1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 from North America


Its a nice family car.


I purchased the vehicle, (2.7 Liter), six months ago and have not had any problems with the vehicle. At the time of purchase, I changed the engine oil & filter, transmission oil & filter, air filter, resurfaced the rotors, installed new brake pads, and had the tires balanced and rotated. The only thing that I have noticed is that the steering does not seem as tight as other cars that I have driven.

General Comments:

I purchased the car in January 2006 for $3,400. The interior is in excellent condition and the exterior is in good condition, (no dents, just a few scratches). The car has been very dependable and an excellent second vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 from North America


Beware of the Intrepid


Back windows radiator

Driver front window off hinge

Tie rods (twice)



All inside lights eight don't work or they flicker like strobe lights

Blinkers and back lights burn out very quickly

Air conditioner does not cool when driven for more than 10 minutes.

General Comments:

If I could go back in time and would have listened to my father about buying an Intrepid, I would have ran out of the dealership before signing my future paychecks away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

1999 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America


Precision engineering = One Great Car!


I replaced the battery @ 89,000 miles and the brakes @ 52,000 miles and again @ 108,000 miles.

General Comments:

I've owned many cars in my lifetime, but the Intrepid is far and away the best experience I've had! Other than replacing the brakes and a battery, I have had no problems with this car in 167,000 miles! It still looks and drives like new and doesn't use a drop of oil. I especially like the taut handling for such a large car. Great job, Chrysler!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

1999 Dodge Intrepid base 2.7 liter from North America


I anticipate this car being a problem I can't afford


The fan motor and fan blade seized up, and fused together. I have never seen anything like this.

The engine light keeps coming on and the mechanic shop tells me if it happens again, I may need new injectors at 160 dollars a piece, plus labor, which brings me to a grand total of 1400 hundred dollars.

I am praying that nothing else goes wrong with this car. Please God, I can't afford anything else.

This car has cost me 1500.00 dollars in just owning it for a week and a half.

General Comments:

When it's working the car runs great.

Handles remarkably well for a large automobile.

Great pickup and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

17th May 2006, 08:22

Good time to find out your car might have serious reliability issues, huh?

There is no secret about the 2.7 sludging.

1999 Dodge Intrepid from North America


I love it, yet I hate it.


Speed sensor replaced.

Front brakes replaced.

Leaks in radiator fluid.

Thermometer replaced.

Need to put in oil every 1000 miles.

Heat only works on high.

AC went out two years ago.

Engine needed to be replaced 145,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love my intrepid, and for the most part and with some minor repairs, it has been good to me. My parents bought it slightly used 6 years ago. There has been no major repairs until my engine recently failed on me. I noticed that my intrepid had a lot of the same problems of others on this site. Labor costs are always higher because this engine was built without ease of repair in mind, or completely backwards as I have heard mechanics say. I am not sure if I will replace the engine, but I will admit to some heartache and not being able to drive my car anymore, except on those sunny 90 degree days when there was no a/c.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L from North America


Good running car with some mechanical problems


I just had the speed sensor go out at 90,000 miles and replaced it. Mine is the 1999 intrepid with the bigger engine and I was driving along when the speedometer stopped working and the car began lurching and stalled out.

Two weeks previous the master brake cylinder went out along with a vacuum booster - another $500 for this.

I have had problems with the drivers side window since I bought the car in 2000. The door has been taken apart many times to fix the window. All the other windows in the car appear OK so far.

General Comments:

Other than problems above nothing major and I love the bigger engine on the Intrepid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

12th May 2006, 14:21

Be careful with the 2.7L engine... after so many miles it tends to get sludge build up, and can literally require a rebuild. There a TON of reviews on this site of Chrysler products with this particular engine. And quite a few of them detail the problem.

16th May 2006, 20:22

I have a Dodge 99 Intrepid with the 2.7 engine, and the speedometer stopped working, and my transmission wouldn't shift into a higher gear. Towed the car to Ammco, told me nothing wrong externally, transmission would need rebuilding for 2000 dollars.

Towed the car to my uncles, hoist in the air. Took a chance on an Internet site and was told may be a sensor. Changed the output sensor and the car runs fine; I do not understand how how a car like this could be so screwed up.

Thanks for this web site.

17th May 2006, 12:16

I own a 99 Intrepid with a 2.7 engine. I was hearing a knocking noise in the car. Took it in and they said that my timing chain had to be replaced (The whole kit). My window on the passenger side has stopped working and needs to be replaced. I now get frequent oil changes because every time that I am idled or come to a stop the oil light pops on. Per this website that means that there is sludge in the engine, but I was told there was not, so I will continue to get oil changes more often then normal to try to maintain the engine to the best of my ability. I think that this is absurd for so many people to be having the same problem. I am a single parent of 5 children and can't afford to be without or purchase another vehicle.

20th May 2006, 10:21

I'm a mobile mechanic and currently working on 4 dodge intrepids with the 2.7 doing the exact same things described on here. What it is the motors are made to have high dollar synthetic oil (standard oil builds sludge). The sludge from the oil causes damage to the rod bearings then drops oil pressure, releases the timing belt tensioner, jumps timing bends the valves. So if you don't want to go through rebuilding the whole motor (if not excessively damaged) replace rod bearings, oil pump, and valves. Also from what I hear there is a class action lawsuit against dodge for these cars.