1999 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 7 of 51

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Decent Budget family sedan if maintained

Faults:

Transmission speed sensor, Cam sensor, Heater Fan resistor, Oil pan gasket, Water outlet.

General Comments:

I had a long adjustment period going from a Town Car to the Intrepid. The car is cheaper to drive and has almost as much room. The car is slightly underpowered with the 2.7L engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

1999 Dodge Intrepid Es Base 2.7L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

A nightmare on 4 wheels!!!

Faults:

The car was fine until the summer of 2006 we replaced the rack & pinion. Got that fixed in Jul 2006. Now here it is Mar 2007 and Now the car has to have a new fuel pump, fuel injectors, and the spark plugs replaced. Also about 8 mos ago the airbag light came on and they can't tell me why. We have replaced the fuses. I love Dodge cars I was raised up on them. I own a 2004 Dodge Stratus and I have no problems yet with my car. But this intrepid is becoming a headache. The idle tension Pulley just fell off. Lucky the car doesn't need that to run. I have kept the maintenance up on this car. Why all these headaches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2007

9th Mar 2007, 10:00

Hate to say this about an Intrepid, I love my 93 E/S with a 3.5 engine, but! Check out some of the Intrepid web sites, the 2.7 engine is the last engine you want in your car.

At 90,000 miles it's time to decide if you want to keep this car, or get one like it with a different motor.

I you're a good hobby mechanic you can swap a 3.3 or 3.5 engine in. Get a good one from a wrecking yard and you're looking at around $700 for the engine and a hundred or so for supplies.

If you decide to hang in there with the 2.7 get the best oil you can, and don't put off the oil changes. The big problem with the 2.7 is heat, and the oil gets cooked and forms sludge that reduces oil flow, and will take out your timing chain. Finally, at this mileage, if the timing chain hasn't been replaced, have it done, save yourself the possible bent valves when it does go out.

1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Maintenance is the key

Faults:

OK here it is, oil change every 3,000 mile no engine problems, use pen 10w30.

All windows do not work, look about half way down the center of the doors inside or outside of the door. Hit the doors about 3 or 4 times hard, but do not dent the door outside. Doing this will break loose the main motor bar, the windows will work. Preventive use; windows every week, all down, all up.

Electrical problems; it's best to change your own battery. When replacing the battery, DO NOT SHORT OUT THE BATTERY. Put the cables on fast and correctly, meaning no sparks.

DO NOT JUMP START ANYONE with this car.

The rest of problems are normal wear and tear depending on the drivers.

I bought this car new and had no problems. 1999 Dodge Intrepid es 3.2L 00000. 8 now 78,000 miles.

Follow your manual that's in the glove box, and use only transmission fluid from the dealer, which is special for dodge/Chrysler trans. (:

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

22nd Feb 2007, 22:33

Why would you be needing to add transmission fluid at only 78,000 miles?? My last Dodge went 240,000 miles before I sold it (still running perfectly) and had never had a fluid change or any added.

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Worthless

Faults:

We bought the car used, after 6 months both the windows on front stopped going up or down. The local dealership quoted $400 plus to fix. The oil light comes on when pressing on brake. Each time we had the oil changed we had to argue with the place doing it that it only took 5 quarts of oil not 7. Finally one of the places we took to get oil changed told us that there was problem with this motor. The technician said the oil pan was too close to the exhaust system, thereby cooking the oil and causing the oil not to drain back down and would eventually cause the motor to blow up. The oil dip stick always read low even after the oil changes. When we tried to trade the car back in where we bought it from (9) payments left till pay off, they said they could not take it as trade in because they had learned that there was a problem with this motor.

General Comments:

The car rides great and is a joy to drive.

Just that the motor blew up 11-12-06 as result of previous mentioned problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2006

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 185 reviews