1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


A financial and family wrecker


The engine slowed down, The engine light came on and it died all within 10n seconds.

General Comments:

This car was great until I spent $5000.00 for just 6 months and lost it all. A new engine according to the dealer will cost me $7500.00 or used $5500.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

4th Mar 2004, 00:58

My husband, a master machinist and I bought a used Dodge Intrepid in 2003. It was a 2000 model and we got it for a very good price, or so we thought. At 58,000 miles on the odometer, we felt the car was capable of giving us years of usage. Much to our surprise, the engine seized at 62,000 miles. We took pictures of the engine when we took it apart for rebuilding. We would be glad to share this experience with any interested party as these photos are shocking. The engine and all of its' components were not just caked with oil sludge, the sludge was actually curling away in vicious sheets from all internal parts. We had a full maintenance background and did a complete search of ownership prior to purchase. We were equally surprised to learn from a local certified engine rebuilder that this is a common occurance in all Dodge and Chrysler models of cars built between 1998 and 2001. The auto manufacturer claims no liability and guarantees the engine for only 36,000 miles or three years. The problem usually developes between 50 to 75 thousand miles. We have replaced the engine and have learned from this experience. We will never make this mistake again. Manufacturers should stand by their products. Research your purchase because you will be their next victim.

18th Nov 2005, 11:37

Simple oil changes according to the manufacturer's recommendation would avoid engine problems.

1999 Dodge Intrepid LX 2.7 from North America




2000 - Oil sensor

2000 - Passenger window mounts broken

2000 - Driver's side power window motor repaired.

2000 - Both rear window motors repaired.

2001 - Engine replaced due to sludge build up at 65k miles.

2003 - Engine began to fail. Tune up.

2003 - Replaced cam shaft sensor.

General Comments:

I bought my car in 2000 with about 25K miles. In 2001 I replaced the engine under warranty, because of sludge build up. They said that this is a very common problem.

But the whole year before at a dealership in another state, I was taking the car in for a knocking noise. I was charged $50 every visit, and they repeatedly told me to change the oil and it would work itself out. This was the biggest load of lies. It took bringing the car half way across the country back to the dealer to get the engine seriously looked at and finally replaced. After this, I began to use full synthetic and an engine flush with every oil change, every 3000 miles.

Well in the middle of 2002, I began having engine problems again. I began taking my car to the Dodge dealership. My car began lurching on me, and shutting off while I was driving. I took the car in about 6 to 7 times for the same problem throughout 2003. Each time I was sent away with the explanation that they did not see the problem, and to bring it back when it would occur. The service manager eventually told me straight out to drive it until it broke - that way they would know what was wrong with it. I did not agree with this statement.

Well believe it or not, 2 months later my engine blew. Turns out that the timing chain arm had been cracked, and finally broke, causing the timing chain to fall off and make the pistons hit the valves, seizing my engine. They will not cover my car, even though when the problem first began my car was still under warranty. I now know that this is a very common problem, and could have been easily fixed and prevented.

The bad part is that I still owe about 5K, and I am a struggling college student. I have to beg for rides to work and school. I cannot afford another car or down payment. They will give me nothing for this car, nothing at all. I don't know what to do. I have registered a complaint at www.bigclassaction.com. I hope that if we all get together, maybe we can all be helped in some sort of way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

27th Mar 2004, 00:01

We feel your pain. We had to get rid of our 1999 due to the same problem. We still own 6K plus.

16th Apr 2004, 07:27

I know what you are going through my car`s engine has failed now I`m stuck without a car and no way of getting to and from work I still owe around 9,000 on my car.

11th Aug 2010, 17:17

Sounds typical of Chrysler Corp. Tell you they cannot find anything wrong with the car while you are in your warranty period, and then once the warranty ends, they find it and make you pay. Hence the reason why I will NEVER buy a Chrysler product.