1995 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 9 of 37

1995 Dodge Neon Highline 4 door 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres

Summary:

Takes a lickin' keeps on tickin'

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 150000km. Before that, not much else went wrong.

At 200000km, the water pump went, and through off the timing belt. It was hard to diagnose, but not too bad to fix.

In total, I spent $2500 on the car, excluding oil changes, but including tires. That's not bad for putting up with Canadian winters over ten year.

General Comments:

Great little car. Peppy for a 2.0L.

Don't get rear ended by a Cadillac, that's why I am no longer driving it.

Overall that car is GREAT!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

1995 Dodge Neon Sport Coupe SOHC. 2.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission SOHC. 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Unreliable at best

Faults:

Well I guess I've been lucky with my neon up till now... First thing unusual that happened to me was the Fuel neck near the gas cap rotted away. One day I went to take the gas cap off to fill it and the whole unit came out with a rusty jagged end. I had the Fuel Filter replaced after the car just died in the middle of nowhere. The fuel injectors got clogged up 2 x. The car now has error code 21 (O2 Sensor) and the car runs like crap especially after it gets warmed up. There's no power, and sometimes the engine will race while sitting at a light. I also had the accelerator pedal get stuck a couple times and I was pulled off the side off the highway in Neutral with the engine racing till I freed it up. Too many little problems to list, like the crank in the door is broke so the window will not open. The trunk leaks like crazy. I hate this car now... Time for a new one I guess.

General Comments:

Problematic..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

1995 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Perfect until 2004

Faults:

When I bought the car it need a new radiator.

Nothing else has gone wrong until March 2004. It was chugging out (like it was out of gas), loss of power.

The head gasket went in July 2004. Realized that was gone when it went to the dealer to see why it was chugging out.

Head gasket got fixed, throttle position sensor and oxygen sensor were replaced in January 2005 and it's still having the same problem.

I have no idea what's wrong with it. It's had plenty diagnostic tests and nothings wrong, (so they say).

General Comments:

All in all it's been a good working car with plenty of power.

I don't like the cabin in the front very much. Stuff falls under the seats and there's no way to get it out.

Stock speakers are pretty good though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

19th Feb 2005, 06:24

You might check the cat converter that may be the problem. a plugged exaust wold cause loss of power.

24th Feb 2005, 13:06

My 1995 Dodge neon was cutting out and chugging for about 3 months. Finally someone told me to replace the spark plug wires and it ran great. No more chugging.

1995 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

There is not enough sugar in the world to sweeten this lemon

Faults:

The trunk leaks, radio never worked, replaced entire fuel tank and fuel system. This was necessitated by a gasket failure which allowed coolant to back flow into the fuel system, destroying the fuel pump, radiator, hoses and everything else between the gasket and the exhaust pipe.

I put over 1700.00 into repairs and thought that the car would be reliable transportation for my son. He has had the car for 2 years and has had to put approximately 3,000.00 more into it to keep it running.

It gets to the point that you think, "I have completely rebuilt this thing", and then something else happens.

This morning he was left stranded with no head lights. First week on the best job he has ever had and this piece of dung failed again.

I will never buy another Dodge vehicle. Too bad the engineers who designed the outside, forgot to put anything of value on the inside.

General Comments:

If I had read this message board before buying, I would have run from this vehicle...

And the Chrysler company's refusal to deal with a mass produced lemon shows their irresponsibility and lack of commitment to their customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2005

21st Feb 2005, 18:06

Wow, never heard of coolant going up the fuel line, was this a claim of the shop that was doing the repairs? If it was, and they put it in writing, the lawsuit you have will more than pay for your next ride. Statute of limitations can exist longer than the prescribed time in most States if you just discovered the crime. Claiming your antifreeze went up the line is a crime, the only way you get coolant in the tank is if someone placed it there (just a thought).

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 133 reviews