1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 6 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Very fast and Lovable car!

Faults:

Needed new Radiator fans.

Needed new spark plugs, due to engine misfires.

Needed a new Radiator cap and thermostat.

Speedometer works when it feels like it.

Water gets into trunk.

Headlights get yellow and faded making it hard to see at night.

Needed new muffler at 112,000.

Very bad Transmission fluid leak at 110,000...had it fixed 3 times.

Needs new struts, CV joints, and transmission mounts.

Hard transmission shifting when cold.

Replaced horn at 108,000.

A/C does not work, needs to be refilled with R-134A.

That's IT... FOR NOW.

General Comments:

I love this car. Never left me stranded ever!

Very good handling.

Nice large trunk.

Still going strong at 112,000 miles.

Great for racing! :)

Seat are alittle uncomfortable.

Lovable design!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

1995 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 SOHC moter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC moter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Best ever own people. are just pissed that mine is faster

Faults:

Nothing wrong just in all out good car.

General Comments:

Very fast and relibale left many hondas in the dust good on trips.

All you none neon lovers kiss my ass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

23rd Dec 2005, 21:26

This review was just pointless.

3rd Jan 2008, 22:42

Leaving civics in the dust is my thing wit my rebuilt neon I'm currently workin in da body now.

1995 Dodge Neon 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76650 miles
Most recent distance77720 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

This car is a death trap on wheels

Faults:

It runs for a few miles, then breaks down, and if you leave it sitting for a couple hours, it runs fine for about a week.

Gas is getting into my oil. I've taken it to 4 different dealers, and none of them can figure out why this is happening.

It has all of a sudden developed a really bad mold smell for no reason.

My turn signals freeze constantly, my A/C doesn't work, and I have to have my heater on one of the last 2 settings for it to work.

The bottom of the car is all soft, and the paint is peeling really bad, not to mention the whole top of the car is also rusting.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I have ever owned, from the 4 cars I've had since I got my license 2 years ago. Two others have been Dodge products, and the only one that has lasted and is still going strong, is my Oldsmobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

9th Mar 2006, 23:05

Well, obviously you have some research to do! GM MAKES OLDSMOBILE!

26th Mar 2006, 21:47

I think he is referring to how GM discontinued the Oldsmobile brand name.

14th Nov 2006, 21:31

As for your you neon breaking down and restarting after a while, my car also did the same, mine is a 1995 and it would start, run for about 2 days, die for about a week, and then randomly start again and repeat the process. It turns out it was the computer, and you can only get a replacement from a 1995 neon because other years won't work. I got a used one from a junkyard for about $60 (beats buying a remanufactured one for $250.) and its very easy to replace, seriously, it takes 5 minutes. hope I helped.

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Never again!

Faults:

Everything imaginable has gone wrong! : (

I bought this car real cheap as a student car just to get from home to my high school, and had to do some of the same repairs over again twice...

I had a shop put a performance muffler on it when I bought it and by now it has rusted almost completly off. Bad welding, but now its even louder.

Head gasket blew at 115,000 miles.

Blower fan died at 116,000 miles and it was an electrical problem (that these cars are well known for).

Headlights needed to be replaced for an inspection because they were so hazey and cheap that they cracked and leaked water on the day of my inspection!

Needed new seals at 118,000 miles.

New struts at 118,500 miles.

Needed new tires which was regular, but then the tire people put it out of alignment. Was corrected for free.

Transmission went at 120,000 miles.

One day coming home from work on a weekend, my driver's side window came completely out of it's guide and fell into the door. It cracked all over the bottom of the window and had to be replaced (parents paid for it thank god). After that, it still didn't roll up properly.

The wind noise is what these cars are nitorious for because of the window issue. The sunroof the previous owner had installed leaked lots of water too.

General Comments:

Two things still baffle me to this day...

One, why did I put so much money into the car? I loved it for a short while, but why didn't I catch the costs?

Two, how could Dodge make such a car and why is the neon so popular if they are not a great product?

Wow, I couldn'tve asked for more nightmares. I've heard so many people complain about them that it makes me wonder why I see used ones with temp. plates on them. I feel like shouting "hey! you've made a big mistake!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

16th Nov 2005, 16:38

Um lol. You don't know much about Neons do you. What were expecting that After 100,000 miles nothing would break. Forget it's even a Neon. Most cars will start to fall apart above the 100,000 mile mark. If you want a car with little repairs buy one with low mileage.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews