2000 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 10 of 39

2000 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Don't buy a Dodge Intrepid

Faults:

The motor on my 2000 Dodge Intrepid started knocking on 8/4/06, and on 8/5/06 the motor threw a rod. I had no warning lights or oil lights come on, in fact I had just had my oil changed. My intrepid has 129,000 miles on it, but has been well maintained.

General Comments:

I would like to get in on the class action lawsuit. Please e-mail me at depeyster2006@yahoo.com

I am so sick about my car, I love my Intrepid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Looked great, ran awful

Faults:

I purchased my car in Sept. 2005. I loved the car, it was in really great condition, looks wise. What I didn't know is in a couple of months the engine was going to fail. I was driving when my car made an awful noise and it quit, no lights came on. I had it towed to a mechanic they were going to rebuild the engine, couldn't. Had it towed to another mechanic, he said he can't fix it.

I am disabled and cannot afford all these bills. I should have researched it before buying, but I didn't. I am young and didn't know. I have made seven payments now without being able to drive it. I am disgusted.

General Comments:

The car was beautiful inside and out.

The engine just wasn't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It is the most awful experience I've ever had

Faults:

Engine blew 2 months after purchasing the car. Had no oil lights to come on. Kept a check on the oil, kept putting oil in the car. Cannot find an 2.7 engine that is priced reasonable. Had my engine rebuilt, but it still keeps jumping time.

General Comments:

I loved the car when I purchased it, now I'm wishing I never purchased it.

Everyone said buy American and this is what I got.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2006

14th Jun 2006, 16:11

Too bad you didn't check out this site before purchasing your car: The 2.7 V-6 has a long history of what you're describing.

14th Jun 2006, 18:09

Maybe you should do research next time before purchasing a used car.

15th Jun 2006, 02:58

Yep, that 2.7 liter engine is a real dud.

"Everyone said buy American and this is what I got."

Don't let this experience scare you off from other American cars; they're not all like this. Too many people stereotype all American cars as being bad based on one really bad experience. Take a look around the site and you'll see that Toyota has had a few issues with engine sludge in some of their cars too. Whatever you do (or buy), good luck!

15th Jun 2006, 16:33

In general American car are crap compared to imports. Although domestics are improving it's always a gamble buying one and not to mention the depreation value will drop like a rock driven off the lot. Many of the smaller Honda's and Toyota's are a great source of reliable and cost-efficient transportation.

17th Jun 2006, 22:18

Yes, if you insist on buying domestic you first must put aside the attractive factor and go for something with a proven track record. What do taxi's and police drive? Impala and Crown Vic. Both very reliable and proven, but leave much to be desired. 98'-02'Toyota Camry, bland and possibility of sludge build-up. Maxima, a good performer and attractive. Accord, solid, fuel efficient, bullet-proof v-tec motors known to last 300k+.

9th Jan 2007, 20:20

I am going to keep this simple. If there is an auto company out here that makes reliable long lasting engines, the makers of the Dodge Intrepid 2.7 engines should buy those cars, gut the engine and copy the hell out of them; please.

I say this in pain.

15th Apr 2007, 01:10

I have a Intrepid story of my own. My engine died after only 45,000 miles. The car is beautiful, but dead!

Not all American cars are duds. I now have a Monte Carlo and I cannot say enough good things about it.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 145 reviews