2001 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 11 of 14

2001 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0L magnum from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L magnum Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance26800 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Cheap speed... when the road gets twisted

Faults:

Other than my dealership causing a problem with the throttle body (which was replaced by them for free) nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The looks of the R/T. especially the 2001 are understated, but extremely nice.

As it turns out this is a rare car too, only approx. 5000 were built for 2001.

The upgrades the R/T has over the base include a camshaft, actual tubular header, larger (by.25") exhaust-ending in dual tips, active dual plenum intake manifold, and the head.

The head on the Magnum cars flow amazingly better than any other neon head out there. Including a fully port and ploished base head.

For the price performance is good. Mine ran 16.0 in the 1/4 the first time out. That was .1 seconds faster than Car and Driver said the car would go.

As for handling, this car rocks. The stock tires are Goodyear RS-A's and they are decent (especially for being just 195/50/16s)... but they are all season tires. A good set of summer performance tires will really make this car come alive in the bends.

If ya want to be a tad different and not worry about your car breaking, this is the car for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

2001 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance6073 miles

Summary:

Nice car, but I've learned it's not worth it

Faults:

I have had a clicking sound from the rear brakes, and an engine hesitation.

The engine hesitation the car still has and the dealer has told me it's either normal, it's the gas I'm putting in it or it's the egr valve.

General Comments:

It's a nice car, but with the problems I've had I wouldn't buy another Dodge Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 SOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29565 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

An excellent find found here

Faults:

I have had nothing go wrong with the car so far. There is a slight surge in the engine when I turn on the heater, as I read others comments, I have noticed that they all seem to have squeaky brakes, as does mine, and sometimes it takes a second try to shift the gear into the gear position, perhaps due to a clutch that may need to be adjusted a bit. When it is taken out of the gear position and put back in it is fine.

General Comments:

I bought this car in an emergency situation, my daily driver also doubled as my street racer, and I blew my engine. In dire need of a ride, I found this Neon, still under factory warranty for $5500. There is nothing wrong with it, it looks awesome. I got it from a wholesaler that sold caddy's and saab's and such that did not want a neon on his lot. This car will get me through school and hopefully have a long smooth life ahead of it, *evil grins*

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

2001 Dodge Neon ES 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

I wouldn't wish this on anyone

Faults:

Seat belt broke before the recall was issued.

Lifters and rocker arms have already been replaced, (luckily under warranty). The dealer had no answer as to why this happened to such a young car.

Brake booster recall.

It has stalled once, leaving me stuck in rush hour traffic, it started about 10 minutes later.

It has a constant brake squeal, no matter what season or what type of brake pads. As well as seemingly decreased braking ability in emergency situations.

General Comments:

The only good thing I can say about this vehicle is that it came with a nice stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2003

2001 Dodge Neon ES 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Nightmare Neon

Faults:

Air conditioner unit went out 1 month after owning car.

Recall on brake booster vacuum hose during second month.

Driver side automatic window stopped working during sixth month.

Continual grinding in the rear brake area of the vehicle which started in Missouri. Moved to Mississippi (military) mechanics here say it is due to the extra humidity in the air.

A loose brake motor was the cause of a horrible clunking in the front of the vehicle.

Battery went out when the car was on 8 months old.

Hurricane season came to Mississippi, filling my neon with water in the trunk and the driver's side floor board. To find the source of the problem, it took 2 months straight. Two gallons of water were standing in my trunk wheel well, the first time I vacuumed it out. It was vacuumed 2 other times before the car made it to the dealership. Mold started growing in the trunk. Thankfully all the carpet in the trunk was replaced. Nothing was done for the front.

Clunking noise coming from front of neon again. Mechanics replaced my rear bearings. Then, an alignment was needed. Needless to say I went elsewhere to get the tires aligned for half the cost they were going to charge me to only align 2.

The next day, I had to take my neon back to the dealership due to a wobbling and grinding noise coming from the rear brake area (where all the work had just been performed). I was told my drums had excessive brake dust in them, my brake pads and shoes were fine, but my drums had to be removed, cleaned and rotated. Again, another charge which is not under warranty.

General Comments:

I personally loved my neon when we first bought it, not anymore. I know we just got the bad one of the bunch. Our car has met all the lemon law qualifications and the manufacturer of the vehicle acknowledges so. Just in a matter of their own terms.

I like the get-up and go the vehicle has, but personally I think I am done with this manufacturer, due to the horrible run around we are getting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

9th Aug 2003, 11:56

Well, as for your explanation on your car...don't you think it being flooded had something to do with your cars other problems? I mean you should being blaming nature for your problems after the flood. This has nothing to do with the car being a Lemon or even being poorly built. Most of your complaints were about the flooding? Think twice before you go on to blame the car itself for the problems. Truly I love my 2001 Neon.

14th Apr 2004, 11:21

Well I disagree with the flood causing all the problems. If a car is a lemon, it's a lemon. NEONs actually had a reputation for unreliability. Just because you lucked out and got one that actually runs don't yell at the other 90% of the people that didn't.

21st Sep 2004, 00:42

He said his car was flooded from rain coming into his car. Not an actual flood. That's why he said it took two months to figure out why it was flooding his car.

So yes, he has good reason to call it a lemon.

20th Oct 2004, 12:21

I only want to say that you must read the manual, specially in the part of cross flooded streets, because I have to pay half motor because I did flood the motor once..

22nd Oct 2007, 20:55

Have just bought a 2001 neon Oct.22 07 hope it works good. God help us all.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews