1996 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Laramie 5.9 (360cid) from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 (360cid) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Quality feel, extremely reliable and bulletproof

Faults:

Right front axle seal had to be replaced under warranty at 40,000 miles due to severe cold weather (N. Alaska), had rendered the old seal cracked and leaking. That's what -50 degrees does!

Had line from tranny to the transmission fluid cooler was replaced as it was leaking, about $50.

General Comments:

This truck is bulletproof. I haul a 200 gallon tank of water several times a week in the back, and it hardly feels like it has a load - that's 1600lbs. It has a solid feel, quiet ride, excellent stock stereo (Infinity cassette-CD) and all the electric parts have never had a problem, ie., windows, locks, power mirrors, cruise, ABS etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Magnum V8 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram 1500 4X

Summary:

For a tough truck, it is incredibly unreliable and disappointing

Faults:

Three transmissions from 49,000 miles to 61,000 miles.

The doors are rotting, air conditioning is not working and too many recalls. I'm afraid to make long distance trips with it, I might not make it home. I have to keep a Yugo in the back to make it home. I'm afraid to toe or haul anything that it might break down.

General Comments:

Every Dodge pickup should be recalled and the correct transmission should be installed. Dodge are incredibly lax in their reliability with their vehicles. It is a shame that an American company as big as Dodge can't take better care and have pride in their product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 11:38

I bought my Dodge in '98, the only problem since I have had it is that it uses up brake pads about every 30,000 miles. Had to change the rotors at 102,000. The truck has been flawless except for that. Still runs as strong as the day I bought it!

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup Laramine SLT 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55200 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Good truck for your daily use

Faults:

Performance is dropping.

A/C freon won't stop leaking out. Dealer says nothing is wrong.

Driver side mirror won't stop moving.

Also I really hate the small JACKS.

General Comments:

Well when the dealer fixes the A/C I will be really happy. And might buy another Dodge in the future. I also hate the wear and tear on the one wheel that does all the work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Laramie 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Should have bought a Chevy Silverado

Faults:

Fuel system leaks at the fuel tank, rollover valve recall did not correct the problem.

Electric door locks/window switches corrode and fail (I live in a desert).

Front wheel lug nuts fall off.

General Comments:

This truck is unstable and vibrates at all speeds.

The front axle assembly rattles, had the wheels balanced 5 times and the alignment completed 3 times.

The truck does look good.

I've taken the truck to a couple of dealers for the recalls and service, and have been disapointed every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

1st Oct 2001, 06:44

Sounds like some bad luck, but it should be an improvement over a Camero.

16th Jun 2003, 08:44

If you could even spell C-A-M-A-R-O, your thoughts might have some credibility, but probably not.

21st Oct 2009, 23:46

It sounds like your front end problem has a lot to do with you not being able to tighten up lug nuts. I know, I have worked on a lot of vehicles, and not once has anybody said their lug nut fell off!

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup XLT 1500 Laramie Extended Cab V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

The repairs needed are worth the safety features

Faults:

Upper & lower valve cover gaskets need to be replaced.

Intake manifold is clogged.

Entire fuel injection system is faulty. This is a major repair that my used car warranty will not cover.

General Comments:

I consider the above problems typical for a used Ram with 89,000 miles on it at the start.

The overall rating I give this truck is good.

Anytime we buy used, we can expect some glitches. These problems will not be the last, but I expect to put less money into this truck than my neighbor who bought a new Toyota truck that is always in the shop.

The safety rating of this truck is superb. We ride our young Grandchildren around in it and feel safe & secure in the Ram.

It's a beautiful machine that with care & regular maintenance, will last many years.

The problems mentioned above have been fixed. Costly? yes... but owning a big truck is never thrifty. Safety is our primary concern.

Would we buy another Dodge Ram? In a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews