1999 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 33 of 34

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance29983 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Giant waste of money!

Faults:

I used to be somewhat pleased with my Durango. However, I just had the engine blow on me. The dealer has told me that I did not take care and maintain my truck. That's a load of crap, I had the oil and filter changed every 3-6,000 miles.

I was told that they found sludge in the engine and that the only way that happens is if I didn't change the oil and filter. I have found others on the Internet with the same issue. There is a class action lawsuit regarding this issue.

General Comments:

Do not buy this vehicle, unless you want to buy another engine for it. Chrysler is not warrantying this vehicle for a blown engine!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

5th Jun 2001, 09:20

I am really wanting an SUV with a third seat, but do not want to buy a 30,000 dollar vehicle. Thanks to these horrible details on Durango... I will not be looking at Durangos. Maybe I should save for a Toyota Sequoia. Thanks for your time to let others know.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance18980 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

An expensive liability

Faults:

First, due to an annoying noise which the dealer only heard after three visits, the front drive shaft was replaced.

Now, the rear passenger window doesn't work. When we reported it as malfunctioning, we were told to wait a little longer, they knew what the problem was and it would get worse!

We have also had difficulty with the brakes on downhill slopes. The truck keeps going as the brakes lock up.

General Comments:

Although I am quite comfortable in the car and it does perform well in snowy weather, I'm not pleased that a 1 and 1/2 year old car of this cost is so flawed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A problem waiting to happen

Faults:

All was great for about a year and a half. Now I have had the truck in the shop four times for the same problem. The check engine light comes on and it doesn't shift properly. Sometimes if I turn it off and restart it the light goes off and it drives fine. Then the next time it would come on again and shift terribly.

The first dealership said there is nothing wrong. Then they said the gas cap wasn't on tight enough. It was on tight. Then they supposedly fixed it. Two weeks later the same thing went wrong. Fixed it again and three days later the check engine light is on and it doesn't shift correctly.

General Comments:

I leased a new car so I wouldn't have these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2000

13th Aug 2002, 01:08

I would recommend taking your Durango somewhere where they can run a diagnostic test. Even if the check engine light goes off, still take it in. The computer stores the information codes for a certain length of time (I think 2 weeks) or 25 turns of the key. I know Auto Zone will check your codes for free, or the dealer or service station will probably do it for about 75 dollars, or you can buy the control yourself for about 300 dollars.

Hope this helps,

E-How.

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles

Summary:

Poor reliability

Faults:

Very poor gas mileage, eats oil almost as fast as it eats gas, bad engine ping noise no matter what type of fuel is used.

General Comments:

Disappointed with this purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

22nd Feb 2001, 11:55

Anyone out there who owns a 99-2001 Durango with a 5.2 or 5.9 be advised, there is an intake manifold leak involving the plenum gasket that allows oil to leak into the intake manifold. This causes big time oil consumption and spark knocking in the engine. If not corrected or monitored closely WILL result in engine failure. If your Durango is eating oil see you dealer right away. Why Dodge hasn't done a recall on this I'll never know!

1999 Dodge Durango SLT 360 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 360 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance27450 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Lemon doesn't even begin to describe this car

Faults:

Have problems with both Dodge vehicles, but with the Durango:

Paint peeling.

Brakes squeaking.

Auto-windows not working.

Front end pulls to the right.

A/C not working well.

More importantly, 4wd does not engage unless we stop, put it in reverse, and back into drive. We live in 6 months of snow, so this is not a good option!!! Have taken it to the dealer 4 times for this, and they cannot find the answer.

General Comments:

We have every option available, and I think that for a 40k sticker price, it would be a better car. Give me back my beat up 86 Toyota 4wd!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

19th Mar 2004, 14:05

I recently purchased a 1999 Dodge Durango with 65K miles. I also purchased an extended warranty. I have noticed NONE of the problems I have been reading about here. Everything seems pristine on this vehicle. It is beautiful, drives so easily. I felt I got a great deal on this vehicle. NO complaints at this time.

29th Aug 2005, 21:33

Front end pull...

Wow, alighnment maybe? You might want to try doing a front wheel alignment.

Squealing brakes? Um, new rotors or pads? Maybe the brakes are worn out. Since they usually make noise when they need replacing. And if you think the brakes failed prematurely, then you might want to start driving the right way.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 123 reviews