1999 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America


Here's one Intrepid that is doing just fine!


Front passenger power window motor failed at 85k miles.

Speed sensor was replaced at 80k miles.

General Comments:

After reading all the negative reviews about the '99 Intrepid, I feel I'm either very lucky or just take care of a vehicle better than the average person.

For those who bought the Intrepid used with 20k-60k miles, I think a fact that a lot of you fail to realize is the Intrepid was one of the top five mid-size cars that were used in the rental car business.

Anybody care to comment on how the average rental car is driven? A couple words come immediately to my mind... abuse and neglect. These Intrepids were driven at high rpm on a cold engine, started and stopped abruptly, braked hard constantly, and were basically beaten on a daily basis.

I'm sure the typical Rent-a-Car agency didn't ensure the oil was changed exactly at the 3k mile mark either... although that's speculation on my part - but I bet I'm right.

I bought my Intrepid used with 24k miles... the dealer was honest enough to tell me that those miles were put on from being a rental. I checked it over and went for it. That was 70k miles ago and haven't had any major problems whatsoever.

It's all how you take care of things...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

18th Jan 2006, 14:22

While your rental car theory is plausible, the volume of engine complaints versus number of units sold would indicate a predisposition for severe problems including failure. If your theory were true there would be an enormous number of engine complaints about rental fleet models such as the Taurus or the other three you referred to. I purchased my ’99 Intrepid new and had to replace the engine at 57,560 miles. I can assure you that it was not treated or maintained like a rental car unless it happened one of countless times it has been in the shop.

18th Jan 2006, 21:14

Dodge should just scrap their intrepids and make some more neons IMO from the scrap.

19th Jan 2006, 13:43

I have a 1999 Intrepid with 125k miles on it. The only thing that's not working is the AC that stopped working last summer (2005)

2nd Mar 2006, 08:34

My '99 Intrepid was purchased in 2002 with 37,000 miles on it from a single previous owner - not rental agency. The engine and transmission have been great - always good power and good shifting. I've put over 140,000 miles on my car in 3 1/2 years, and I'm not the sanest driver in the world. I do keep up the maintenance well, and use Valvoline Syn-Tech oil, but I like using my 200 horses often, too. Maybe I'm blessed, or maybe ALL automakers and cars have their share of lemons. No matter what you buy, you'll find someone out there who hates it and would never buy another one.

16th Jul 2008, 21:41

You are a lucky one, I have a Probe with 312000 miles on it that has been through 3 teenage drivers and still going strong, and hasn't needed oil for a year plus, or had it changed. Can't kill this thing.

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 V6 from North America


Great car -- if you're a masochist


The fuel filter went out, and was impossible to replace.

The battery went dead, and was impossible to replace.

The engine blew, because it's a piece of crap.

General Comments:

This was such a beautiful and spacious car. It handled and ran GREAT on the test drive, but I've had nothing, but trouble with it ever since.

The fuel FILTER is located on the end of the fuel pump, so rather than a $15 in-line filter replacement, I had to fork out $125 and take the fuel tank out of the bottom of the car.

Right after that, the battery went dead, leaving me stranded. After removing the air filter, a mass of wires, and bending the wheel wall, I was able to remove the battery.

Now, thanks to a lack of oil (how -- I don't know, I replace every 2500 miles), and no warning, the engine is destroyed.

This car was a big investment for a college student, and has caused nothing, but STRESS! It is a great looking and (when running) a great running car, but... I will never buy another Chrysler-made vehicle again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

9th Jan 2006, 21:54

The engine promotes sludge even with good oil changing habits and the tranny is just as bad. Look to Chrysler to show the world what we're made of.

10th Jan 2006, 18:19

I understand the trauma of having your car quit, so please don't take this as mockery of your pain, but... You bought a used car that had 128,000 miles put on it in only 5 years. That's some hard driving, especially when you don't know how the previous owner maintained it. I agree that the in-tank fuel filter is an annoyance, but a relatively minor one at $125. Nor can you really blame the dead battery on the car, especially if it was the original and lasted five years for the original owner. Batteries wear out every 5 years and need to be replaced. That's too bad about the engine, but again, the previous owner drove it hard in a short time. In fact, the original owner probably has only good things to say about this car. You took a chance on buying a relatively new car, figuring you were getting a deal because it had high miles. You misjudged. That is really no reason to condemn every Chrysler forever.

20th Feb 2006, 21:50

125,000 in 5 years is not hard driving. I have a Intrepid that I put 168,000 miles on it in 5 years. I travel from state to state on my job and drive 90% highway. I am very meticulous in my maintenance. I got 75,000 on factory tires and 88,000 on replacements. I got 110,000 on the orig factory brakes. I have a fleet of over 110 vehicles at work. My point is mileage is not as important as the history and how it is driven. I have had more problems with my Intrepid than with any other vehicle I have ever owned. By the same token I got out of a Toyota Camry with 300K+ on it. The only failure I ever had was 1 timing belt that broke. I sold the car to a kid in college and he drove it another 3 years before he was hit and totaled the car. Dodge has had way too many issues with this car mainly around the engine and they know it and know it well. It will take a lawsuit like FORD had with the Windstar Vans with their engine to get folks back some hard earned money they lost due to this car.

4th Apr 2006, 15:55

Highway driving, on a car, is probably the least harmful to an engine, its the CITY driving that really beats it, stopping, going, stopping, going... on the highway its get up to speed and cruise.