1998 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 10 of 23

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Great car overall, very little problems, but problems are a little costly

Faults:

Not long after buying this car new from the dealer, the window wouldn't roll down, I think on the passenger's side, but really can't remember now. Fixed under warranty. The only REAL problem I've had with this car is the front brake rotors and some front wheel bearing issues. Bearings have been replaced twice I think, and rotors maybe 3 times. OEM rotors lasted around 80,000 miles, replacement set lasted maybe 20,000. This last set a little more. I also have a windshield washer pump fail and the light for the console flashes some in the day, like it is switching from high to low intensity on it's own. Otherwise the car has been great. Roomy and peppy, but I have to say the handling isn't that great. It's decent handling for a big car, but handling in general isn't great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2005

1998 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Looks nice

Faults:

My motor went without warning.

General Comments:

I always gave this car the required oil changes and the motor just went one day without warning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

26th Mar 2012, 18:41

It didn't go anywhere. It just went. Without warning.

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 Liter from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Faults:

My prior Dodge Intrepid had the same problem with the Rack/Pinion...I was able to replace just the 2 bushings, and didn't have further problems with the steering. That Intrepid was a 1997 model. I have just purchased (from my best friend) her 1998 Intrepid, with meticulous maintenance records. This car is just beautiful, and looks brand new. I haven't even gotten the tags for this car, and just added it to my Insurance, yet it is just sitting in my driveway. The radiator fans both went out, within a few miles of each other, and the AC no longer blows cold. I read one review, and noticed that others have had the same problems with the fans. Could it possibly be just the fuse with the AC? A cheap part? Please say yes...I'm glad I haven't sold my Toyota, that is a visually disturbing car, but as reliable as UPS... I get in it, it cranks, it goes. Go, Toyota! Boo, Chrysler!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2005

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 - V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 - V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance79600 miles

Summary:

It is junk!!!

Faults:

Air conditioner failed at 61000 miles; started eating oil at 61,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car was very dependable until 61,000 miles; and then it came apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

1998 Dodge Intrepid 4 Door 2.7 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired27500 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport Van

Summary:

Should have purchased another brand

Faults:

Heater blower motor failed 3 times - replaced under warranty.

Started failed twice - replaced under warranty.

When outside temp. is hot, all electrical components in car's interior fail. I.E. no turn signals, no lights, no fan and no air conditioner, electric windows and door locks don't operate. Car has been to Dodge shop twice while under warranty, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. Once car cools off (leaving all doors open), the above items will function.

Car started burning oil at 78,000 miles and trailing blue smoke from exhaust. Oil & oil filter changed every 3000 - 4000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Spectrum

Summary:

Nice to look at, but don't buy one?

Faults:

Was Just about to buy one used, 98 SE with 86k miles loaded, runs great and looks even better, $5500.00...

General Comments:

I will call the dealer and tell him no thanks! This site influenced my decision not to buy this car... Thanx to the many postings and I'm grieved at your agony...thomas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80253 miles
Most recent distance82785 miles

Summary:

Very nice car, Mechanically challenged..

Faults:

I changed the oil the next week after I bought the vehicle. I put well over 3 quarts of oil back into the engine even after the initial 5.5 quarts that it required on the oil change.

The only thing I really had a problem with was the engine; I didn't really own it long enough to see any other problems.

The timing chain broke partially, causing an extremely annoying rattle from the engine (not a rod bearing). It was also smoking very badly. Soon after that, the engine locked up.

The valve seals went bad causing the car to smoke.

The Mitsubishi 2.7L Engine installed with the car had serious engineering flaws in the head. The oil delivery spouts going to the top of the valves were way to small causing the head sludge up.

General Comments:

I owned the car for 2 1/2 months and the motor blew. From what I've heard from other people, this car has a junk motor in it. I talked with a local Dodge dealer about the problem and the mechanic said that he changed 3-4 2.7L engines a month. Later that day, I was flipping through the AutoTrader and I found 12 Dodge Intrepids with blown motors. Seems to be a real problem with Dodge.

For the good points, interior is great, rides like a dream. Very nice interior, stock stereo system is very nice. The feel of the car was very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

13th Dec 2005, 12:03

Well it is a good review, but I can tell you right off the start why the motors lower then the 3.5 blow it is because the oil pickup sits to low in the reserve and no one cahnges there oil at the right time so it cloggs up and blows. Hope that helps you.

12th Jun 2006, 13:39

I have a 1997 intrepid with a 3.5L and I must say I'm impressed... i have no problems with the motor at all... i always ride it to the floor and still no problem.. i have 103k miles and it still runs like a dream... i put a 45 horse chip... cold air intake...exhaust...and it MOVES... love my car... not getting rid of it for a while...

13th Jul 2006, 16:27

I just bought this car today actually, been looking at it for a while, and it's been well taken care of and I plan to do so as well, I'll keep you posted in a while about it.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews