1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 8 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0L 4 Cylinder SOHC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 Cylinder SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92700 miles
Most recent distance131500 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Nickel and Dime fixer-upper

Faults:

I put a new engine in it at 97,000 miles, the Head gasket blew at 100,000.

Both front wheel bearings had to be replaced. at 105,000 miles.

Back driver's side rim needs to be replaced.

Rack and pinion steering unit needs to be replaced, power steering fluid constantly leaks.

Starter died at 131,500 miles.

Catalytic Converter needed to be replaced at 125,000 miles.

Front motor mount needed to be replaced at 131,000.

General Comments:

This car is a money pit.

I've had to have more things replaced on this vehicle than I ever have before, with any other vehicle I've owned or any other vehicle I've ever known anyone to own.

This car is not reliable in any sense of the word.

It feels unsafe to drive and I do not know what to expect next time I try to start it. Is there a puddle under the engine again? Is it starting hard? Does it vibrate when going at highway speeds?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 08:20

I have recently bought a stock neon and it has 160,000 miles on it. It has had no problems except for squeaking brakes and replaced a valve cover.

3rd Apr 2006, 21:04

I have the same car with the same money pit problems. I've replaced just about everything at least once and now it's vibrating when I drive it at highway speed. I've taken it to 3 mechanics who can't figure it out. It's absolutely the most frustrating car I've ever owned and I feel like I endanger my own life and others' every time I step into it.

1995 Dodge Neon US 2.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Summary:

This car has sharp style, and very fast! I love my Neon!

Faults:

Needed to replace the spark plugs, because the car kept backfiring.

Needed a new radiator cap and thermostat, because coolant kept boiling over and leaking.

Speedometer works when it wants to.

A/C doesn't work, needs freon.

Headlights get faded and yellow looking.

Horn doesn't work, I was told when they made 95' Neon's, they installed the horn upside down, so now when it rains the horn gets waterlogged.

Wind noise, even when the windows are closed, probably because of the frame-less design.

General Comments:

I don't know why everyone looks down on Neon's, they are very fast and stylish.

This car has a sleek and sharp style to it, very roomy inside, and it has a large trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

5th Jul 2005, 22:19

If your engine is backfiring, I don't think new plugs would help. 99 percent of the time when an engine backfires, it's firing on the exhaust stroke for whatever reason. Either the timing is off, or you have a stuck valve, maybe some problem in the fuel system, etc. If it's backfiring all the time, then there's some serious problem in the engine somewhere.

19th Jul 2005, 07:24

Hello. I wrote the review. I had the car only about 3 weeks so far. There were about 123,701 miles on it, but that doesn't count since the guy put a newer engine in the car. When it was backfiring, I did replace the spark plugs, and it did work! Now my Neon runs great! But now the brakes are starting to squeak.

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Camshaft seal blew after 30 days. Head Gasket blew twice, once at 79000 miles, and again just recently at 81000 miles, resulting in a blown engine. Replaced the computer at about the same time the first gasket was replaced, it ran OK for a week then there was no ignition.

General Comments:

The car ran reliably for about a year and a half after I got it, then it seems like I was always working on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2005

1995 Dodge Neon Sport 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Would like to replace this car with another Neon

Faults:

Head gasket needs replacing.

Normal maintenance.

General Comments:

This has been a very reliable car. To get over 218,000 miles on this car is absolutely amazing. It is very comfortable for 4 adults and you can get 5 adults in for short trips.

I replaced the ORIGINAL front brakes at 191,000 miles and the back brakes are still the original. The car has the original clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2005

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews