2004 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2004 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Automatic from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Rear differential 12,000 miles

Steering rack 20 30,000miles

Both ball joints 37,000 miles

Tie rod end 50,000

Front wheel berings replaced 4 times.

Various leaks.

The list goes on and on.

Basicaly virtually every part of vehicle except engine, transmission, front axles and transfer case has been replaced.

General Comments:

The truck has a nice shiny red paint job, otherwise it's a worthless piece of junk with a $500. a month payment and another $500. a month in maintanance costs. My next truck will be a Chevy. I will never buy another Dodge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2008

8th Jan 2008, 21:26

Amen for the Chevy! Chrysler is just a mess in all fields now. They lost mercedes and have never recuperated since.

10th Jan 2008, 18:15

Ya because merecedes sold chrysler what 6 months ago that really made the 2004 dodge ram bad. If they hadn't sold chrysler maybe your truck would have not broken down, according to the last comment. the split off had nothing to do with the truck being junk. Mercedes owned dodge at the time this truck was built. I do agree dodge is junk, but the previous comment is just ignorant.

2004 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT QC 4x4 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Sweeeeet... I'm gonna miss it!

Faults:

Nothing! I drove it for 25k miles and only had to change the oil (Mobil 1), air filter, and replace the original tires.

However, I will say that around 30k miles I got the "Hemi tick". At idle you can hear a faint ticking sound, especially right after it's started. I googled it and apparently it is "normal" for the Hemi and will run on forever with the tick, but don't quote me on that. I never had any engine problems whatsoever. Some of the other folks who had it also used Mobil 1 oil so maybe there could be a connection there.

General Comments:

One of the baddest looking vehicles on the road. It was comfortable to drive with leather/power drivers seat. I added some Nitto Terra Grappler AT tires and then some sound deadening mat under the carpets and in the door frames to even out the extra road noise. Note the larger tires can add some bump steer when on the highway.

Factory Infinity stereo plenty adequate, though it sounds much better with an added sub. The factory speaks don't reproduce bass that well. I added an MP3 adaptor to it that connects to the factory CD-Changer input allowing the use of the steering wheel controls that otherwise might not work well with an after-market stereo.

I towed a 4000lb boat over 800 miles straight and kept up with traffic the whole way.

The ONLY complaint I have about this truck is the fuel economy. Now I never expected much, but as my living situation changed I started driving 3-4x as far to work and back (50+ miles round trip). Only then did the gas start to eat away at the monthly budget... I averaged about 15hwy/13city. I ended up swapping down to a Chevy Colorado with an I5/manual which should get around 23mpg hwy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

2004 Dodge Ram Pickup 3.7 liter V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.7 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Great Work Truck

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful truck. I just had 45 bales of hay in the bed wHich translated to around 2,200 pounds. The truck saGged a little, but the motor had no problem. I an very much impressed with this truck. I get between 16-19 miles per gallon. My truck is a plain Jane standard cab 6ft. bed, and 4X2. I have the 3.7 engine, the engine does a great job. It makes me glad I didn't get a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

14th Oct 2007, 19:56

I put a K&N air intake on this truck gas mileage has gone up 3 mpg. I have more power also. If you have the 3.7 I strongly urge anyone to put a after market air intake on. It will make a huge difference.

22nd Oct 2007, 15:56

41,000 miles truck brakes are shot. Rotors front and back, pads front and back, calipers front and back. in all the bill is over $1,000. I am very upset buy this the rotors should not need replaced already.

9th May 2008, 19:55

43,000 miles power steering pump and cooler went out. Luckily power train warranty covered only cost $100.00. The Truck is a piece of krap.

15th May 2008, 18:59

New problem with my truck. The truck broke down all the sudden; all the power was gone. Looked under the hood and the wire harness going into the computer shorted out and melted. The wires were on my air conditioning hose and melted a hole into that, and now I need to get the air fixed as well. I will inform how much the repairs are.

11th Oct 2009, 11:14

The truck has been running great no new problems. Do wish I would have gotten the V8.

16th Nov 2009, 20:03

57,000 miles, rack n pinion went out. Truck is junk Cost me $1,000 a year in repairs. Wish I'd never bought it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews