2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SE Plus 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Good basic transportation

Faults:

Center row cup holder broken 20,000.

Middle row seats show some wear.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of room, the stow and go seats are easy to opperate and create a huge area for cargo.

The 3.3 engine provides okay power, but would suggest getting the 3.8 instead.

The driver seat gets a little uncomfortable on long trips.

My gas mileage average city/highway combined is 22 mpg. Not too bad compared to my previous SUV's.

The Dodge Grand Caravan may not be as refined as the foreign minivans, but they can be a great bargain if you find a one year old model with low mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

5th Sep 2006, 00:55

This guy's other car is probably a horse.

My 2004 loaded to the hilt grand caravan has only 18,000 miles on it and it is only worth $15000. no repairs yet, but who cares when it has so much road noise and cabin noise that you have to bring earplugs to stand it. Oh and by the way the 3.8L is a dog too.

25th Sep 2006, 21:55

Two couples that are good friends of ours have each owned 2 Grand Caravans since the mid 80's. Nothing much about them impressed me... except the fact that all went over 240,000 miles with virtually zero problems. I don't like vans, but if I did I wouldn't buy anything else. I don't know many vehicles that hold up like that, foreign or domestic.

12th Aug 2007, 13:48

2005 GC SE. 51k, CPO vehicle:

So far none of the annoying issues with older models have creeped up. We have had good experiences with the dealers around here, as well. Two things that have happened:

1. The sway bar bushings were replaced to cure the dreaded front end clunk (warranty repair)

2. My CEL is now throwing a P0406 code. This seems to be a very common problem, regardless of year.

I agree with the comments about comfort and durability of the interior, neither of which is very good. However, what do you expect from what amounts to an appliance? Good analogy, due to being white with gray interior. This also presents another drawback. Try finding your white GC in a crowded Walmart or mall parking lot sometime. These things are everywhere.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

Outstanding

Faults:

Not one solitary thing at all.

General Comments:

This has been a fantastic vehicle.

We have 19000 trouble free miles on this van.

The DVD Entertainment system with wireless head phones is a must if you have kids as is the power lift gate and side doors.

Power from the 3.8L V6 is crisp and responsive.

Stowe and Go seating is awesome!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8 GAS from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 GAS Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 kilometres
Most recent distance76000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The power train sucks and it's a North American piece of you-know-what..

Faults:

Transmission is apart on dealership bench as I write this. Symptoms included jerkiness from take off, clunking when foot lifted off gas pedal. Both front air bag sensors have failed. Headlights turn off intermittently for some reason. Radio was also replaced once because it would turn off on it's own.

Not all has been covered under MFG warranty because of mileage (3 yr / 60K) complete warranty and 5 / 100 power train.

My next vehicle will NOT BE A DODGE! I owned a Honda Civic that I beat the "#&^$" out of and it never gave me problems like this. And this is a $38000 CD vehicle!!!

General Comments:

Don't buy one...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

10th Feb 2006, 17:50

Well, given these vehicles have had 22 years of horrible reliability that has been reported in endless places including Consumer Reports, you have only yourself to blame.

10th Feb 2006, 20:01

Consumer Reports is not exactly the most accurate source for reliability reports. They always rate the precious Japanese cars highly and dump on most American cars. It is most probable that this van started out life as a rental and suffered abuse at the hands of multiple renters and lack of maintenance from the rental company.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT 3.8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

A very reliable and comfortable family vehicle

Faults:

Weatherstripping at the bottom of the passenger door had come loose.

Excessive brake dust causing rims to stain a bit. It's frequently washed as well!

DVD screen hinges creek a bit when it's cold outside.

General Comments:

Stowe and go seating is awesome!

Automatic opening/closing doors and hatch are way too cool and oh so convenient when your hands are full.

Overall this van has been a very reliable, comfortable and economical vehicle for my family and I.

Has good power from the 3.8L V6.

Transmission shifts flawlessly.

Radio steering wheel controls are a must as is the DVD system with the wireless headsets, if you have kids!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Slow, but nice

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I had a Grand Caravan before. I love them. It's a slow van, but I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 28 reviews