2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Best car I've owned in almost 50 years of driving

Faults:

I bought this car from my son, who bought it almost brand new. In 8 more days I will have owned this car for ten years.

Nothing major as far as engine repairs; needed to replace the radiator at one point, a broken power steering hose (high pressure side) and belts. Tires, batteries, brakes and rotors, spark plugs and wires, and an occasional wheel cylinder were all normal wear and tear items.

Usually did most of the repair work myself, so I don't have any comments on a dealer.

Unfortunately, now the "rocker panels" on both sides are rusted through, and it needs a new outer tie rod end and four new tires for inspection, so it's time to retire the best car I've ever owned in 50 years of driving. NEVER EVER left me stranded!

For some reason my gas mileage was never more than about 23 or 24 MPG, driving about 12,000 miles per year.

Would I buy another Neon? Sure would!!

General Comments:

Even though I'm sending this Neon to the junkyard tomorrow, it is still a comfortable car to drive, the steering is still as responsive as ever (okay, a little shimmy due to the tie rod end) but it amazes me how solid this thing still feels. I could probably put 4 new tires on it and get another year on it, but the panels under the doors are extensively rusted out pretty much from front to back.

Also, the last year or so I've noticed a puff of blue smoke when I start the engine, and it uses about a quart of oil a month now, so it's time to put the old gal out to pasture!! I will miss my little Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2013

2001 Dodge Neon ES 2.0 SOHC from North America

Summary:

Best car ever. I drive it 900 miles a week to school, work and home, and it uses little gas

Faults:

Radiator blew at 135,000.

Power steering pressure switch at 197,000.

Exhaust rotted out at 210,000.

I have literally no rocker panels.

Everything else was normal maintenance, and tie rods and ball joints.

General Comments:

The car turns on a dime.

Has 218xxx and can still accelerate like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2013

2nd Jun 2013, 23:51

Best car ever? If all you need is good MPG...

5th Jun 2013, 18:09

The Neon is a great little car with bullet proof reliability and awesome fuel mileage. Several of my friends have had them. All of them easily made over 100,000 with no repairs at all.

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Cheap garbage from a corrupt domestic manufacturer

Faults:

Brakes, front and rear struts, tie rods, catalytic converter, oxygen sensor, trunk lock, powertrain control module, rear door handles, ignition coil, headlight reminder, door-locks, starter, passenger seat track, dome light.

General Comments:

Tie rods fell apart while driving, almost killing me.

All struts began leaking, bottoming car down during winter.

Catalytic converter plugged up, ruining mpg and power and messing up O2 sensor.

Trunk lock slowly quit working.

Door locks keep getting stuck.

Headlight reminder bell quit working, making me forget to turn headlights off and killing battery.

Dome light quit working, even after bulb and fuse replacement.

Powertrain control module stopped working, costing me $297 even after doing job myself.

Rear door handles hard to move even with lubrication.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2011

26th Mar 2011, 14:22

This is why Chrysler is finished in North America. They should have faded away years ago. They have been building the worst cars in North America for a very long time. Once Fiat establishes itself as a separate brand, Chrysler will be finished. All Fiat wants from Chrysler is their dealer network in North America. It's already happening where I live. Long standing Dodge dealerships are now sporting the Fiat name.

2001 Dodge Neon ES 2.0 from North America

Summary:

10 years and almost 200k = Well done and thank you Dodge

Faults:

In the past year she has required some work for overheating and the transmission seal (common Dodge problem).

I'm also getting brakes done for the 3rd time (about $200 replacing front rotors and pads).

The head gasket is on its last legs, as I have some kind of sealer in there now that my mechanic recommended. When it goes, I doubt I'll put much more money in it.

General Comments:

My wife bought this car new before we got married. It's been a great little car.

I now use it as a commuter car, and have 165k. I'm on our 4th set of tires, and just upgraded to SRT rims and 17" tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

7th Feb 2011, 20:50

Not to be mean or anything, but I have heard that Dodge Neons don't come out to be great cars. Neither do the Dodge Plymouth (especially the Breeze). I have an uncle that has had really bad problems with his Plymouth, and it's no longer driveable. He has wasted a lot of green on it, and all for nothing. We see a lot of those cars at the junk yard and people selling them real cheap and why? Because they aren't good cars. I'm not too sure about the Neons, but I have heard through others that have owned them that they have a lot of problems with them.

8th Feb 2011, 18:00

To the above commentor:

I'm not the original reviewer, but I also owned a Dodge Neon. It was the absolute worst piece of crap I've ever owned. I'm happy to hear this person had good luck with theirs, but mine sucked.

2nd Jun 2013, 18:09

We looked at a Neon, then got a well used Corolla! I mean, with all the internet advice / owners opinions around for over a decade, I now do not befriend folks who do not have the energy to perform research! My Corolla has cost me some brake pads / oil / tires, and oh yeah, a $45 sensor in 72k miles!