1998 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 13 of 23

1998 Dodge Intrepid STD 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

I bought my car at 95,000 miles.

I have a 2.7 liter.

I am loosing quart after quart of oil.

AC just went out

Car shakes when being started.

Belt sqeels when reversing.

After reading posts on this site I just put my car up for sale.

General Comments:

It is now up for sale

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

I'll never own a Dodge again

Faults:

Two sensors went out causing the car to stay in limp mode.

Developed smoke when starting. However, after a couple of minutes it was gone. Could not tell where or why there was smoke.

Started using about a half a quart of oil every other day. There wasn't any oil dripped on the garage floor so we weren't sure where it was going.

Most recent happening is the engine is now shot. The mechanic says it will cost about $5300. to replace it.

General Comments:

The car performed wonderfully when we first got it.

The engine seems to be the only problem with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

10th Aug 2004, 12:36

I would say 118,000 miles out of the original engine is a good deal. Suck it up and buy a new car!

1998 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 cu in from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 cu in Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70469 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carDodge 76 Chrysler Cordoba

Summary:

Smooth riding car

Faults:

Camshaft position sensor went out, had it replaced on May 29th 2004.

May 30, 2004, engine slings a rod out the oil pan.

General Comments:

The car rides smoothly, and Love the way it handles. The engine on the other hand is sorry. 2.7 cu in engine. Just bought the car to replace two older cars that has over 300,000 miles and decided to buy the Intrepid and was expecting to last for 4 yrs. Now I am faced with an outrageous bill to have the engine replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

1998 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L from Mexico

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance111000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

High maintenance, but great looking

Faults:

Radiator fans had to be replaced at 37,000 miles.

Radiator exploded and had to be replaced at 56,000 miles.

Transmission pan is leaking, had to get the gaskets replaced.

Started to shut down by itself whenever it wants after 65,000 miles, at least once a day, it will start 5 to 10 minutes later. Dealer does not know the failure and computer does not show errors or failure codes.

It is overheating without prior notice, temp level shows under middle and starts blowing steam out of the filling reservoir, it corrects by itself when you turn air conditioning on. Started at 59,000 miles. Dealer does not know how to get it fixed, they took out the thermostat and still is doing it.

Automatic Temperature control device will not light up, but it works, now I have to guess the temp I want instead of looking at the numbers on the screen. Started after 50,000 miles.

Had to replace rear struts, basically had to remove rear seats, and almost everything and also the speakers to get to the bolts that secure the struts. It was done at 68,500 miles.

General Comments:

The engine is 3.2 and works great, silent, but powerful, has enough power.

It's quick to response on driving rough roads and has great stability.

Comfortable, roomy, leather seats gives you great sense of luxury, all devices extra like electrocromic mirror and Automatic Temperature Control, gives you extra features that other cars don't have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

21st Sep 2005, 12:36

As I posted on another web site, my 1994 Dodge Intrepid has blown two radiators and the dealer does not know how to resolve it. I patched the radiator with tape; I fill it once a day and drive short distances. There must be someone at Chrysler who knows what is causing it, because many other Dodge owners have run into this problem. It is likely an engineering issue and it would have been too expensive to fix during production. Otherwise it has been a great car; good mileage, very comfortable, and reasonably reliable. The car now has 150K miles on it; way beyond what Dodge had envisioned and what I expected.

5th Oct 2007, 18:54

I have a 1998 Dodge Intrepid ES. I haven't had any major problems with it except for the fact that neither one of the rear windows will roll down, and the rear speakers deteriorated in sound quality all of a sudden one day. I have absolutely no clue how to even get to the speakers either. But other than these minor (yet annoying) problems, the car has been great.

18th Jun 2011, 00:09

Pull down the rear seats and look up with a light. You will see infinity 6 by 9s. That's how to get to them, and replacing them is a piece of cake after you find them.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews