1996 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 2500 8.0/3.54gears from North America


Junk times five


Steering column replaced 5 times.

Rear seal replaced 2 times.

Engine sounded like a hand full of BB's dropped into it at 55mph and 1750rpm, never fixed.

Seats wore out and were replaced.

Transmission problems.

Front-end had clunks, Dodge said it was an engineering fault and they could put a 1 ton front end in it at my cost.

Fuel pump in the fuel tank went out 4 times.

General Comments:

Had the truck in the Dodge dealership 65 times in 11 months. Sold the truck back to another Dodge dealership.

Ron Tonkin in Portland never did figure out half the problems. Ended up driving 330 miles round trip to get work done on it the last couple times.

Reading these posts Dodge has to know they have big problems and don't seem to care about fixing them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 19:49

65 times in 11 months. Hard to believe. Ever hear of a lemon law?

Sry... just don't buy your assessment.

14th Oct 2001, 17:37

I have a Dodge Ram 1500 with a 3.9 liter V6, and when I use a top end gear and let the RPM's fall, and then step on it, the engine sounds like a clanking case of beer bottles. It's pretty funny because I can drive around town and tap the gas and it sounds like someone is shaking a case of beer, which would sound similar to someone pouring BB's into an engine I guess.

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 WS 3.9 from North America


A highly polished piece of crap


OK, what hasn't gone wrong with this thing???

5 timing chains... 1 every 15,000 miles.

Hydraulic pedal for the manual tranny, replaced 2 times... needs another.

Engine replacement.

Suspension problems, now rear end problems.

Gas guzzling.

Window cranking problems, very hard to roll down or up.

Rattles, noises, and other minor irritations.

Air conditioning smells like a baby diaper?

And, to top it off, BERGEN COUNTY DODGE refuses to fix any of the problems I tell them about! Their service department SUCKS! I bring the thing in and it comes back with 10 more problems!

General Comments:

I like the style of the Dodge Ram. Too bad... my brain may not be fully functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 21:26

Sounds like your dealer doesn't know squat. Take it to a different mechanic. A car or truck is only as good as the service it recieves.

1996 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 V-8 360 from North America


Two recalls for a possible fire hazard. Catalytic converter replaced. Power window not working properly. Small oil leak. Oil sending unit replaced. Auto-transmission not shifting properly, transmission was serviced and have brought it back 3 times and still not fixed!!

General Comments:

This truck is barely 2 1/2 years old with 25K miles. This many things shouldn't be going wrong with it. Good thing it's still under warranty because when it expires at 3yrs/36K miles I will trade it in for something else!! I'm very dissatisfied with the dealership and their response to the transmission problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

1st Feb 2001, 16:30

I own 2 Dodge vehicles from 1996, a Stratus and Ram Pickup and have never had any problems with the transmission. I travel every weekend with my 20' camper and have 120,000Km (live in Canada) and the same thing with my Stratus (57000km).

3rd Aug 2001, 15:08

The dealers are all alike, I have a 97 1500 Sport that has had many problems. The dealer in Napa, CA gives me the run around anytime I have a problem with the truck. Thank god for extended warrantys.