD/DE snow this past winter - not much snow in south Alabama.

Towed a loaded 6x12 trailer from Delaware to Mobile, AL via West Virginia and it handled the mountains great!

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 123 reviews