2001 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 6 of 14

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

Bought car in May with 8700 miles.

Clutch went at 10,000 miles.

Fuel pump went on July 5th, 2004.

Had to replace transmission in Sept. 04. Dodge representative stated Dodge has never had a problem with their trans, LOL well I have yet to hear of a Caravan or Voyager that went without a trans or axle. Next time I'll buy an import.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2004

13th May 2006, 04:58

We also had to replace the transmission on our 2001 Dodge Neon Se, which we bought used in the fall of 2004. It would jerk whenever we accelerated, especially when taking off after stopping. It shook whenever we were idling too, so we took it to dodge dealerships and other mechanics and everyone had a different diagnosis. Then, we took it to a transmission specialist. Anyway, we thought by buying a newer Dodge (just 3 years old at the time of purchase), we would save money in repairs. What were we thinking? Next time, we will go back to European cars. We have had to fix more things ($$$) in this car than I ever had to with my 1987 SAAB 900.

20th Jul 2011, 23:39

My 2001 Neon SE has 220,000 miles, and was brought at 175,000 miles. Since then I've only had to replace 2 wheel cylinders, serpentine belt, and one wheel bearing. Engine wise, this car has never left me on the side of the road, and starts up every single time. As with any car, you shouldn't expect your vehicle to run flawlessly when you fail to keep up regular maintenance.

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 SOHC from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance71800 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

I love Neons!!

Faults:

Well had to have the radiator mount pulled and straightened, because I hit a huge pot hole in a parking lot. It made my tranny skip too, so I brought it to the Ford dealership where I purchased it, because I have a warranty with them, and they told me I had to have the mount straightened before they did anything else.

So I took it to a body shop, and had them straighten it, which cost 100 dollars.

Took it back to the dealership. They said the tranny was bad, and they replaced it, but being Ford people, they had problems, so they sent it to the nearest Dodge dealership to be diagnosed. It took them one week just to tell me that it was fine the whole time. It took 2 weeks for the whole ordeal, stupid Ford people!

General Comments:

This car is quick and very responsive.

Easy to customize.

Good looks.

I have had no problems, other than the tranny, which was totally a driver mistake.

I have put over 22k on this car in a year. Have had no problems at all, and I drive like a mad man too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2004

2001 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Reliable Car

Faults:

The rotors had to be replaced sooner than normal.

The brakes squeal badly.

The car has a very rough idle. I was told by the dealer this was normal for a Neon.

General Comments:

In spite of the minor problems I really like my Neon. I had a Kia Sephia previously which was a death trap. It nearly killed me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

2001 Dodge Neon LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13500 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres

Summary:

I should have spent the extra money and bought an import

Faults:

Ignition problems at about 30000 km.

General Comments:

I bought this car to commute with. Seems like it needed an extra gear or overdrive.

I didn't feel like this car would last much over 200,000 kms like some imports normally get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

2001 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Just as bad as a

Faults:

20,000 miles; replaced battery (under warranty)

20,000 miles; recall for brake booster hose

27,000 miles; idling drops to below normal and makes the car behave like it's going to stall. This is an ongoing problem and the dealer doesn't notice the problem when I take it to them. I've given up with trying to get this fixed.

31,000 miles; water leaking into the driver side foot area from above the break pedal through the dash board. This is not covered under warranty and there is no rust any where to lead to this problem.

General Comments:

Overall, the car drives well and is fairly efficient, but not as efficient as my 1988 Jetta that was replaced with this Neon. The dealers are of no help, they just like to take $100.00 every time the car is in the shop. I wouldn't recommend this car to anyone, nor would I purchase another Chrysler product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 08:13

Hi I just bought a little used 2001 neon SE and it leaks into the passenger side on the floor. did they ever find out why yours leaks? and did you have any problems with the fuses?

30th Jul 2007, 05:50

Am I ignorant, cause isn't dodge and chrysler 2 totally different brands.

8th Nov 2009, 13:10

Chevy has duds, so can Chrysler.

And to the comment above, Chrysler owns Dodge, Jeep, etc.

10th Nov 2009, 22:11

"31,000 miles; water leaking into the driver side foot area from above the break pedal through the dash board. This is not covered under warranty and there is no rust any where to lead to this problem."

I don't know who told you this isn't covered by the warranty, but at 31,000 or less than 36 months EVERYTHING is covered. I'm assuming it had more than 36 months of use on it at the time??

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews