1998 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 16 of 17

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

A piece of junk

Faults:

The starter motor burned up at 50,000 miles.

Gets about 11 miles to the gallon.

Check Engine light is a regular occurrence.

Catalytic converter blew out.

General Comments:

I bought this truck because after decades of making it I believed that they had to know what they were doing. Was I wrong. It has been one problem after another and I no longer have the confidence to use it for towing my boat or taking trips more than 50 miles from my home. I live in constant fear of the Check Engine light. Since I turned 50,000 miles it has come on every 2,000 to 3,000 miles. I will never again buy a Dodge product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Laramie 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

It is one of the best vehicles I have ever driven

Faults:

I have had no problems with the truck at all. It has been a total dream.

General Comments:

This was my dream truck when they came out with the new body style in the mid '90s. I had to wait until 2000 to finally get it, but I have been ecstatic ever since. It has totally lived up to my expectations (which are high for a truck).

The leather interior has stood up to 3 kids and the layout with the 40/20/40 front seat with the middle console is outstanding. I can put all my CDs and tapes in there and still have room left for other paperwork.

The truck has been on 2 cross country road trips with 3 kids and was great. It gets around 12-13 MPG in town and about 15-17 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

1st Oct 2002, 22:46

I bought my 1997 Ram new. Its the 1500 slt with 318. I have only had to replace the right rotor and both front calipers and brake pads. The calipers were a "just in case only." This job was the easiest brake job ever for me. Not many tools required. As for my overall satisfaction, I love it. I will drive her as long as she pleases. Great 4x4 in snow, comfortable on the interstate. The only complaint I have is the shimmy that picks up above 70 mph. I believe this is just a balance and all terrain tire problem. For any other 97 Ram owners, switch over to a michelin tire. Wow, you will like the ride improvement. Keep your oil clean and your body lubed and she will do fine.

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 4 x4 5.9 (360) from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9 (360) Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Not enough Power for all the gas it drinks

Faults:

Intake plenum gasket - 3 times.

Rear pinion bearing - bad bearing.

Paint came off front bumper.

Front right roof rail speaker stopped working.

Engine pings under load or towing - check engine light comes on.

General Comments:

Major gas hog, but didn't expect much - 10 in city 10 towing double jet ski trailer. Hard to keep constiant speed of 75 or 80 due to automatic down shifting out of OD and engine pinging like on bad gas. Dealer worked on 4 times and never really changed anything. Once they said they pulled the heads and cleaned and polished the valves. Big scam, they never touched anything on the motor. They did charge Chrysler with gaskets, coolent, and labor. I mean they didn't take out a single bolt anywhere on the motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup Quad Cab Short Box Sport from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

A steady work horse through and through

Faults:

Lower gas mileage than expected.

O2 sensor is too sensative to elements.

General Comments:

The Dodge Ram is a very powerful work horse.

Off the line with a quick response.

Seats are comfortable, but the back seats are too small for adults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Quad Cab 4x4 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Gutless noise maker that likes gas!!

Faults:

I'll try to keep this short. For starters the gas mileage is terrible (around 9 to 10 MPG). The transmission clinks every time you start up. When locked in four wheel drive it makes an awful whining noise that is not normal. But my number one complaint has to be the engine pings, the constant knocking, and the service engine light that won't go away every time this happens. I took my truck to be serviced and they told me this was a problem with Dodge 318 engines. They could not fix the problem.

General Comments:

I like the way the truck looks, that's why I bought it in the first place. Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

16th Jul 2003, 07:17

7/17/03 - I have a 1998 Dodge Ram SLT Laramie quad cab bought new 12/97. Wonderful truck!! 201,000 all highway miles to date. Only thing replaced on this truck has been tires, shocks and water pump. Oil changes every 6 weeks because that's how long it takes me to put 3,000 miles on it, and all regular maintenance done on time. 10 days ago and approx. 50 miles into a fuel fill-up, engine started the ping sound like when you got a watered-down tank of gas. Got louder as I got home. Check engine light came on and stayed on. Next morning, I took it to local Dodge dealership service because I was afraid to drive the 52 mile trip to work with the light on. Service technician did diagnostics and said something about the #5 cylinder, but could not find anything that needed to be repaired. Said looks like I just got a bad tank of gas. Told me to go to local auto parts and get a bottle of HEET and add to tank and to do so for the next 2 tanks. I did. On third tank, I did not add the HEET. Approx. 60 miles into the new tank of gas, pinging started again. Engine light came on again. Does anybody have any idea what could be wrong. It has to be something other than a bad tank of gas again. This has been such a good truck and I'd like to think it might get another 100,000 miles before it quits for good.

19th Jan 2005, 14:01

1998 Dodge 1500 Quad cab 4X4 pickup started making clicking noise when in 4X4 and wheels turned hard left or right. Shop installed new ball joints and u-joints; no difference, they recommended to use 2X4 when turning sharp. Another shop said the transfer-case chain was stretched and slipping on the sprocket;had transfer-case rebuilt; no difference. Shop techs in my area have never heard of this problem. Can someone help?

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 64 reviews