2001 Dodge Intrepid Reviews

2001 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

The 2.7 engine will blow up always!!

Faults:

After a year of perfection, suddenly a head gasket blew at 143000 miles. When I popped the hood, the oil was light tan color & over the engine. No warning signs.

General Comments:

Thought car was great till this happened. Would not trust Intrepid again. Until them I'd never had a problem. The car ran great. Then suddenly blew up. Felt a shake, then started losing power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2010

2001 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77250 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Worst car ever made

Faults:

Worst car ever. Paid $3900 for the car, and ended up putting another $4000 in the car for repairs (could have got a new car for that), and still having problems every 2-3 months. There should be a worldwide recall, and people who own these vehicles should be reimbursed. Never buying with Chrysler again!!!

General Comments:

Worst car ever made!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2009

15th Oct 2009, 13:31

"Worst car ever made"

The 2.7 V6 in that car might very well be the worst engine made.

2001 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am SE

Summary:

Great car I guess IF you have money on hand for a new motor; I'll never buy another Dodge

Faults:

Had to put new oil sending unit in, in October 2008, ran great the next 2 months.

Put 4 new tires on December 6, 2008, thought it was a good investment.

Engine blew December 15, 2008 due to oil sludge and coolant running into the motor at 94,000 miles.

General Comments:

Bought this car in May of 2008 for $5,500 with 83,000 miles on it.

Ran great, drove smooth, handled very well I absolutely loved it.

Drove great in the snow, felt safe in it.

Had to put new oil sending unit in, thought it was a good investment, it was a cheap fix and figured the car was going to last a while.

Then 5 days ago on December 15, we were driving down the freeway and the car started blowing cold air so we got off on an exit to get coolant, turned right, heard a loud pop and the car started billowing smoke, towed it to the shop next day and they said the motor blew.

The 2.7 engines are a crappy engine Dodge made, I will never buy another Dodge again.

I don't know what I'm going to do now because I can't afford another car, but for everyone out there looking at buying this car I'd suggest you don't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2008

2001 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance86047 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A great looking, but totally unreliable and dangerous car

Faults:

86,047: Timing chain broke due to a build-up of oil sludge, causing the engine to seize... told by two different shops (including my Dodge dealership) that the engine needed replacing to the tune of $6500... are you kidding me?

This is a very well known problem with the 2.7 liter engine, and yet Chrysler has done nothing to acknowledge it. It's laughable that Chrysler STILL uses this very same engine (and yes, I know it's been "re-engineered", but I highly doubt that's solved the problem) in several of its new models!

General Comments:

The Intrepid was a great looking, comfortable car with a SERIOUS flaw... the 2.7 liter V6!

I was driving on a busy expressway in rush hour traffic at about 60mph, when out of nowhere my Intrepid lost all power and came to a screeching halt IN THE CENTER LANE OF AN EIGHT-LANE WIDE BRIDGE! No power steering, no power brakes... Luckily I didn't cause an accident, but was basically trapped in my car until the police came and STOPPED TRAFFIC ON THE EIGHT-LANE WIDE BRIDGE to help me push my dead Intrepid over to the "safety" of the shoulder. Before the police arrived, as I sat in the middle of the bridge with cars whizzing past on both sides, I attempted to restart the car, but it was completely gone.

Let me tell you folks... this was one of the scariest moments of my life, and I will NEVER AGAIN buy any sort of Chrysler product as long as I live!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2008

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews