1998 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 8 of 23

1998 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117388 miles
Most recent distance140005 miles

Summary:

Performs Great

Faults:

On my car the head gaskets blew at 117k because of a leaking water pump. As to a prior comment the oil too looked like peanut butter which was the best indication that something was wrong with the head gasket. After these were replaced the car has performed beautifully.

General Comments:

The car is great. I do a lot of freeway driving and it holds up to it and the gas mileage is good too. I have recently experienced increased oil consumption which has been a common problem with Chrysler's products, but that doesn't bother me. In response to who else has posted here you need to use a HIGH QUALITY grade of oil nothing cheap. Also with the oil consumption do you not know how to check the oil, maybe its not sludge. I now have 140k miles and it is still running great. Good luck to the rest of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

25th Apr 2006, 14:52

I'm convinced that only synthetic oil should be used with some of Chrysler's products. I wonder if the cheap oil Chrysler dealerships no doubt use has anything to do with these sludge buildups I've been reading about?

26th Mar 2012, 18:33

I use Valvoline 5W30 conventional, with changes every 4 months or 4,000 miles. And I have over 150,000 miles on my 2.7L.

18th Nov 2012, 10:12

I have a 1998 Intrepid, and runs beautiful at 175,000 miles. The only thing wrong with mine is it needs the spark plugs and wiring changed... but she still runs smooth.

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 V^ from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 V^ Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance109700 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

I was expecting more!!!

Faults:

Changed starter at 90000. $400.

Radiator blew at 100000 $ 300 (I changed it myself)

Changed both fans after they went bad (myself)

Had a knocking sound that has been getting louder in time, up to the point in which I am afraid I might get a piston coming out of the oil pan. Really bad.

General Comments:

Besides the engine problems it seems like a great car, really fun to drive, and until recently, reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance80778 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This car was well worth the money, and looks a lot better than many of the box like cars today

Faults:

Radiator replaced at 75.000 miles.

General Comments:

The car was priced modestly for all the extras.

It is pretty fast compared to many cars this size and handles well.

It has been - knock on wood - reliable except for the radiator.

It can cruise at 100 plus all day or until the state police find you. I don't do that very much.

I go along with the other ES owners completely!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22900 miles
Most recent distance82983 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

I get very good gas mileage on a 3.2 motor

Faults:

Had to replace front and back brakes.

Had to replace the starter at 82,983.

General Comments:

This car is quick and handles very well on curves.

Get very good gas mileage - 29 miles per gallon. Went on a 1,200 trip last June to Upper Michigan was very happy with performance.

Seats a little uncomfortable for my back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

1998 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

They are the worst of the worst

Faults:

I have a 98 Dodge Intrepid ready to be repossessed. I bought the car in 2001 with 53000 miles on it. 2 years later the engine blew with no warning as I was getting off I-95. It cost me $4.200 to replace the engine. A year later the 2nd engine blew and again with no warning as I was driving on I 95. I replaced the engine again at $2400 because I still owed money on my loan. The second engine lasted about another year and now overheats after driving it for a half hour. I took it to the mechanic and he said that the heads are bad and the engine is cracked. I will not put a 3rd engine in this car. I still owe $5000 on my loan and can't afford to pay for it any more since I went and bought a 2001 Honda that I need to get to and from work.

General Comments:

These cars are a true nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews