1994 Dodge Spirit Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1994 Dodge Spirit 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

This is a great first car

Faults:

I had to replace the Transmisson pan gasket the second day I owned it.

I had a radiator leak I just used "stop "leak" hope it will work.

I have a freon leak.

General Comments:

The car is slow when taking off, but gets going after awhile. It is a great started car I bought I for 700 dollars plus dealers fees so 1000 but I love it I just waxed it and the paint looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2006

1994 Dodge Spirit 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance200211 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

This car is boring

Faults:

Blew the head gasket 130000 kms replaced the head problem is now fixed.

General Comments:

The car is slow as molasses, but the silly thing just will not stop runnining I wish it would die I hate it, but can't get rid of it because it just keeps running I have a new dodge quad cab that sits because this car keeps running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

18th Mar 2006, 15:15

Its not marriage buddy, sell it to some poor unsuspecting...

18th Mar 2006, 17:52

So actually you're saying this is a fabulously dependable car, and you've given it a 10/10 in reliability. Don't be in such a hurry to trash it. Dependable cars aren't as easy to come by as it might seem, and once you get one, you're best off to keep it and appreciate it.

1994 Dodge Spirit V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Very positive

Faults:

AC is leaking a bit, but a top up at the beginning of the summer kept me cool. Fuel economy, well... The V6 is a bit thirsty, but I use it for short distances in daily traffic so that does not help.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a daily work mobile (other car a Town and Country). It accelerates really well for a '94 car. I can keep up with all the traffic, out accelerate them even. Starts directly, no funny engine sounds or anything. Seats are still in very good condition. Amazingly there is hardly any rust on the car (it is a New Brunswick car originally, they do not put salt on the roads I understand).

Bought it for 2000 Canadian and worth every cent. If you are looking for a reliable cheap daily runner, this is the one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2005

18th Jan 2006, 20:27

Actually, I live in New Brunswick, and can attest to the fact that they dump tons of salt on our roads every winter. Surprisingly, most of the Spirits/Acclaims I see on the road have little/no rust at all. Very well built little tanks.

4th Jul 2006, 17:48

I have now sold this car last week after receiving a company car. Still no problems with the car (10.000 K onwards) and the A/C actually cools faster than my new car (Volvo S60). I sold it immediately to a colleague who needed it for the exact same reasons as I needed it: cheap reliable daily runner. I've got a feeling I will be posting more problems with my new car than my trusted dodgy doge...

1994 Dodge Spirit 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres

Summary:

If you're broke and need a good car, this is the one!

Faults:

Starter 150,000Km.

General Comments:

After my divorce was finalized, it was either take the bus for a while or find a cheap car.

I bought this car, which kind of looks like a car not even a grandpa would drive. Even my father jokes around about "the Dodge". This car runs very well and the only problem that's worth mentioning is the transmission sometimes shifts really hard. I've changed the fluid and so far so good.

After driving my friends new car, getting back into the Dodge is like riding a go-cart, but it's reliable, there are no $300-400/mo payments, and it gets me to work, allows me to pick up the kids, and even the A/C still works!

I'd recommend this car if you want something cheap and without the headaches that normally come with an old domestic car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

19th Jul 2005, 23:05

I agree; a 1995 Dodge Spirit just keeps on ticking (then it would be time to change the oil again). It's not the most stylish car on the road, and it didn't come with too many options, but it's very reliable (especially considering our other experiences with newer Dodge Caravans). It's got adequate power, is good on gas, and I've already challenged the wife's 2005 Corolla to a race even though the Spirit is over 10 years old.

The only problem I've had in 10 years and 140,000 kms. is rebuilding the auto transmission once (at 110,000 kms), and the normal brakes, CV boots, and 1 CV joint when I let the boots get too bad one spring. Way to go, Mr. Iococca!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews