1996 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 5.2L V8 from North America

Summary:

I'd buy another one in a heartbeat

Faults:

Nothing so far <Knock wood>.

Just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This truck has been very solid. No real complaints other than the cruise control buttons should be illuminated.

I use it for towing my travel trailer, and we went over 8,000km this past summer in complete comfort with no issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1996 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 5.9 gas from North America

Summary:

Nice truck, lots of problems, too bad for me!

Faults:

Most of the problems have meant going to the dealer to fix the recalls properly.

Transmission was repaired and they had my truck for a week.

Steering box leaks, I'll have to fix, but they must have seen the problem but failed to tell me. It's things like that. It's not the feeling I was looking for when I bought.

You need a good dealer, it doesn't matter what truck you buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

25th Feb 2004, 21:03

If you think your story is bad listen to this one. I purchased a 99 dodge ram diesel 2500 series it only has 38000 miles on it. here goes 1 transmission. injector pump transfer pump. and now the pump in the fuel tank.1100 dollars for this one. I called the company rep. he says too bad no help. no wonder people are looking offshore for products. plus I work.

1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 SLT 5.9 from North America

Summary:

I trust the truck, not the technicians, dealers or factory reps

Faults:

Rear sliding window leaks, not noticeable unless the carpet is lifted, many owners don't realize it, very common, but don't expect your dealer to tip you off !!!

Bad catalytic converter.

Bad transmission.

Bad FM reception.

Poor speakers.

Seat sliders don't work.

Cruise control switches intermittent.

General Comments:

Repairs under warranty were always a hassle, dealer technicians almost always caused new problems and/or didn't fix what they were trying to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

21st Jan 2001, 12:47

I had the exact same problems as you. I finally took my 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 into the dealer with 1 day left on the warranty, the rear slider must have leaked from day one, when I lifted the carpet I thought I'd pass out due to the rotting, moldy smell, it took them a week to reseal and test it.

I had my stock Cassette AM/FM radio replaced due to bad FM reception, the second deck sounded just as bad, SOLUTION, spent $1500 on a professionally installed system, removed the crappy stock stereo.

Automatic transmission had some problems shifting, took it to a tranny shop, they changed the fluid and seals and luckily it's been fine.

Overall I don't think I would of had these problems with my old Toyota 4X4, I beated the crap out of that truck and it never failed me. My doors on the Dodge freeze up sometimes and won't open.

Overall I'm happy with the truck so far, but sometimes I dream about that little Toyota with 300,000km of wear and tear with NO MAJOR PROBLEMS.

1st Jul 2001, 17:35

My 95 Dodge, 61000 miles, shows rust under the left front door, Also the exhaust rattles and the rear bumper is peeling!

Other than those and several recalls, the truck's been fine. I'll look under my carpet to see if the slider has been leaking.

Phil.

23rd Nov 2002, 19:13

Prettiest truck in town! The fm went out on the stock stereo, so had to replace that with another. I have had 3recalls done on the truck so far with no trouble. Now my 4x4 dashlight stays on when I know its in 2 wheel drive!All in all its been a good truck and without a doubt will buy another one.

9th Jun 2003, 19:47

1996 Ram 1500 SLT 140,000 kilometers.

Only thing that died so far is the radiator.

(Do yourself a favour, no matter what vehicle you own, if your radiator dies, buy a custom built one from a true radiator shop. Many vehicle manufacturer use plastic/aluminum radiators. A decent custom aluminum radiator that will never leak is close to same price.)

F.Y.I. Warning: the main reason that transmission problems occur with these trucks is that mechanics use the wrong fluid. don't use anything, but fluid designed for these transmissions.