1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 5 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Terrible

Faults:

Just about everything a person could think that could go wrong with a car has gone wrong with my dodge neon. I had to replace the front end shocks which cost over 600 dollars, replace my starter 3 times, Head gaskets, piston rings, everything is going. I burn oil and gas, probably because the hole engine is going. My neon is probably the reason why there is a hole in the ozone, it burns so much oil and gas. The only thing good about my dodge neon is that it's body is in good shape. My coworker's neon has had many of the same problems. Just recently his neon's rad went.

General Comments:

Don't recommend buying a dodge neon! Poor, Poor Quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

1995 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

Very Fast! Great Style!

Faults:

Horn needed to be replaced.

Radiator cap and thermostat needed to be replaced.

Water gets into trunk, then leaks into the backseat.

Very bad transmission fluid leak at 109,000. Had it fixed 3 times.

Radiator fans were possessed. Never turned on when they were suppose to, which leaded to overheating. Were fixed 5 times, finally I just wired them directly to the battery.

Wind noise due to frame-less doors.

Yellow and faded headlights. I cleaned them using a Headlight Restoration kit. They are clear now!

Water drips out of the heater core onto the passenger side floor board after heavy rain.

Check Engine light came on for a "Power steering pressure sensor"

Power steering pump makes humming noises when you turn the wheel, need to replace the power steering fluid to solve this problem.

Ciggarette lighter recently blew a fuse.

Oil lights comes on when making sharp left turns.

Battery terminals need to be cleaned often.

A/C blows warm air no matter how many times you recharge it. Must have a leak somewhere.

Brakes screech after heavy rain.

ABS doesn't work well.

Could handle better.

General Comments:

GAS SAVER!

Very fast!

I love speeding with this car, you can get away with it!

I raced Chargers, Cavaliers, Civics...I've always won!

Car has style!

I LOVE THIS CAR! I would buy another one!

They should have NEVER stopped making the Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

13th Jul 2006, 13:21

Ummmm... interesting dude. I have a friend who used to go quite fast in his as well. Not many people know that the 2.0 in those cars is the one from the mitsubishi eclipse, but with not quite as much power. But man that is a lot of problems I don't know if it's worth it. there probably is some better cars out there.

13th Jul 2006, 20:51

You have only had the car for 7 thousand miles and you had to do all that work; though it could be from the lack of maintenance from the previous owner. I suspect if you race other cars so much, you will blow that head gasket that Neons blow regularly.

23rd Jul 2006, 17:15

The 2.0 is not a Mitsub. its purely American.

20th Nov 2006, 12:14

Oh I am sure you beat a lot of the other cars in races. Races to the mechanic shop! That many problems after drving the car 7,000 km's says it all. The Neon is pure junk. End of story!

20th Nov 2006, 19:45

Not true! We've had TWO Neon's, and they have been very reliable cars.

28th Dec 2006, 19:47

The 2.0 motor in the dodge neons is the same 420a in eclipses/talons, NOT by Mitsubishi, but by Chrysler.. and actually the 420a in NEONS were actually more powerful than the eclipse/talon 420a due to a more aggressive cam on the intake side, giving it 10 extra hp. Also the fact that it's a lot lighter than the eclipse, makes it a more peppier vehicle..

1995 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0L 4-in-line 16v from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-in-line 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance201350 miles
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

Great Car Going on 201,000

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 120,000 miles (dealer replaced for free).

Cassette player went out three times, but radio still works great.

Starter has been replaced twice.

Alternator been replaced three times.

The passenger turn signal kept going out (figure out that it was just a short between the connectors... easy fix with duck tape)

The heater core has gone out twice (crappy mechanic cause he replaced it and then 2,000 miles later it happened again)

General Comments:

This Neon's been great. the paint still looks like new except on the trunk lid is beginning to fade which is normal for a car with over 200,000 miles on it. Plan on getting another 1st generation Neon after this one finally dies (whenever that may be).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

2nd Jun 2006, 15:30

How did you get Chrysler to pay for the head gasket repair at 120,000?

2nd Jun 2006, 23:33

You may have your Neon for a while yet. They are the replacement for the Omni, and my '90 Omni had 240,000 on it when I sold it and still ran like new and didn't use any oil.

Chrysler builds very good cars. A guy I used to work with got 400,000 miles out of one.

3rd Jun 2006, 13:28

Let us all grow beards like the people in Canada on the "Red Green show" and let us drive our K cars!!! Woot!!! We can't afford a BMW or Mercedes and we are proud of it!!! Iaccoca Rocks!!! Who needs air conditioning or a key to start our car anyway?

3rd Jun 2006, 14:18

Neons tend to be plagued early on. It can't be compared to an omni. Omnis were CHEAP, but lasted longer. The early Omnis werent so great, either. They improved later on. Dodge is still trying to get the bugs worked out of the neon.

3rd Jun 2006, 17:15

Agree with the Omni. They Rock... especially the GLH's... I think that's the names lol...

4th Jun 2006, 12:09

Somebody is really confused, comparing BMW and Mercedes to the Chrysler K-car, even though this review is about a Neon. Proud that I can't afford a Mercedes? Rather, proud that instead of making an $800 payment on a Mercedes, I kept driving the reliable old Dodge and put the saved money in the bank and paid off my house. Think of that next time you send in your payment, or have to pay $1,500 to have the wiper blades changed on your Mercedes.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews