2000 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 7 of 39

2000 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carChrysler grand am

Summary:

This car is a rip off

Faults:

I am having the same problems as everyone else.

Now my oil light is coming on when I am at a stop light then I give it a little gas and just like that the light goes off.

I have took it to a dealership a couple of times and they tell me they can't find the problem.

Please if this lawsuit is still going on I need to know I am a single mother of two and cannot afford to be without a car.

Please email me with the information

shelbyanne05@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2006

9th Dec 2006, 18:38

I think you mean your last car was a Pontiac Grand Am, Chrysler did not make that.

9th Dec 2006, 21:16

Sell it as quick as possible, that little oil light is the beginning of more severe engine problems. The 2.7 litre engine is the worst engine ever made.

13th Dec 2006, 18:30

I just bought a intrepid two week ago from a dealer two weeks ago, and now it at the shop everything is wrong with my car. the air act funny. I had to get my transmission fluid changed already. and two days ago my car want start up, and I had to take it to the shop cause my timing belt came off! and the engine is acting up! but the worse part I got to pay 2,000 dollars for my car to get fix! and it christmas and I'm a broke college student, this is some bull!

4th Feb 2007, 20:50

I bought a 2000 intrepid and 2 weeks later and 2k I put a new timing belt, oil pump, valves, water pump, oil sensor, tie rode, strut bushing, where can I submit my law suite please advise rbut01@aol.com.

2000 Dodge Intrepid Standard 2.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61900 miles
Most recent distance63034 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Great interior, horrible engine

Faults:

My 2000 Dodge Intrepid has a 2.7L engine with about 63000 miles on it. Although the engine runs smoothly so far, I'm quite frightened and alarmed by the incredible number of blown engines.

Recently, my car's oil light seems to flash when my car is idle at a traffic light. However, when I accelerate, the light goes out. Even more strange is that it doesn't seem to happen right away. The car usually has to be driven for about 20 minutes before the oil light starts to flash. I have brought this car to numerous places trying to get the problem fixed with no success.

I'm a college student who needs a reliable ride to school everyday. Unfortunately, I believe I'm on my way to having the same problem as everyone else with a blown engine.

Does anyone recommend anything like an oil flush or oil pump replacement?

Also, can someone let me know how I can get in on this lawsuit?

Thank you!

General Comments:

It's really a shame that such a beautiful car's image has been destroyed due to the 2.7L engine problems. Despite it's sleek, modern design; no one wants to bother with this car anymore because of the horrible 2.7L engine issue. After all, if the engine is bad, what good is it?

This car really gives you space, comfort and a terrific dynamic design not found in many other vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

3rd Dec 2006, 07:34

I would consider first (its cheaper) to flush the engine. Buy any engine flush solution, pour it inside the engine and leave the engine to run at idle for 10-15 minutes. Change the oil after. I would recommend to use just synthetic oil because is less prone to build sludge. Normally, this procedure will fix your problems. The symptoms that you describe lead to one conclusion: the oil passages inside the engine are filled with sludge (this is the biggest problem of 2.7l engine: poor design of oil passages) so you'll have to take a greater care than normally of this car. Don't forget; just synthetic oil. I would recommend to use 5w30 (has less viscosity). Good luck

P.S. Avoid Castrol: Their 'synthetic' is questionable.

25th Apr 2007, 09:13

Run Mobile One 5w-20, change every 5,000 miles in your car (normal car 10,000 miles). Don't take to Grease Monkey type shops, they will put in 10w-30 which is too thick.

You can flush with a quart of diesel fuel in the old oil-- dump it in and let the car idle for 10 min, then drain and put in your new oil+filter and you should be set. The diesel has detergents and is a great solvent-- will clean out the crud.

Hurry up and do this and you should be able to enjoy your Intrepid without motor failure.

-Rob.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 145 reviews