2001 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 7 of 14

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

A dependable, reliable, efficient, and fun vehicle

Faults:

The factory spark plugs went bad at 50,000 miles, which is somewhat close to their life, anyways.

The spark plug wires went bad at 54000, which is also about the life span of the wires.

No other problems have been encountered.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of pep.

It handles itself well, and not too bad in inclement weather.

The interior is comfortable and all the controls are within easy reach.

The stereo sounds great, lots of bass from the rear.

It does very well on long trips.

You can't buy a better car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

25th May 2004, 15:10

My dodge neon is the best. I have had it for 2 yrs, and it still runs fine...

2001 Dodge Neon ES 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance26543 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Faults:

A new bolt had to be put on to properly align my car. The old one would not adjust.

The tires that come with the car do not last. They are low profiles which I did'nt realize when buying the car.

General Comments:

However, as far as general maintenance, the car runs very well. No other problems at this time.

Just prepare to spend more when replacing tires if you purchase an es-model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2004

2001 Dodge Neon SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47044 miles
Most recent distance50799 miles

Summary:

Good deal vehicle

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car.

My brakes have started to make some noise.

The car is in great need of a tune-up.

General Comments:

This car is generally a good car. I have only had this car for about a month, but so far, everything is good, besides the brakes.

It has a nice interior and it's really cute.

This is a good car for a new driver, such as a high school student.

After 60 mph, the car zooms. I'm pretty sure that if I had a tune-up, it would perform a lot better.

It has practically new tires on it, with rims, instead of wheel covers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

2001 Dodge Neon SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Nice vehicle for family on a budget

Faults:

The water pump has gone out. The water pump is not an easy part to get to. If you should have to repair this part you may want to ask for a lot of help. The water pump is attached to the timing belt casing. You will need a thirteen millimeter socket to take off the bolts and pulleys which hold the timing belt and the timing belt casing.

General Comments:

I like this car and the room that is has on the inside of the vehicle and it's outside appearance.

I'm fearful of the head gaskets. They are not a very cheap part to replace in this type of vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

9th Jul 2006, 17:35

ALL front drive cars are a NIGHTMARE to work on. As for reliability, A handicapped friend of mine who has to have a dependable car has driven his current Neon for 80,000 miles with not one problem. My experience with Chrysler has been that the customer service and service departments are horrible, but the cars themselves are very good cars. I put 135,000 miles, 90,000 miles and 240,000 miles on my last three Chrysler products and never had a single problem with any of them.

9th Jul 2006, 17:39

I got a kick out of the Kia comment, and just had to share my Kia story. Three years ago my wife was looking for a new SUV. We went to test drive the new Kia Sorento. We had gone about 1 mile when the car just quit in the middle of a busy street. The salesman called for service techs to come try and get it started. They opened the hood, shook their heads, and said "duhhhh...we don't know anything about these things." Guess what new SUV we DIDN'T buy that day!!

10th Jul 2006, 13:27

Don't be afraid of the head gaskets on the 2nd generation Neon. They fixed it.

8th Mar 2007, 09:50

Bought my Dodge Neon in 2005 with 60K and I now it is 2007 and it has 127000 miles on it. I have never done anything except change the oil. It still runs good and exactly the same as when I bought it. This review bothers me because he says it's a bad car because he had to replace one part. I owned a 96 Pontiac Grand Am, and let me tell you, I cannot even count the things I replaced. I have never seen anyone unhappy with a car because they had to replace one part. Unbelievable!

12th Nov 2007, 03:28

Try owning a thunderbird one part, yeah. good one My neon 01 is fantastic, never had a problem ever, just don't forget to replace the timing belt at 70,000 miles, and every and it'll last forever.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews